Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Quirky, classy place

Posted May 11, 2017
Location: Very handy for Piccadilly station, the gay village, and the whole town centre.
Short stay, just two nights, but we loved the room. Comfortable, quirkily decorated, handy balcony, and - as ever - very friendly, helpful staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Great Weekend at the Velvet Hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
A great place for a weekend away . Hotel was excellent, great decor. Standards were high - faultless . Area very lively if you want to party. Room came with a noise warning and it was but this didn't spoil a thing as we'd enjoyed 2 great nights out . Meal in Velvet Restraunt as great too. Would recommend and visit again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Now my favourite hotel in Manchester

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Don't hesitate to book. Oozing with luxury out of every pour. Hotel is presented perfectly and is a 5 minute walk from Manchester Piccadilly and a great location for the city centre. Room was outstanding and contained everything I needed. I wish I could have spent more time in the room.
4 out of 5
by kevin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Manchester

Posted Jan 29, 2017
We had a great experience at Velvet - an awesome boutique hotel in an up and coming part of Manchester. It was an easy walk to both the Northern Quarter and the downtown area to see a lot of what Manchester had to offer. The hotel staff was extremely courteous and the room was great - big and airy with a superb bathroom. The only downside was the TV wasn't working in our room due to an electrical problem but I'm sure that was a one-time event. We weren't there to watch TV anyway :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in the heart of the Gay Village

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Centrally located for all attractions. Might get a bit noisy in summer when people drink outside on Canal Street, but didn't affect us in January.
5 out of 5
by Kenneth

Great hotel on Canal Street

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
A boutique hotel in the heart of Manchester. Excellent service and communication from booking to post departure. Large room, comfortable bed and unique interior. Would definitely recommend and would happily stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great service

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
Great service and comfortable room with everything I needed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The bed was Soooooooo comfy and the towels fluffy

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The food in the hotels restaurant next door was very good. We had dinner both nights of our stay. The hotel is immaculately clean. Staff very helpful we went to a concert and they organised a cab. There is building work next door but there was little sound, they aren't allowed to start work early and they finished early as well. The hotel is in the gay village so there are a few clubs around, but we stayed midweek I expect it can get loud at weekends. It's a short walk into the city and we went to the Christmas markets, there are trams if you don't fancy a walk. We felt safe in the village but some parts of the city we felt less so. We would stay at The Velvet again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel and service without doubt the best hotel in Manchester