Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from auckland

beautiful spot

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: the bed was very comfortable (which i dont usually expect) the position by the water great with its view, flowers around, & greenery
Cons: wouldnt take much for a new piece of lino, toilet bowl, repair window latch & a cleanup outside the window with plants to change the whole experience
Location: location's gorgeous, good cafes etc
a room on the corner enjoyed two beautiful views very disappointing state of kitchen & bathroom with stuck cupboards, the one for clothes smelling musty, lino lifting & very old & dirty (black around edges), toilet bowl stained with black ring, bathroom window latch broken off & very stiff to try & move it open/closed. the courtyard out that window a dumping ground, rubbish lying around, unkempt. Im no clean freak but I found the general cleanliness level not too good (eg. toilet door, top of cooker) where simply a cleaning wipe would be sufficient, with the look of the lino & toilet quite off putting. the endless whirring of the machinery (is it for the pool?) is not pleasant & I wanted it to stop but I enjoyed the stay for the hotel's position, view & bed :-)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tauranga

Disappointing

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Our room was more then outdated!!!Kitchen and bathroom needs attention!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice location

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: renovation needed where required
Location: several restaurants in easy walking distance
The studio unit we stayed in is in need of renovation in the kitchen and bathroom areas. Other units appeared to be in better condition when viewing through the window. It is in a nice location and was very quiet the night we stayed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great spot overlooking water

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location, water views.
Cons: Modernising.
Location: Close to many restaurants, bars and boat ramp.
Motel room is very dated but clean, adequate facilities. Close to restaurants and bars. Overall a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Nice hotel, good location, nice pool, beautiful view. I loved my stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Quaint motel with views over the harbour

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Wotif
Absolutely loved our stay at this motel. Our manager was warm and welcoming. Loved the room which was warm, sunny and very clean. Views were stunning over the harbour and we loved our short walk into the village every day. We will be back.
4 out of 5
by Des

Beautiful location.

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
A nice spot, off the main road, with views across the water. 'World famous' fish and chip shop up the road.
5 out of 5
by Victoria

Highly recommended and great value for money

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
A stunning waterfront location and very comfortable 2 bedroom unit for our young family of 4. Heated pool very welcome after our long days exploring the far north. Room serviced daily. Friendly proprietor, happy to answer questions. Easy 10 minute walk around to cafes/restaurants or takeaway meal options. Very quiet and tranquil Bay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Handy spot with pleasant walk to Mangonui

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Pleasant place right by the waterside. Pool area great (if that's what you want). Decent walk to town.
Cons: Until you realise you can use the "back entrance", the reception are is up a flight of (closed in) stairs. Signage could be improved.
Location: The Mangonui fish shop, the pub and other small shops and eateries. Check out the activity on the harbour or pop round the corner to the beach
Short (overnight) stay as we were visiting the area checking out possible houses to move to. Stayed here before, nice position on the harbour edge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Friendly people, nice stay. no sky movies but let you stock up on the wifi so all good.