Ratings based on 1,085 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naf

The worse hotel,bad cleaning, comfort and services

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Bad hotel facilities air conditioning not working and it took them 4 days to change the room for me to another not working AC room The cleaning staff so bad, was terrible experince
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

A nice hotel at reasonable price

Posted Aug 8, 2016
This is my 2nd stay at the hotel. The hotel is close to the train station. The room is spacious and the view from room is great. Room condition and cleanliness are great too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Total ruhig. Die Möglichkeit im Zimmer Kaffee oder Tee zuzubereiten + die Kekse. Große Zimmer.
Location: Zentrale Lage am Piccadilly Station.
Man kann sehr viele interessante Sachen zu Fuß erreichen, sollte sich aber auf englisches Wetter einstellen. Häufig leichter Nieselregen. Die Pubs sollte man am Wochenende frühzeitig aufsuchen um noch einen Platz zu bekommen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Disappointing staff service and room allocation.

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: spacious room
Cons: staff, concierge knowledge. reception staff courtesy and professionalism.
I was for some reason, without any acknowledgement, given what must have been a disabled room. It was very spacious, which was nice, but the sink in the bathroom was tiny and so low down it was really uncomfortable trying to brush teeth. The bathroom mirror was also so low it ended at my neck. This wasn't mentioned to me at check-in and I just guessed it was a disabled room from the odd facilities. This seemed to me very poor indeed. The tram service in central Manchester was messed up for works and the concierge gave me directions to go to Altrincham. She gave me completely the wrong information and sent me off on a wild goose chase through the city centre before I was directed back to a bus replacement 2 minutes around the corner from the hotel. This wasted 50 minutes of my time and I missed meeting an old friend I rarely see as a consequence. Shouldn't a concierge know what she is talking about?? Overall the staff performance seemed very provincial and amateur compared to London standards. I would choose another hotel next time to find something better value for the money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, perfect location, nice big windows

Posted Aug 4, 2016
You need to call them before your trip to make sure they did not give the room to somebody else since they overbook. They have Reservation problems. Otherwise the room is very big, clean, bathroom is big and clean. The window is so wide makes you see a big area of the city and the sky. The staff are helpful and friendly. The moment you enter The lobby it gives you a bad impression that the room might be below average but ignore that, I recommend the room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central hotel close to Piccadilly station

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Amazing rooms - I had the king size classic. Very big. Bath and separate shower . £5 for a pint - we didnt eat there . Staff friendly - we checked in at 1:30 pm
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Soviet Style Hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: What did I like best? Leaving - which I did after four nights. Never have I been so disappointed with a business hotel - and I can put up with lot.
Cons: Seriously, better staff training, better quality control on food.
Location: Location could not be improved upon.
Pre-paid for hotel from well known web site, but when leaving card for 'extras' was not allowed to use DEBIT (unlike every other business hotel on the planet). Then either had to pay cash or give a ccard to front desk (which is what I eventually did). Minibar unusable and openable because I 'did not pay for an upgraded room - was not told in advance'. I wanted to use the fridge to store some medicine as well as purchases. Room Service - Chicken in Caesar Salad patently inedible - chicken was chewy and at leat two days old. Steak during dinner, their forte, was rubbery. Dining service in bar (with 3 diners and 4 patrons drinking) was abysmal. It took 55 minutes for steak and drink, and by way of apology they gave me 20% discount, which benefits my employer who was paying, but not me for my personal time. As for burgers 'only available well done' - 'Mad Cow' ended years ago - either cooks are lazy or they have not gotten the word. Pricing for the room was all over the map and varied as much as 20% for different days, for the same awful experience. The whole experience was reminiscent of Soviet hotels in the early 90's - I shall not be returning unless all the 'Inns" in Manchester are full!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient.

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Next door to Picadilly Station-convenient. We were pleasantly surprised that we had been upgraded to suite on top floor. Beautiful room! Well, appointed. Surprisingly, some cabinetry was in need of maintenance (hinges/closing issue). Spacious bath and bedroom area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Easy walk to many restaurants and shopping area just down the street. While our view was over a very busy highway system, surprisingly, it was not noisy as I anticipated. I was hesitant when I learned of the tent city for homeless across the street mentioned by others on this site but truly it was a non-issue, though, yes, unattractive. It's a small tent city (7-8?). What little I noticed of it, seems to be friendly enough that it appears to be visited by some locals stopping by to chat on occasion.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down area

Posted Jun 30, 2016
People camping on public grass area across the street and the extra charge for using the facilities was a rip off
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Great hotel close to Manchester Picadilly and city

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: Friendly, caring staff who are excellent - from Reception, housekeeping, bar and restaurant.
Cons: The lifts were rather old and broke down a few times.
Location: Within 5 minutes of Picadilly station but easy to walk across town. We walked to Museum of Science and Industry, China Town, Castlefield and shops.
Very comfortable rooms and staff who gave excellent customer service. A nice big room with all the facilities and spacious en-suite. Breakfast was very good and evening meal was delicious. All staff were very pleasant and helpful - even bought a box of my speciality tea. Near the city so easy to walk to the shops and museums or jump on a tram to Salford. All bedrooms and public areas were spotlessly clean and classic decoration - loved the hide chair covers,cushions and wall paper in the steakhouse. Hotel was busy but not packed out with hordes of non residents so better atmosphere.