Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from UK

One night in Wigan

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Staff were great
Cons: Needs a bit of decorating, it looks like the place hasn't been decorated for the last 30 years?
Good value, large rooms, clean and tidy, just a bit dated....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wirral

Good central location

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Location: Nearby shops pubs bingo canal Wigan pier
Good clean hotel staff pleasant room spotless but lights in room 103 very very dim no good for trying to apply makeup or styling hair
2 out of 5
by Tim1

Damp

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Ebookers
My room was on the 4th floor. All I could smell on the floor was damp, the room was a little better but not much. Good job I was only staying one night and on my own otherwise I would have rejected the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gez from Cambridgshire

£10.00 yes £13.95 no.

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
I liked the hotel and the service was very good, but once I checked in and found that my breakfast was not included and a additional £13.95 for it, that was far to much £10.00 yes £13.95 no.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by steven from Southport

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
First impressions on entering the hotel was the dated décor. The lounge area and bar were poor and not comfortable to sit in for any length of time. No television here either, so I presume guests are supposed to stay in their rooms. Although we didn't eat in the hotel the restaurant didn't entice you in, very basic. Lights in the corridor were switched off or broken? Conservatory was empty. The colour scheme throughout was dull. Room was very clean and facilities fine, en suite ok. Fairly comfortable overall. Value for money was average to poor. There are other hotels nearby more competitive and of higher standard for similar cost. We would stay again but only if other hotels in the area were full.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by tomas from Mullingar

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel close to the town centre. Friendly staff. The hotel itself is a tiny bit dated but it offers exceptional value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Keith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Keith

Easy way to train station

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly and helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gareth from Weston super mare

Very good experience

Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Hotels
One night stop over on business . Very good hotel . Plenty of parking , great wifi and fantastic service
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Missed the mark

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Pros: The rooms were clean
Cons: Staff training. Food.
Booked two rooms for one night in the hotel and I am so glad I wasn't there for longer. The rooms themselves were adequate apart from the two frayed cushions on the bed and the large spider lurking in the bathroom. What was extremely disappointing was the service from the staff and the quality of the food. The drinks order was completely wrong, the food consisted of mushy rice, over microwaved naan bread, an over microwaved brownie etc etc. There is obviously a need for training the staff as service was disjointed and we felt extremely awkward. At breakfast, in a nearly deserted restaurant we were told to sit at a table and when we went to look at the buffet we were told to sit down until our details were taken. We went back to our table and the details were our room numbers!! The member of reception staff who checked us in was friendly however at checkout the member of staff could have been friendlier. The hotel itself is very dated and definitely needs upgrading as it was a throwback to the 70s and 80s however if the service was better that wouldn't have mattered. Not an experience I would like to repeat.