Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Manchester mansion

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Pros: Good food
Cons: Tell guests about down pillows...allergies
Location: Equinox skyline drive closed for winter..Hildene overpriced...outlets in Manchester village
Spa not connected to hotel..inconvenient to go to indoor pool and cold after massage to go outside
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from niagara falls ontario

Dirty and run down

Posted Nov 16, 2017
This hotel is in very bad shape.Our room had blood on carpet and shower curtain the vents were full of dirt and mold.This hotel needs a good gm to fix these problems front desk excuse was that it's 200 year old building that is not a good reason for your property to look that run down a little paint and good maintance eould solve a lot of issues.Property is also very dark outside a lot of lights missing and very scary at night and pictures of rooms are not accurate .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Framingham, MA

Beautiful Views

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: The people who work there. Lovely pool, exercise room and massage rooms.
Cons: The stand-alone building behind the main Inn which has about 15 or 20 rooms. In-room coffee.
Location: Shopping nearby, museums, hiking, golf, fishing, skiing.
We were really disappointed in our room. It was not in the main Inn and looked NOTHING like those on their website. I really should have requested a new room in the main building but we were just too tired because we got there late. Upon checking out I mentioned that we were very disappointed in the room - it certainly was NOT up to the caliber of what we expected. The woman was apologetic and asked if we requested a new room. Our fault that we didn't . Anyway she was so nice and she removed the $30 per night extra charges (even though I didn't request it). She did say that they were going to start upgrading the rooms in that building in a few weeks (goes to show you they were not in the best condition). So I asked her why book people in that stand-alone building if there is room in the main Inn. Other than that - everyone there was very nice and I would recommend it - Just don't stay in the off-site building. They have nice restaurants, bar. It could be very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

great pool.

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: pool, wonderful friendly staff.
Cons: Overall room was clean, but it could use a little more in corners, woodwork, etc. Needs some art on the walls.
Location: Centrally located in upscale town with lots of shopping, restaurants, golf.
The pool was great. Dirt in corners of Bathroom of room. Toilet paper roll was only a spring. Bed comfortable. room needed a desk area for laptop. Town has lots of shopping, golf, restaurants, etc. Booked for the pool and wasn't disappointed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hingham, Ma

Never stayed checked out with four other guests.

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Complete remodel of the Town House building, or close it all together to guests.
Location: Lovely village setting, a variety of shops, many outlet stores. Beautiful and quaint bookstore. Good restaurants. Friendly merchants, rude VT drivers.
Entry hall was cluttered with dirty laundry. Closet floor was ripped linoleum and dirty. Furniture in room was torn and dirty. I checked out same night with four other very unhappy guests and went to the Marriott Hotel down the road. Staff was apologetic but no other room available.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from madison ct

Conference weekend

Posted Oct 23, 2017
We stayed in the townhouses behind the main hotel. It was nice to have the extra rooms, like the kitchen and living room areas. But the unit is in serious need of updating. The kitchen cabinets are straight out of the 80’s ( I had the same ones in my house in the 80’s!). In need of new couch, new carpeting. Bed was comfortable but I asked for a foam pillow and never received it. Finally called at 10pm and at 1030 they brought me a small, square feather pillow . I gave up! The bathroom had a tiny one sink vanity and the Formica was peeling off the side. The shower was so small you could barely turn around, and it was difficult to not flood the floor. The water went everywhere. A hole was sloppily patched with a big glob of something. The main Inn is beautiful but it is definitely the outdoor setting that makes this enjoyable. The hiking right on the property is awesome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Not happy with the room at all Needed repair right away with sink and not connected to main hotel. It was disappointing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Rochelle NY

Disappointing

Posted Oct 17, 2017
We booked a townhouse room paying over $500 per night. While quite spacious it was in DESPERATE need of a makeover. The bathroom, kitchen, furniture were all original, probably at least 20 years old. The only thing new was a horrendously ugly brown carpeting. The light bulbs had all been replaced with fluorescent or LED bulbs that gave off terrible light. The common hallway was full of leaves and cobwebs and were not vacuumed once during our 3 night stay. The door person at the main entrance did not look up from his cell phone while my when dropping off my wife in pouring rain to inquire why our key cards had stopped working. We will not stay here again unless things turn around.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Shabby hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Nothing about the accommodations.
Cons: Remodel and redecorate.
Location: Location was great. Good for walking to the village.
We booked this hotel 5 months prior so expected decent accommodations. The room or cottage wasn't ready but door open. We peeked in and amazing how old, shabby the room was. It was across from main hotel but looked like it belonged in a pioneer movie. Fortunately, we were able to back out of our reservations. The price was too much to pay for shabby. It was dark and smelled of wood smoke . I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. The internet picture VERY misleading.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rarely Complaining

Smelly room with arrigant service

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Room was shabby, dirty and not stocked with cups, soaps, or other amminities like coffee or ice and furnished from a garage sale. Outdoor porch was filthy with cobwebs, mold and pine straw. Office staff was arrogant, failed to make wake up call and told visitor that we were not registered on the second day of our stay. Food poisoning at dinner - crab cakes. Will never return or recommend.