Ratings based on 368 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Disappointing

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Staff very helpful and friendly, and public areas clean and comfortable.
Cons: Provide bathrobes and slippers. Provide some smoking bedrooms - the Health Act 2006 does allow for them!
Location: Too much to list - right in the centre of Manchester.
Very disappointing stay. A 4 star spa hotel, with swimming pool, really should provide bathrobes and slippers for all guests, not just those in more expensive rooms. Hand towel in bathroom had holes in it, and telephone didn't work. Breakfast and drinks from bar very expensive - luckily, not far to go to find alternatives. A great hotel if you were on expenses, did not want to use the swimming pool and were a non-smoker ( as the "smoking area" was the street).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from blackpool

Great experience in fabulous hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Have stayed here on several occasions now, fabulous hotel with friendly welcoming staff. Jason on reception told us about what was going on that weekend in Manchester and some of the best places to try at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from LA

Great Hotel, Great Location

Posted Jan 1, 2017
This was a fabulous hotel. It is a beautiful old building. It's is near the station that takes you everywhere. Very convinient. Staff was always accommodating. breakfast was also very good, never had to wait to be seated. I will be returning. Pool facilities did charge a fee for use, which I did not expect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great central location for xmas markets and shops.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Room a little small. Smell of dirty drains in main reception and corridors. Staff pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sheffiild

Stayed for Christmas market

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Stayed here with my girlfriend to visit the Christmas market. Hotel lobby is really nice and the staff are unbelievably kind, welcoming and helpful. Couldn't be closer to the bars restaruants and the Christmas market if that's what your going for. Valet parking is excellent but a bit dear at £30. The room was nice and relatively modern, very clean and the beds are very comfy. Hallways and carpets could do with updating though and for some reason on our visit the lift area smelt slightly sewagey. Didn't stay for food but the restaurant and bar area looked very nice. Overall this hotel is excellent. Your not going to find nicer staff anywhere else and the distance to the shops etc it unbelievably convenient
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warrington, UK

What I expected after reading the reviews.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: rooms, public areas and bar.
Cons: Booking in waiting time was quite a wait.
Location: Central Manchester with everything within 5 mins walk or less.
Good hotel in a good location. All public areas were clean and tidy and the rooms were big enough with all the facilities you would expect, they were clean, comfortable and the room we were in was nice and quiet as it was on the side of the hotel. Would go again providing i got a good deal which we did this time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to city centre

Posted Dec 17, 2016
We had a suite and the facilities and staff at the midland were great. Would recommend as close to the city centre but not too noisy- 5th floor Thursday night stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location x mas markets

Posted Dec 13, 2016
We stay every year for x mas market. Great location,friendly staff and good size rooms. If you pay when you arrive at the hotel breakfast is about £12 but if you pay in morning £18 per person There is a nice pool with a spa with hair dryer and straighteners in changing rooms with a fantastic shower
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Anniversary Break

Posted Dec 11, 2016
We had a marvellous time, we enjoyed lunch at The French - which was an experience I would totally recommend and then enjoyed the comfort of the hotel - a real treat all round!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to city centre

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: The character of the hotel
Cons: The is always room for improvement
Location: Manchester City has everything you need
Hall in hotel a slight mustie smell.The room couldn't open windows,also the air conditioning was difficult to use.