Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX USA

Great view but some updating is needed

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Great staff but resort is a little outdated. Food was hit and miss... not a big fan of flies around my food. Sea view room had an amazing view. Bathroom shower head need changing and my tv in the room flickered. Also had quite a bit of wifi challenges during our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Simple and Effective, missing the WOW factor

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The staff were all very polite and pleasant and the food is very good. Looking out across the peaceful sea to view the sunset is amazing!
Cons: Attention and investment into the detail, ensuring that guests get the service and standards which they've paid for.
Location: Agency is on site to book activities but you can book them for significantly cheaper if willing to travel into Stone Town and barter with guides
As newlyweds Sea Cliff offers a pleasant experience, they do the basics very well but lack the WOW factor to make it an amazing experience. All of the staff were always polite and happy to help, however the pool staff didn't proactively approach guests for drinks/food requests on a regular basis, usually you need to go to the bar or hope that someone is passing. The inclusion of leisure activities for free (pool, squash, darts, bikes, table tennis, tennis, snorkelling, kayaking and other non-motorised water sports) are a good idea however they are of a low quality, for example the snorkels and masks were dirty and not cleaned after each guest, pool balls were missing, darts had no flights and bikes were unavailable. They offer a shuttle bus into Stone Town with little to no information, arriving in town the bus driver simply pulls over and indicates to leave the bus. With men hounding at the window as you pull up and following individuals for 50m to offer 'tour guide services' it was a bit much for the elderly couple who were traveling with us and could have been managed with a simple communication to guests. The list goes on, they set high guest expectations with their prices and fall short of amazing due to their neglect for the details. For our honeymoon and the price we paid I expected more, ultimately it has the ingredients for an amazing holiday and its disappointing that they go 90% of the way and yet fail to deliver due to seemingly a lack of care.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, Mo

Anniversary Getaway

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: The hotel was thirty minutes out from Stone Town. The shuttle ran in the morning ... for free.
Cons: The wireless network was a pain at times to stay connected to, but not always.
Location: We had the half board deal. It was all the good food you could desire. But 9 to 1 of a day you could take the shuttle into Sone Town. Good food there.
My wife and I travel to Zanzibar about every two to three years. We have stayed on all sides of the island, in and out of town. This was one of the best experiences we have ever had. Understand we were celebrating 40 years of marriage. We have seen all the sights and taken all the tours. This was a relaxing week away from the maddening crowd. The staff are well trained and attentive. I was empressed with not just how they treated us, speaking Swahili, but tourists who were English bound were well attended to also. The grounds were well kept up. The food was very good. The sunsets were romantic. I highly recommend the sea view rooms. We paid the extra for the upgrade and enjoyed it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Harcourt, Nigeria

Beautiful hotel on the Indian Ocean

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Some bug zappers at the buffet and restaurant would help keep the flies and bees at bay.
Location: Not far from Stone Town and lots of tours available.
Lovely experience all-round - beautiful location with very helpful and polite staff. Even the check-in for our group (we were there for a wedding) was the most pain-free one I've ever had. The attention to detail made the wedding one to remember!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK/Ghana

Beautiful all round

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: The location Facilities Restaurant & food The staff, particularly- the restaurant Manager
Cons: More Chairs - (arm chairs for the Deluxe Bedroom)
It was a beautiful place - by the Ocean, Spice Island, Great grounds and facilities. Services including Spa, Restaurant and rooms were all very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: The pool and the view. I would have like the pool to get deeper than 4ft, but it was still wonderful to relax in. The bed was very comfortable.
Cons: Food could use a bit of finessing. Speed of service could be improved.
Location: I didn't leave during my stay, so I don't know what there is to do immediately around, though it seems a cab would be needed to go anywhere.
The setting is breathtaking. The view, the pool, the manicured grounds...all lovely and relaxing. We arrived a bit earlier than check-in time, so had to sit in the lounge area for a bit before our rooms were ready...but the view, and the frozen drinks brought to us while we waited helped us pass the time. The rooms were very clean and inviting. Flowers adorned the bed (designs changed daily). I was shown where the fridge and safe were as well as told about laundry services (which I did end up using...nothing properly dries in the humidity there). General service was slow (as I found to be the case everywhere), but staff was very helpful and friendly. The buffet style eating was alright. Lots of options...mostly catered for the western palette, nothing I ate was outstanding...but the food was decent. It's a good idea to get full board, or all inclusive unless you know during the day you are going to be out adventuring somewhere (nothing's all that close, but nothing's all that far away either being an island). We didn't really leave during our three day stay, so having the all inclusive option was well worth the cost. We had a fun and relaxing time. I would return. *I will make the recommendation to use the safe. Luckily I didn't have any issues, but others I was traveling with had a substantial amount of money taken from their rooms. So please, be smart and put valuables in the safe, or keep them with you.*
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic - everything exceeded expectations

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Fantastic stay from beginning to end. The hotel really made a huge effort with our group - a fiftieth birthday. The hotel itself is in a massive plot and has fantastic facilities - I had two spa treatments - both excellent, used the gym, husband enjoyed the golf. Good good, tennis and squash courts, great swimming pool etc etc - really couldn't fault anything.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

OK hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2016
The hotel is ok,quite average. Staff and management are really helpful and friendly but sadly the beach is a let down -most of the time the tide is far out and the beach close to the golf course is very dirty -all the ocean rubbish gets washed ashore and not cleared up. The food is quite average too. I would stay there again because it is close to Stonetown but would not recommend it to anyone looking for a nice beach experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

Fabulous views but service not matched

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: The location is good and views are very good.
Cons: The management can improve service, provide value for money, reduce price of alcohol so that clients can spend instead of making trips to Stone town
Location: Everything you do is in hotel unless you take excursions....
I arranged transfer and no one came to meet me at the airport. The room had an empty fridge, no mini-bar and had to ask for bath gel, shampoo, soap and tea bags for few days before the penny dropped! The hotel provides very poor exchange rate, surcharge of 5% if you pay by card, levy on drinks and infrastructure tax of $1 for every day you stay in the country. Clients are charged and have to pay in dollars which does not make sense. Personally in my opinion how can this hotel is rated 5 star, cannot understand. The beach is reached after walking and relatively small, gym is free but if you use sauna or steam room charge is $20 every time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lusaka, Zambia

Nice hotel with excellent views and facilities

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Location and Facilities
Cons: Food menu could be improved
Location: Very close to the sea, plenty of excursions on offer.
A wonderful experience and a great time was had by all our family