Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by DARPAN from Mumbai

Run Down Hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Reception staff were courteous and helpful even though they couldn't locate my reservation for a hour or so. Booking was made vide Hotels.com, had a similar probem even at Hotel Golkonda in Hyderabad. Rooms were very run down, dirty walls, dirty sofas though had nice clean comfortable beds. Again traffic noise was terrible all through the night even though I was on a higher floor. Decent breakfast spread and effiicient service overall. WIFI was bad.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor checkin

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Poor Checkin Average food but good service Provided wrong room but later upgraded
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2016 by Santi, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am extremely sorry if you have faced any inconvenience during your stay. we shall ensure better service and satisfaction on your next stay with us. please visit us again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good business hotel in central Mangaluru, India.

Posted Feb 11, 2016
The Goldfinch Hotel in central Mangaluru, India, is a good business hotel with outstandingly attentive staff. Example: at check-in, two (2) uniformed staff members accompanied me to my room; one who carried my luggage and showed me the room's amenities in the normal manner, and a second person whose role appeared to be to ensure that I was satisfied with the level of service provided by the first. Example: A staff member, if present when I was about to use the elevator, would always walk with me to the elevator and press the call button for me. At least two fine restaurants are embodied into the hotel. The building is very attractive inside and out. However, my room was starting to show evidence of wear and age. Example: the brown ceramic tiles on the horizontal worksurface surrounding the bowl-shaped sink displayed obvious white lime (calcium carbonate) stains from dried sink-water spillage. Example: the fillet of sealant between the bottom of the bowl-shaped sink and the brown ceramic tiles was uneven and discoloured with, apparently, mildew. Example: the general level of cleanliness in the bathroom, including floor and shower stall, was only "fair" in my opinion. Hotel management may wish to consider providing cleaning staff with more effective cleaning products together with instructions on their correct use, such as lime-removing solution to remove lime stains from dark-coloured tiles, and bleach to remove mildew stains from bathroom sealants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2016 by Santi, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am extremely sorry if you have faced any inconvenience during your stay. we shall ensure better service and satisfaction on your next stay with us. please visit us again.
3 out of 5
by Subbaraju from Hyderabad

Unfair overcharging with Hotels.com lapses

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Hotels
We have made this booking on Hotels.com. We were aghast when the Goldfinch informed that they did not receive a confirmation from Hotels.com. (The site initially gave us a terrible experience in multiple attempts to finish the booking). We then had to wait and wait after a long journey and finally on forwarding the mail that we received they agreed to allow us into a room. The wifi and other facilities were kept on hold as they did not receive a formal confirmation from Hotels.com. On the next morning when we were checking out of the Hotel manager took my credit card details as a backup claiming that they did not receive a mail from the aggregator. I get a message that I am charged on my card after 2 hrs. They did not mail me or talk to me before or after charging my card. When I called the Hotel they gave an unclear response that they had to charge this as they got the confirmation late and promising to offer discount on next visit. Please be aware that you might be taken for a ride and short changed by these sort of unprofessional and unfair businesses. Never ever share the card details even if you were to stay there. Heights of irresponsibility from Hotels.com in not following proper processes and putting the customer to hardships. Please be cautioned and avoid depending on unreliable guys.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel though not for the price

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: The coastal food restaurant on the 8th floor
Cons: The wifi was really really bad, but then so was our 3G bandwidth, so I guess it's a Mangalore thing
The experience was pleasant. The staff worked hard to be polite and responsive. But it's a hotel in a small city, and the standards show that. Nothing wrong with it, but would have appreciated more for the money. But the coastal food on the 8th floor is to die for! I'll go again there just for the food!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2016 by Santi, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am extremely sorry if you have faced any inconvenience during your stay. we shall ensure better service and satisfaction on your next stay with us. please visit us again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangalore

One of my worst experience, will never recommend.

Posted Dec 25, 2015
Front office people just don't understand English. Absolutely no coordination among the staff. Very average service. I will never visit this place again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice boutique style hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Pros: Excellent rooms, good food
One day brief stay to visit a temple. . Nothing more to add. If you want words, I hope you have sufficient! It served my purpose - friendly, efficient, good rooms, good food.
1 out of 5
by SeniorSue

Booking NOT honoured

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on HotelClub
Only time this has ever happened. This hotel did not honour our booking. We were sent off to an inferior hotel at the same cost. Very unpleasant experience.
5 out of 5
by Ganesan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MCT

Nice hotel in the centre of the town, accessible

Posted Jul 20, 2015
For additional four hours stay, they charged me half day charges. Specially knowing that I was out on a visit. I should have removed my baggage at nine am when I went out. Anyway, it is my problem