Ratings based on 574 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tamworth

Good location

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Good breakfast, Good location
Cons: Maybe throw away linens that have holes or unmovable marks on them
Location: Very good for Theatre land and the Albert Hall.
Stayed here on a Saturday evening as we were visiting Manchester for a music concert. Hotel was very well located just 5 or 6 mins walk to some very nice bars and restaurants. Hotel itself was very nice, and so too was the breakfast. Our room was comfortable and clean although there was an empty wine bottle outside our front door as we arrived and it was still there 2 or 3 hours later, my only criticism of the room was the bed linens, the first pillow we picked up had a few holes in the white linen, and a brown stain that initially looked like something quite nasty, but on closer inspection it looked maybe like somebody's nail varnish which had dried on but the linen itself was definitely very clean. Value for money (when compared to other hotels) I think it was very good and we'd stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Great location

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: The character of the hotel is great. Original posts and brickwork add to the ambience of the hotel.
Cons: The bathroom was the only room I felt was dated. Because of the low ceiling, the shower was very low. Would be better without the bath.
Location: Just off Spinningfields, the location is fantastic for dining and high end shops. Not too far to walk to the main shopping areas and attractions.
Was able to check in when we arrived early. Fabulous staff on reception were very welcoming and friendly. We used valet parking which is very convenient and reasonably priced. The decor of reception and throughout the hotel is lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kendal cumbria

Excellent hotel

Posted May 2, 2017
We stayed here for 2nights for my partners birthday & we enjoyed every minute, room spotless, spacious, stylish & one of the comfy beds ive slept in..fantastic location for spinningfields & science & industry museum, staff very friendly, would defo go back..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay

Posted Apr 27, 2017
We stayed at the V&A, the hotel is clean, well kept and comfortable. It could really do with a pool, as it would improve the facilities dramatically. Also the extras such as parking and breakfast are extremely expensive. £17 for parking over night and £17 each for breakfast is rediculous for a hotel without gym or swimming facilities. Overall, a very nice hotel but expensive on the extras.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2017 by Matthew Porter, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Manchester Victoria and Albert Marriott. For any furture stays, all of our guests to have access to Bannatynes Spa which has a pool. Also we do offer during check ina discounts breakfast at £10 per person but it is non refundable. I hope this helps with any future stays with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Lovely one night stay

Posted Apr 13, 2017
The hotel is in a quiet location close to shops and restaurants. Rooms are pretty spacious and clean but could do with a modern update (e.g. TV was quite slow and although you can insert a USB, you can't watch anything on it!) Staff are welcoming, knowledgable and will go out of their way to please/accommodate. The bed was particularly comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was nice in the morning but would have liked some of the other options available on the menu. Unfortunately there wasn't a menu on our table and we didn't realise there was one until after we'd eaten. Our stay included breakfast - not sure if the other breakfast items would have been an extra charge but the buffet stuff was included. Overall, a good stay and I would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Tom Ellenor Marriott V&A, Hotel Management
Dear Reviewer, We are pleased see that you enjoyed staying with us and do thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay. Our passion is providing world class hospitality; it was great to be able to provide you with a fantastic experience. I will be certain to pass on your breakfast compliments to our team. We have some exciting investments upcoming this year at the property and look forward to sharing them with our guests. I do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. Kindest Regards, Tom Ellenor Front Office Supervisor - Guest Servives Marriott Victoria and Albert Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in Manchester, with car parking.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Great location for the Manchester city centre.
Location: Deansgate location close to city centre.
Staff conducted themselves in a confident and professional manner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short stay

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Comfortable stay . Nice breakfast, good service. What's not to like
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wexford Ireland.

Really lovely hotel, will definitely be back

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: The decor, the location and the staff. The building is really full of character and the staff were all excellent.
Cons: The mattress was the only thing that let the stay down. The mattress was way too soft & felt unstable so we didn't have the best nights sleep.
Location: The location is quite central with the Science museum and the Opera house only a short stroll away.
The hotel is full of character, beautiful old beams and brick walls. The staff were fantastic, so friendly, efficient and helpful. The food was really nice. We only had breakfast but there was a big choice and everything was cooked and presented really well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Front Office Manager - Marriot V&A, Hotel Management
Dear Donna, Thank you for taking time to provide us your feedback. Here at the hotel we pride ourselves on delivering a fantastic guest experience and it’s great to hear you had a great experience. I am sorry to hear that the beds didn’t meet expectations. We are glad to see that we are a well suited location and that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast offering. I will share your kind words with the team here at the hotel. We always want to provide a fantastic experience, please be rest assured I have passed on your comments to the housekeeping team for further investigation. When you’re back in Manchester, please feel free to contact me to organise your future stay Kindest Regards, Andrew Hindman, Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Nice hotel, view could be tidied up nicer canal

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Hotel was suitable for what we booked for- to see a show at MEN, very close to everything. Parking charge was not mentioned on booking and heating system was not very hot. Room was spotless and very comfortable, staff were lovely and welcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Lovely hotel - Bit noisy!

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Beautiful hotel, loved the building and the character features that have been preserved from the original building. The staff were very accommodating.
Cons: The bed situation as previously mentioned, two beds pushed together do not constitute a king sized bed, it just makes for uncomfortable sleeping.
Location: Good location, short walk into Deansgate and the City Centre and a short taxi ride from the train station.
Lovely hotel overall with beautiful features. The room was very spacious and all needs were catered to. I requested this room specifically because it specified a king sized bed and was very disappointed upon arrival to see that this was in fact unfortunately two beds pushed together, never a good situation to be in. Somebody always ends up sleeping in the crease down the middle! The room also had an adjoining door to the room next to it which appeared to be occupied by a family, I am pretty sure this was the case as on Saturday morning when they got up I was able to hear a bit too much of their activity, needless to say they were very loud and the noise made it difficult to enjoy the luxurious lie in that I had been looking forward to all week!