Ratings based on 1,644 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2018
Chris at the front desk was lovely. Fun stay in an historic place
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 18, 2018
You get what you pay for. The showers are alwasy clean and you do not need to wait to get into the shower. The only thing I would say is a minus is the staff. When you check in, they do not give you much information, nor on the hotel nor on NY. I was for the first time in NY and it would have been nice, to obtain some infomration on the city, maybe a city map and more information on the neighbourhood. When I was checking out (early in the morning to catch my flight) I have witnessed some harsh behaviour from the bouncers of the club located in the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Very small room at a very small price

Posted Apr 17, 2018
Pros: Price and look
Cons: More comfortable mattress
Location: A few walking blocks from subway station
I enjoyed this hotel very much. I had to spend 1 transit night in NYC and it was perfect for me. Not expensive at all, the room I had was very small but I really did not need more. There was shower and WC on the floor, not in the room. Excellent hotel staff and friendly guests. Will definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good choice for inexpensive stay

Posted Apr 16, 2018
there are no surprises with this hotel. all the descriptors-room size, shared bathroom, location- are highly accurate. it's a perfect place if all you need to do is have a place to sleep and shower. Stayed in standard single room with shared bathroom on the third floor. A tall or heavy set person would have difficulty in the room due to the narrow and short bed. the bathroom was exactly as previously described: very clean, no waiting to use either the shower or toilets. Despite the inexpensive cost to stay, and i suspect, the high turnover of visitors, the hotel and my room was very well maintained. the room was refreshened and tidied each day of my stay. the only negative is, yes the walls are thin and there's no way around the noise coming from the hallway, but i was pleasantly surprised with how quiet it was at night during my 4 night stay. Amazingly, for the most part, i think/hope people who are staying there are quite conscious of being quiet due to thin walls.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great if it were half the price

Posted Apr 16, 2018
Uniformed and excellent staff, lovely white towel and bathrobe can’t mask the fact that what is on offer is rock bottom
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Providence

Historic property with charm ...

Posted Mar 29, 2018
Pros: Style, location, restaurant
Cons: Rooms are very tiny not sure much can be done about that ... but bathroom /shower needs frequent cleaning etc. the floor was very wet in the morning.
Location: lots of restaurants, shopping, and charm in the neighborhood.
The Jane is a quirky but charming place to stay even if room comforts are limited. the location close to the river but in the West Village makes it an excellent choice for getting a sense of the charms of Greenwich Village.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2018
I went for an improptu trip. I find this hotel to have everything a traveler might need, the rooms have the basics, the bathrooms are clean and the staff is very friendly and responsive. It is also at a very reasonable price considering its locaiton.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Probably the Best Hotel You Can Get at this Price

Posted Mar 28, 2018
I think it is really the best hotel you can get for budget travelers (especially solo travelers!). The staff here is so nice and helpful. The location for the hotel is extraordinary; and the room is nostalgic and clean. Yes the room is really small and the bathroom is shared (small as well and is gender-neutral).. It wasn't a obstacle to me the first night, but the second night I really felt like I need more room to breathe. But overall it is a really good hotel! Definitely check it out if you have a limited budget and don't mind a small space.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Swansea UK

Okay basic hotel but location remote and unsafe

Posted Mar 24, 2018
Room itself ok -bed much bigger than the one I had when I stayed a few days ago . Both rooms are classed as standard but this is far superior - not sure what one would need to do to ensure getting a room with a proper sized bed as it seems a bit random. No kettle or sink in room. But on the plus side the room has a safe. Corridors very noisy late at night as there seems to be no security monitoring of anti so IAN behaviour from unruly guests - don't feel safe to leave my room at night, which is a bit of aroblem when a room is not en suite! Even scarier is the street outside the hotel - packed with drunken mobs late at night. Have never felt unsafe anywhere in New Yprk before on my many trips here over the last 40 years - but the walk back to this hotel late at night really has me on edge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2018
Cozy, convenient, well-maintained. Perfect for a solo traveler and multiple-night stay.