Ratings based on 1,159 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kidsgrove

Great stay

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Location good for the O2 Apollo and the train station. standards are excellent. great bar and vibe.
Cons: breakfast inclusive rates seem to be few and far between.. we only had room only this time but we love the breakfast but at £19 per person we declined
Location: 5-10 minutes walk to the shopping centre. £3 taxi ride to the O2 Apollo although we walked back and it only took just under 10 minutes.
we booked an overnight stay as we were visiting the O2 Apollo for a gig and it was very conveniently located. Room was excellent. Spotlessly clean. Room was a good size (Deluxe King) and the price we paid was very good but we did book it a long time ago as we had the gig tickets. Perfect spot for Piccadilly train station. Have stayed here a few times before so was fairly confident we'd enjoy it and we did.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and hope that you will be encouraged to return to us when you are next in Manchester. Kind Regards James Turner Operations Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel close to station and city centre

Posted Dec 5, 2016
On arrival we were greeted by very friendly and polite staff! Room was a great size with a lovely bathroom - perfect for a touch of luxury for an overnight stay! Had a full English breakfast which was yummy but no sausages left..no worries though as we made up for it with extras hash browns haha! Perfect location for Manchester Piccadilly and Manchester Arena and was only a 10-15 minute in to the city centre! I would definitely stay again!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Char Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and are considering a return visit when you are next in Manchester. Please accept my apologies that we experienced a shortage of sausages at Breakfast, although I am glad that this did not detract from the overall enjoyment of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return. Kind Regards James Turner Operations Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Blitzurlaub in Man

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Schnell mal auf ein Konzert oder Weihnachtsmarkt in England? Das Hotel liegt ideal am rückwärtigen Taxi/Ausgang von Picadily Bahnhof. 20min Zugfahrt von Flughafen
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and hope that you will consider returning to us again when you are next in Manchester. Kind Regards James Turner Operations Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Cons: Bar food service was not good. We received the wrong food and were charged for things we didn't have
Nice, large room. Very quiet. Big bathroom. Quick check in and out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2016 by Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that your room and the speed of service from our Reception team met your expectations and I will share you comments with the relevant team members. Please accept my apologies for the problems you encountered in our bar area. I have informed my Food and Beverage Manager of your concerns so that he can address the problems you encountered with his team and make the necessary adjustments to improve our service offering. I hope that despite the problems you encountered, you will not be deterred from returning to us again in the future. Kind Regards James Turner Operations Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

nice hotel for a decent price

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: gay area is soo close, everything is close. metro and train station.
was in the city for a soccer game. hotel was right next to the train station. very clean and staff very helpful. had a great time staying here, walkjng distance to the gay area :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2016 by Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Noe Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back when you are next in Manchester. Kind Regards James Turner Operations Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Location: Convenient for shopping in Manchester.
Not the restaurant service I expect from this grade hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2016 by Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Andrea Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that the service in our restaurant did not meet with your approval. I have shared you comments with my Restaurant Manager so that he may make the necessary adjustments to further improve our service offering. I hope that despite the problem you encountered, you will not be deterred from returning to us again in the future. Kind Regards James Turner Operations Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lüchow

Ruhig und hervorragende Lage

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: - super Lage zum Bahnhof......ca. 5 Minuten und von dort fährt auch die Straßenbahn in alle Richtungen. - etwa 15 Minuten Fußweg ins Centrum.
- hätte mir vom Empfang nach den guten Bewertungen mehr Freundlichkeit erwartet. - wir waren schon um 8.00 Uhr angereist, bekamen aber wirklich vor 15.00 Uhr kein Zimmer. - Zimmer sind leise. - Größe der Zimmer und Bad sind top........leider war der Teppich schmuddelich. - Zimmerverlängerung pro Stunde 20,- Pfund. - bitte kein Frühstück für 20,- Pfund buchen....gute Kaffees sind in der Nähe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Olaf Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you experienced some issues during your stay and hope that these problems did not detract too much from the enjoyment of your overall stay. Your feedback is invaluable to us as it is only through the comments and observations of our guests that we are able to continually monitor and maintain our levels of guest care. I have shared your comments with my Reception Manager and Executive Head Housekeepeer so that they may investigate your concerns in further detail. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back should you visit Manchester in the future. Kind Regards James Turner Operations Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: friendly and helpful staff, clean spacious room
fantastic hotel, great room with an excellent view
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Burgois Thank you for taking the time to write a review fo your stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had such a great stay and that the service you received from the team at the hotel helped to make you stay that little bit more enjoyable. Please do come and visit us again soon, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Kind Regards James Turner Operations Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essen

Modernes Hotel, recht zentral gelegen

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Zimmer mit tollter Aussicht
Cons: Toilettenbürste wäre angebracht.
Location: Nähe zu Piccadilly Station, Oxford Road, Northern Quarter
Schönes Zimmer mit toller Aussicht, gutes Frühstücksbuffet, nettes Personal. 5 Gehminuten zur Piccadilly Station.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

很好,超值

Posted Sep 29, 2016
優點 : 鄰近火車站,交通方便! 鄰近旅遊點,逛街方便! 房間四正,有空間空間! 包含早餐,食物多元化! 缺點 : 略嫌較舊!