Ratings based on 1,312 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall a very nice hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Quality of building & rooms, location, helpful staff, a very good spa, a decent gym, etc.
Cons: Ensure steak is cooked appropriately. I think it is difficult to extend the swimming pool but maybe have an agreement with a private pool of 20m+
Location: Very good. Next to plenty of good restaurants (ate in Pasha for example). Near the Art Gallery. 5 mins walk to main shopping area.
There are a lot of positives about this hotel: Quality of building & rooms, location, helpful staff, a very good spa, a decent gym, etc. I only have a some very small qualifications to add - the swimming pool is small (about 12m) so not really suitable to swimming lengths. Unfortunately I also had a poor experience in the restaurant - Steak & Lobster. On a previous visit I had eaten the Lobster which was excellent and this time I wanted to try the Steak. Note that the restaurant only serves two main dishes so the marketing is along the lines of 'the choice is limited but we will excel in these two dishes'. I ordered the steak 'medium-rare' which is always my choice. The steak came back very, very rare or what the French call 'Bleu' (they call 'rare' saignant). Having just googled some images of steak cooked 'bleu' I would even say the steak I had was rarer. When it came back the second time part of the steak was still 'bleu'. It was a real shame. I don't understand how the chef can get it so wrong.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Super location but a little disappointing.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Communication and security.
Good location, clean and has friendly staff. Security at night was not as good as expected from this type of hotel. In the early hours we had a very drunk man lying on the floor outside our door. Called security who did eventually remove him, but they did not check back with us to reassure us all was now well. This was disappointing. On checking in we were advised to make a reservation for breakfast. When we arrived at the correct time we were told to wait as no tables were available and the reservation system was not being used as they were so busy. I have stayed in many Radisson Blu hotels before and enjoyed them. Manchester needs to pay more attention to detail and ensure all guests are safe.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Filthy room, but well redeemed

Posted Jul 5, 2016
For whatever reason, the room we stayed in hadn't been properly cleaned for months. The build up of filth was shocking, given that this is a 5 star hotel. This filth included items left behind by previous guests, including fingernails and earbuds. The problem was, they were so covered in dust, that they'd been there for months. How this happened is beyond me. I'm still very confused as to the state of the room. However, when we did report this to staff, we had fantastic service and the duty manager did all she could to ensure our stay would be better. I can't fault the people, they were wonderful. Unfortunately, they have been let down by some cleaning staff that got away with cutting corners for too long. I would recommend this hotel, it's central to everything, and it is comfortable. But our stay unfortunately was marred by this experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from spain

Great hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2016
I had a couple of days at the hotel with family, the staff are excellent very chatty very courteous, my only reservation is the rooms are not a high standard,but that said they were clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2016
We especially enjoyed our afternoon tea, spa treatment and the views across Manchester from our suite. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, as well as having noted from our booking that it was a special occasion. Although we liked the look and feel of the main restaurant, we didn't think the food matched the standard of everything else about our stay due to a slight lack of flavour for our tastes but everything else was great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from holmfirth

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: Lovely room
Cons: Poor blinds in room, no curtains so light shines into room very early as the blind does not shut light out
Location: Plenty of things close by
Nice hotel, pleasant staff, a little noises late on
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Great hotel, pity about the parking

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Lovely hotel right in the centre of things - easy walking to all the major attractions. Our only complaint was the claim on the hotel website that the Great Northern parking lot is "behind the hotel" - when in fact it's a 3-400 yard hike up and down steps to get to the hotel, which is a pain in the neck when carting luggage along. We discovered (after the fact) that you can stop at the east entrance to the hotel and unload your bags before parking. The staff seemed to think this was so obvious it didn't need to be on the website - well, it does. Not everyone is a local.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel - Manchester central conference centre

Posted Jun 8, 2016
High standard hotel 50 meters from the conference centre. Very efficient. Good staff. Will return!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Teesside

Under staffed and room ready 4-5 hours late

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Turned up on a bank holiday sunday around 5.45pm to check in and was told the room was unavailable still (check in is 3pm) we had to push dinner reservations back as we couldnt unpack and get ready, finally got shown to our room about 7pm after a complementary first round of drinks, unpacked our luggage to find a cleaner had removed clothing from the wardrobe and threw away the original hanger, when the clothing was returned it was on a much larger hanger that was very awkward to remove. After our time out in manchester we return to the hotel to not be able to sleep due to street and traffic noise of airhorns and modified cars revving and racing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff, warm welcome and great location.

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Room maintenance
Awesome location Room a little grubby and in need of general maintenance, sink plugged, dirty bed cover, sheets clean though. A/C not very efficient, room warm., no ice bucket, called room service who told us one was on its way and they would fill it with ice, it never showed up. We should have complained about the above but was too tired from long trip. I am sure it would have been rectified as staff appeared very helpfull. Other than that good hotel.