Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort with lots to do.

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: An excellent room with outstanding views, very good nightly entertainment and wonderful amenities.
Cons: Some of the staff were under-trained and my check-in process was badly botched but well compensated for eventually.
Location: Oceanfront with a nice beach and a really fun 9-hole golf course. Reasonably close access to Stone Town and other sights.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX USA

Great view but some updating is needed

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Great staff but resort is a little outdated. Food was hit and miss... not a big fan of flies around my food. Sea view room had an amazing view. Bathroom shower head need changing and my tv in the room flickered. Also had quite a bit of wifi challenges during our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Israel

Great holiday

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
Great
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Simple and Effective, missing the WOW factor

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The staff were all very polite and pleasant and the food is very good. Looking out across the peaceful sea to view the sunset is amazing!
Cons: Attention and investment into the detail, ensuring that guests get the service and standards which they've paid for.
Location: Agency is on site to book activities but you can book them for significantly cheaper if willing to travel into Stone Town and barter with guides
As newlyweds Sea Cliff offers a pleasant experience, they do the basics very well but lack the WOW factor to make it an amazing experience. All of the staff were always polite and happy to help, however the pool staff didn't proactively approach guests for drinks/food requests on a regular basis, usually you need to go to the bar or hope that someone is passing. The inclusion of leisure activities for free (pool, squash, darts, bikes, table tennis, tennis, snorkelling, kayaking and other non-motorised water sports) are a good idea however they are of a low quality, for example the snorkels and masks were dirty and not cleaned after each guest, pool balls were missing, darts had no flights and bikes were unavailable. They offer a shuttle bus into Stone Town with little to no information, arriving in town the bus driver simply pulls over and indicates to leave the bus. With men hounding at the window as you pull up and following individuals for 50m to offer 'tour guide services' it was a bit much for the elderly couple who were traveling with us and could have been managed with a simple communication to guests. The list goes on, they set high guest expectations with their prices and fall short of amazing due to their neglect for the details. For our honeymoon and the price we paid I expected more, ultimately it has the ingredients for an amazing holiday and its disappointing that they go 90% of the way and yet fail to deliver due to seemingly a lack of care.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel - no beach

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel overall is not bad, however, there are definitely better options in the area and probably for a better price. I was very disappointed to learn that the hotel does 'not have beach access'. Based on the pictures provided on this website, and description, it clearly shows a 'sandy beach' but in fact, the hotel is situated over a cliff with an amazing view but not available to swim and hardly any water activities available on site.
1 out of 5
by salum from Springfield , Missouri

Junk

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
apart of the view the rent is junk ! Cockroaches in the room , Bathroom very old , Do not order steak , Wifi connection very poor
5 out of 5
by Frans from Johannesburg

Beautiful resort, excellent service!

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
This is a beautiful resort with very good service. The gardens and all surrounding areas are beautifully maintained. The view from the room was great, but they van improve the bathroom amenities. The staff make the big difference though, friendly, warm and sincere service. Food also good. I'll be back, soon!
5 out of 5
by Parin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, Mo

Anniversary Getaway

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: The hotel was thirty minutes out from Stone Town. The shuttle ran in the morning ... for free.
Cons: The wireless network was a pain at times to stay connected to, but not always.
Location: We had the half board deal. It was all the good food you could desire. But 9 to 1 of a day you could take the shuttle into Sone Town. Good food there.
My wife and I travel to Zanzibar about every two to three years. We have stayed on all sides of the island, in and out of town. This was one of the best experiences we have ever had. Understand we were celebrating 40 years of marriage. We have seen all the sights and taken all the tours. This was a relaxing week away from the maddening crowd. The staff are well trained and attentive. I was empressed with not just how they treated us, speaking Swahili, but tourists who were English bound were well attended to also. The grounds were well kept up. The food was very good. The sunsets were romantic. I highly recommend the sea view rooms. We paid the extra for the upgrade and enjoyed it.