Ratings based on 719 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA.

central but quiet

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: Clean, safe and affordable.
Cons: Add air conditioning... a fan is not A/C...but ok
Small room but clean and pleasant. Close to station (easy also for airport trains). Close to plenty of eating locations. Definitely recommend staying here, but don't expect a big room, once we got our two bags in it was tough to even close the door. Nice staff. Good Price
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Basic hotel, noisy, expensive, very small rooms

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Give the price I paid to stay here I was surprised and disappointed at the following - how small the room was - wifi signal is weak - no car park and check in guy was not sure of parking options nearby - noisy - particularly in the morning when the cleaners are banging doors, not what you need when you're trying to enjoy a lie in - rooms need to be insulated and sound proofed - early check out of 11 and you have to pay to extend this whereas most other hotels offer late checkout without charge as a rule - again given the price you pay to stay here you'd expect some flexibility or atleast 12 checkout - breakfast ticked the boxes to a degree but was just really basic in a room that lacks any character and just feels cold and stark. It reminded me of a basic work canteen.
5 out of 5
by Katherine from Bath

24hrs in Manchester

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
This was a quick trip last minute trip to Manchester, the hotel was easy to find and a public car park across the road made it easy for parking while there. The centre with a great choice of shops, restaurants, pubs museums and art galleries were all within walking distance, great public transport including trams to other areas.
5 out of 5
by Lucy from Thirsk

great night away

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was great value for money. The room was huge and tea/coffee making facilities generous. The hotel provided a wide range of food items and the staff all seemed pleasant. When we arrived we received a very warm welcome from the reception staff and I felt immediately that my custom was apprectiated. The hotel was in a close proximity to Manchester academy (about a 15 minute walk) which was my purpose for visiting Manchester, whilst being just a 5 minute walk from the train station.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
This was my second stay, the only issue is the quality of the TV channel availability. The rooms are great and the service in all areas is fantastic and very friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A room with a view.

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: N/A
Cons: There's only a 150 characters! No chance of answering that question.
Firstly the room was dark and the illumination was poor. The bathroom wasn't exactly the cleanest at any stage in my visit. I had issues with the heating. However, I believe the whole stay can be summed up with this experience in the bar. I had finished work for the day and went to the bar. I waited the normal ten minutes before anyone appeared. On this occasion a waiter appeared and took my order; two bottles of Stella Artois. He placed the bottles in front of me and took my ten pound note and promptly gave me the change. Then he walked away? I had to stop him before he disappeared and I asked him to remove the caps from the bottles. He apologized and then proceeded to peel the white paper wrapping of the bottles that cover the cap. This is not only quite difficult to do because the papers glued on but totally unnecessary when all you want to do is remove the cap. I stopped him and asked him what he was doing? A blank look was my response. I then explained the process that was required to be effective in removing a bottle top. This instruction had to be repeated because his knowledge of a bottle opener seemed to be limited but finally the tops where off and I could have my refreshment. Though his final words were ringing in my ears for the rest of the evening. 'I'm sorry but it's my first day'. I wasn't sure if he meant his first day on this planet or the first day he had encountered a bottle top? That sums up my experience of obviously a poor hotel with low standards.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Short walk from the trains and the university

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: I like the bathroom, pillows, breakfast, desk lamp, location. Also the pendulum and the information about it - I like that there's a unique feature.
Cons: Mattress toppers on the beds? I'm sensitive to being able to feel mattress springs through the sheet. I ended up sleeping well anyway though.
Location: I was in Manchester to take exams at the university (not a recommended activity!); Pendulum is convenient for walking from Piccadilly and to the uni.
I chose this hotel because of the location, and because I knew there would be a desk lamp. The staff were friendly and courteous at check-in and check-out. Breakfast was plentiful with a good choice. The room was cosy - I have previously stayed in another identical room on the same floor with a single bed rather than a double, so it was a bit tight! The built-in bedside shelf was designed for a single bed against the wall rather than a double in the middle of the room, so it wasn't quite as convenient but it was fine. That's the only thing I can nit-pick! I slept well, despite being able to hear noise from other guests in the corridor and being able to feel mattress springs in the bed when I first got in. The pillows were very comfortable and the room was warm enough. The bathroom was lovely, well designed and clean with a powerful shower (height-adjustable).The hotel restaurant/bar is reasonably priced for food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blackburn

Great hotel close to Canal Street

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: Rooms, staff, location, price.
Cons: Air conditioning in the rooms: in summer they get quite hot.
Location: Canal Street (a three minute walk), main shopping area (a ten minute walk).
While this hotel is in a building previously owned by the University of Manchester - and therefore the rooms are small, converted student rooms - it is usually (price depending) my hotel of choice. The rooms are nicely decorated and fitted out (including an iron and ironing board along with the usual coffee/tea making facilities) and the hotel itself is very close to both Piccadilly Train Station and Canal Street.
4 out of 5
by Karen

Great hotel for a short stay

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
Have stayed at this hotel twice for business and I'd be happy to stay again! It's certainly not luxury but it's clean, functional, less than 5 minute walk to Piccadilly and the staff are so nice, friendly and helpful. The rooms are tired and could do with a revamp but the main thing is they feel clean and looked-after. Great cheap and cheerful hotel.