Ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location, looks good from the outside

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Nice grounds, good parking area. Reception staff were brilliant and allowed us to check in early. However the rooms were not. It was a hot day anyway and we were on the 4th floor and it was hot and stuffy. There was no air conditioning in the rooms, the curtains were dirty and room looked outdated. We only stayed here because of a wedding but I would not recommend this unless you really have to!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Did not meet expectations

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Gym facilities Restaurant WiFi good Very convenient to Manchester Airport for early morning flight
Expected more from an Executive room and branded chain hotel...but.... Room was not ready No bed set up for 3rd person No pillow cases provided TV remote had no back so batteries fell out (poor maintenance and attention to detail) No aircon/workable fan on a hot night made sleeping uncomfortable Coffee not refilled from previous guest
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

First impression

Posted Jul 16, 2017
When I arrived, there were throngs of people in the entrance and I front loudly drinking and smoking. I thought maybe I was at the wrong place. Apparently, there were functions and it was very smoky. I got in late so I ordered room service which only offered cold sandwiches. A wine and a cold sandwich took well over an hour. Room was also missing the iron and tv remote. The staff was nice but I would not stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

atrocious staff

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Cons: hire new staff and advise customers that the hotel is undergoing renovations and certain amentites are not available.
Checked in with not too much difficulty but no useful info about the hotel and what it had to offer. Room was average but we couldn't figure out the a/c or the t.v. which was stuck in some programming mode. Decided to instead go to the spa and swim or have a sauna or hottub. Nothing working. A member of the staff said he was surprised that noone had told us...yeh right. So back to the room to have a shower....no shower curtain.We cleaned up the floor after the shower and went to the restaurant for our7p.m. reservation.Rude waitress told us we would have to wait even though the restaurant was a quarter full at most. We were given a table at an undesirable spot in the middle of a hallway; we asked for a quiet corner. This perturbed the waitress who said that the table we wanted needed to be wiped and we had to wait. We ordered drinks... two gin/tonics that were served to us in water glasses. We asked for lime wedges....how dare us? After half an hour we moved to the quiet table and the waitress chastised us because she hadn't cleaned the table yet.She left and we stared at the menus for about 25 minutes. We asked for water in our water glasses and ordered the first of the three course $40 upgraded dinner package. Appetizer was 45 minutes arriving and was pathetic.Waited 35 minutes before ordering main course. Ribs were all fat, chicken undercooked. Dessert? Asked for a menu, which came after 30 minutes, and then we waited 25 minutes for dessert. at 9:45 we took it to our room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

time for refurbishment

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Convenient for the airport but if not travelling you will be disturbed by the sound all night of people slamming their doors in their excitement to jump in a taxi to catch flights. If you are unlucky enough to stay at the front on a muggy night - with window open - you will also hear all the taxis arriving, doors banging closed and engines revving. I have stayed twice but never again. Fixtures and fittings are falling apart. Bed covers stained, carpets stained and hairdryer burnt out when being used. Food average and staff very friendly but you will be approached by all of them in turn urging you to buy more. The pool is out of action and as you leave you may be surprised to find out you need to pay for parking. Yes. If you spend money as a guest you will have to pay for parking too. I found Expedia to offer the best deal for this so called 4 star hotel - in some companies you might pay twice the amount which to be quite honest would be scandalous for the quality of the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Average hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2017
I do a fair amount of travelling and stay in hotels,Check-in was simple,I was on the 2nd floor as I walked through the corridor double doors,my room was the first in the corridor but I had to get past a room service tray full of dishes and glasses right outside my door, room was much smaller then I expected especially the bathroom which I couldn't move around in without hitting something,bathroom cleanliness wasn't great, as for the room there was loads of dust on the lesser used surfaces and chairs stained, bed was comfy though, best thing about hotel was the staff I came across.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Excellent staff but Needs refreshing

Posted May 31, 2017
Expected more from a four star hotel. Staff excellent but furnishings need refreshing. Bed comfortably but room very hot and bathroom uncomfortably small
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from traveller via Manchester airport

tired hotel -

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: breakfast
Cons: lift and access to rooms - and a porter to carry bags.
Access to rooms archaeic. Staff nice. Breakfast and restaurant service excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

A nice stay for the price

Posted May 9, 2017
The room was nice without being spectacular. The bar food was lovely. There were 3 excellent members of staff we encounterrd: Luke in leisure, Katie on reception and the barman. The bistro are was nice, the food was goid quality and the outside of the hotel was nice. The spa is tired and needs lots of work and investment but the staff in there are a real asset, particularly uke who was really friendly and helpful, interacted with my son really well and we watched Luke deal with an emergency first aid situation excellently.
4 out of 5
by Scott

Nice enough

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
Was nice enough and gym/pool was good but the place needs a refurb or few more finishing touches. Room was looking tired and not very clean (mostly due to ground in stains from age/wear) and there was an inch of dust under the bed when I moved it.