Ratings based on 422 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Pleasant and Comfortable

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Proximity to everything I needed and wanted and the comfort.
Cons: A little more attention to customer service would be nice.
Location: Stores of all kinds and types, restaurants galore, a craft venue a couple of blocks away, historic buildings(awesome), short walk to the bus terminal.
This hotel was only a short cab ride from the train station. The staff was very nice, although they offered no information that I didn't ask for specifically. I was upgraded from a studio to a one bedroom, which was a very nice surprise! The room was clean and bright, the furniture was very comfortable and the toiletries were of excellent quality. There were TV's in the living room and bedroom with an excellent selection of choices. The Awesome Thing about this hotel is that it is right on top of everything! All the stores, food experiences, cultural venues nearby. It couldn't have been better! With the room upgrade I now had a full kitchen with washer/dryer and was able to wash all my laundry, which prior to had been doing by hand. I was able to buy groceries nearby and not eat out. The view from room was facing into the sunset and it was glorious. The room had an outdoor balcony and the breezes coming into the rooms on a hot day were priceless. I had some problems with closing the balcony sliding door though, which had some wood splitting on the top side and kept blowing open in the high winds that swirl around up there, and the bathroom shower was the worst arrangement I have ever seen. The glass enclosure only covered barely a third of the size of the tub and no matter what I did, except sitting on the floor of the tub, I kept flooding the bath floor. There was no maid service during my 3 day stay, but that was okay. Some noise in the halls.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a good location.

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pretty good walk from the train station, but really nice hotel. Shops and restaurants not far at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2016 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your 5* review! We do hope to welcome you back to The Light ApartHotel in the not too distant future.
5 out of 5
by Steven

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by Kris, Hotel Management
Dear Steven, Thank you for your 5* review! We do hope to welcome you back to The Light ApartHotel in the not too distant future.
5 out of 5
by Lars Helge

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Kris, Hotel Management
Dear Lars Helge, Thank you for your 5* review! We do hope to welcome you back to The Light ApartHotel in the not too distant future.
4 out of 5
by Magnus from Reykjavik

Nice perfecly located apartment hotel

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed in nice apartment good location. Clean and spacious with friendly staff, would book again at this hotel. Was travelling alone but the apartment i stayed at had two bed- and bathrooms as well as kitchen prefect for two couples travelling together
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Kris, Hotel Management
Dear Magus, Thank you for taking the time to review The Light, we're so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and your two bed apartment. We do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was very helpful as the time if our visit (June 2016) was very warm and hotel has no air conditioning and there were not enough fans available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Kris, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review The Light following your recent visit. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your overall visit. We do have a number of spare fans and portable air-conditioning units available for hire.
5 out of 5
by Jamie

Good hotel, will definitely stay there again

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Business trip. The hotel has a great gym, the wifi is reliable and I had a room with great views over the city. The cooking facilities are quite good and have most of the utensils I needed for preparing dinner. There was a mini cafetière which was a nice little touch and much appreciated in the morning. The bedrooms/bathroom were a little basic, but perfectly comfortable and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Kris, Hotel Management
Dear Jamie, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at The Light. We've begun our annual refurbishment of the property and will defiantly take your comments on board regarding the bedroom decor. We also offer ten different apartment/suite options to suite everyone's tastes and style, we'd be more than happy to show you the different layouts on your next visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: We got a free upgrade. Balcony with view over Manchester skyline. Close to amenities
Went to Bruce Springsteen concert. 20 minutes from Etihad Stadium by tram.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Guest Service Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review The Light ApartHotel, following your recent stay. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your apartment and your visit in general. We do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for a group trip

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
We were a group of 9 girls staying across 2 apartments for 2 nights. Both were great with plenty of space and in a great location to access all parts of Manchester. Would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Kris, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your 5* review, we're so pleased that you and your guests enjoyed your time in Manchester and look forward to welcoming you all back soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location; foodie central!

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: the space and facilities
Cons: more amenities? perhaps a few extra luxury items in the bathroom etc.
Location: the northern quarter. dine, dine dine!!
initially business but also a gourmand adventure; the restaurants nearby are astoundingly great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Guest Service Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review The Light following your recent visit with. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your overall visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.