Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Not a 5 star

Posted Jul 11, 2017
We asked for a quiet room and were given 121, right above the bar/loud music until late. Our bedroom was on a different level from the bathroom and due to the positioning and 2 steps, slipped a couple of times. Hotel room facilities stated Hairdryer so left mine behind, unfortunately it took the hotel 4 times to find me one that worked and made us late. Plenty of sockets in room but none suitable to use near a decent mirror. Lighting was really all or nothing. Air conditioning would have been useful as needed to have window open due to heat but then very noisy until late. We went for drink at bar one night and we could not get served due to lack of people serving, plenty staff milling around though. Got impression not great team work in bar area. Overall not the 5 star hotel we were expecting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great but some rooms noisy

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: wonderful staff
this is a great hotel but avoid rooms near their bar and next to the train -- too noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No air condition

Posted May 28, 2017
Room was very small but I only booked a standard double. No air condition and the window wasimited and noisy out in the street front
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classy hotel. Great location.

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The lobby is grand and the decor is understated and classy. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was great and the toiletries were lovely.
Cons: Nothing!
I have stayed here when it was the Palace Hotel and it is my favourite hotel in Manchester. Staff were excellent and always attentive. Our room was very comfortable and immaculate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Ideal location for theatre shows

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: The room was a great size and felt very relaxing. Inside the internal square of the hotel - i.e. think of the hotel as a square with a hollow middle.
Cons: No mirror to dry your hair or put make up on whilst sat down.
Location: Plenty of Italian restaurants within 10 minutes walk. Palace theater is 3 minutes away across the road.
Very impressive reception and enthusiastic reception team. Room upgrade offered and accepted - well worth it. Super room, excellent bathroom / en suite and quality TV with fridge and water. Restaurant was fully booked so we didn't try the food, however the bar is brilliant place to sit in - very impressive and good choice of alcoholic drinks with plenty of bar staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Nice hotel near train stations

Posted May 12, 2017
Absolutely loved the facility. Spacious room. Lovely, deep bathtub. The only negative was the VERY loud dance music, Friday and Saturday nignt that could be heard in our 3rd floor room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

weeken end stay

Posted May 10, 2017
The hotel building is beautiful unlike modern hotels has character and charm. The hotel staff were all very pleasant and helpful. My wife said the breakfast was good. The rooms were large tall ceilings and decorated to high standard. Bed really comfy. When I come back to Manchester I will differnatley stay here again 4.5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Beautiful hotel

Posted May 2, 2017
Really stunning hotel, great location. We arrived and our room wasn't ready. Offered complimentary drinks. The room was gorgeous! My only comment was only one of the ceiling lights worked and the other 4 didnt which meant the room was very dark. And the road noise and shouting outside was excessive, which is not the fault of the hotel but if you are a light sleeper reccomend asking for a room away from the main road if possible
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Exceptionally beautiful hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2017
We were bowled over by the gorgeous rooms - the ceilings were so high and the room was decorated beautifully - pictures as shown on website can't q capture how gorgeous the room was. Furniture was selected with much care and everything came together very nicely We stayed in the 2x double bed room and it was enormous, lots of space for luggage and some more. There was also a complimentary Tuck Box filled with chocolate, potato chips and tea/coffee sachets, v simple yet nice gesture The restaurants within hotel was also very beautiful and we had an enjoyable breakfast soaking in the ambience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Splendid

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Excellent hotel! Old world charm. I would highly recommend it.