Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW Australia

Hidden gem of a hotel

Posted May 6, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The food was amazing, plus the refurbished heritage building with high ceilings and lovely finish all round.
Cons: Nothing - the staff were all great as well.
Location: Close to restaurants, parks and botanical gardens, but in a quiet area with ample parking area for the hotel guests.
This hotel was a real surprise - the rate was excellent for this hotel that was absolutely perfect. We weren't expecting the luxurious quality of the room, the great dining for breakfast and dinner and the quiet location in the university district. We would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by Joyce from perth


Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel in general was very good, the room however was a little lacking. I ran a bath late at night and when I went to get in discovered several hairs and black objects floating in it.I Drained it and I cleaned the bath before re running it. The bed was very lumpy and well used as it made a noise every time you turned over. The bathrooms have glass doors and this was filthy with finger and condensation marks.
1 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler

Definitely not a 4*!!!

Posted Apr 15, 2015 on Hotels
We were attending a family wedding in the area and chose this hotel as it was a 4*, I would rate it more a 2-3*. Reception staff were nice. Restaurant staff were terrible, very unfriendly and not helpful, tables weren't cleaned properly. Room was clean but shabby, bathroom was tiny, two people could not stand in it together. Overall very disappointed. Would not recommend it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Witney

Slow and poisonous!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
The room was too hot. The food was average. The service was unbelievably slow - it took 3 hours to have lunch. When I asked for gluten free food the staff seemed unaware of what I meant. They brought turkey with gravy, stuffing and sausage on it. The people were perfectly nice but just terrible, terrible waiters.
4 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by VAHID from Toronto Canada


Posted Mar 14, 2015 on Hotels
Dusty room Food price ridicules Telephone set from stone ages No safe in the room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

A bit shabby in places!

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Cons: The spa needs updating; it doesn't have the relaxing atmosphere you'd expect.
Booked this hotel having stayed previously as recalled it being close to the airport. This time we used the spa facilities but these were disappointing; outdated and dirty in places I wouldn't recommend coming to this hotel purely for a spa experience. Location isn't great however as restricted to the hotel bar and restaurant unless you want cheap unexciting food at the local chain restaurant across the road... We walked for 20-30 minutes for something better. It is only just over 2 miles to the airport but watch out for black taxi cabs trying to charge a standard rate of £18 to and from the hotel!
3 out of 5
for Couples
by Sintija from Southport


Posted Mar 9, 2015 on Hotels
Was ok. As you walk in there was a smell of urine coming out from the bathroom. Single glazed windows could feel the wind coming through. The view we had was a shed. The rest of the hotel was fine except from the bar staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Far from airport. Subpar food options.

Posted Jan 15, 2015
The room and hotel were very hot. We werent aware it was so far from the airport. We received a great deal, however. Also, the drinks and food selection was quite poor. (No vegan options and vegetarian options were slim) other than that it was okay. Not 4 stars.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by Stephen from Newcastle

Overnight stay

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels
Our second stay at this hotel prior to flying from Manchester the following day. We upgraded to BB&D. The dinner was good value, a 3 course a la carte for £20 per person and the food was good. There is also a good cheap pub over the road.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shabby around the edges.

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Very poor decor, very shabby looking. If it has been recently renovated it has been done to a very poor standard. Spa was also broken the day I chose to stay