Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Fred

Good food, comfy beds

Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels
It was alright
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jason from Seoul, South Korea

I enjoyed my stay

Posted May 29, 2013
Pros: the staff were very pleasant and helpful
Cons: bathrooms cramped and need to start changing towels daily.
Location: Location is a little out of the way, a nice retreat. Very close to Makati Plaza Mall. neighborhood poor but people friendly. did not feel dangerous
Great staff and nice hotel. Queen room was much better than double twin. Bathrooms were small. Just need to remind the staff to change the towels and linens if you need them done over multiple days, Note you must turn in the key each time you leave the building. This is so they can do a safety check, turn off lights, unplug anything, turn of the AC, etc. Price through Expedia much cheaper than paying on-site. Remember you are in Makati, Philippines, not the Ritz in New York. You are getting a nice, comfortable room at standards the locals consider very high.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jyl

Wonderful hotel!

Posted May 16, 2013
Pros: The bed was very comfortable. :)
Cons: The walls are a bit too thin. You can hear the other rooms making a ruckus. Otherwise this place is great.
Everything was very clean and smelled so good! The staff was very friendly and accommodating too. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone who wants comfort and good value.
3 out of 5
by tuck4x4 from USA

great service, poor location

Posted Mar 19, 2013 on Hotels
The personnel was very nice and professional and went out of their way to meet our needs. The location of the hotel was not their fault... Cab drivers will have a very hard time finding the hotel and when told of the location, most suggested that it was in an area known for drug use. There is a walter mart within walking distance, so supplies will never be a problem. I booked our room online and was under the impression that i would be staying in a small suite with a kitchenette and wifi. All we got was a mini-fridge and a cabled internet connect, after paying, that had a broken connector and would not stay plugged into my laptop. Because of the staff and the price I would consider staying here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Dec 24, 2012 on Hotels
We stayed a week at St. Illian's. The Inn was only 15 years old but the building was much older. The walls are thin and the water pipes noisy. It was well kept considering its age. The Inn had a quaint feel about it, almost like something out of a Humphrey Bogart movie. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room had hot water, but not as hot as in an American hotel. The hotel cafe ranged from very good to weird. The blueberry pancakes are addictive; they are that good! When the menu says serves two, believe it. The meals are very generous and reasonably priced. We tried many of the dishes for breakfast and dinner. In general we liked most of them except a couple of vegetarian dishes. The Inn is within walking distance to many stores, but the neighborhood is somewhat seedy. That is its main drawback. The Inn is supposed to be non-smoking, but people smoked outside our room in the hallway. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at St. Illian's and would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Jo

Nice little hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2012 on Hotels
St Illians is on the edge of Makati, so it is out of the way of the main traffic but still close enough that it is an short taxi ride to Greenbelt/Ayala. The hotel itself is clean and quiet, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel also has a small kitchen which was useful for breakfast or a late snack or coffee. Overall I would recommend St Illians and would consider booking again if I stayed in Makati.
4 out of 5
by Ashley

A great stay

Posted Dec 12, 2012 on Hotels
We stayed at Amorita for 3 nights in December 2012, and couldn't be happier with both the hotel and the staff. The location of Amorita is great, located at the end of Alona Beach. It is just a short climb down stairs to the beach. The hotel also has a dive shop where scuba and snorkelling equipment can be hired, and boats chartered to local islands. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Amorita.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex from Australia

Excellent and friendly service

Posted May 17, 2012
Pros: Friendly staff and good service
Location: It was a little difficult to find initially, so helpful to know where you are going. However convenient to shops, food etc
I arrived really early in the morning and after a long flight, it was really good to be greeted by helpful, friendly staff. And despite the fact that I hadn't had a chance to warn them I was early staff were extremely understanding and made sure to accommodate me with early check in. The triple room I was in was on the smaller side, however it was clean and well maintained. Food at the cafe was great and very reasonably priced. The staff were always super friendly too and really take pride in their establishment. Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2012 on Hotels
Convenient located in a more quiet part of Makati. No overnight visitors are allowed, and I did see the staff enforce it, which makes it a better choice for persons that are looking a quiet place without dodgy persons around. It's not like the area at Burgos St.! My room was very clean. The staff is friendly and also efficient most of the time. The street is not very busy and it's possible to park there. Don't expect taxi drivers to know the street, it's very small, so bring a print of a map before going there. Maybe they know Makati Cinema Square, which is located relatively near by. Good value for the money in a location like Makati.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tamuning, Guam

Hotel Santillian - convenient location

Posted Jun 5, 2011 on Hotels
Staff is very friendly and accomodating. Location is good for Makati; I was able to walk to several nearby places as traffic in Makati is really horrible. There is no real food service at the hotel as they cook anything you order at a nearby hotel (1 block away) owned by the same company, but there are lots of street vendors and some nearby restaurants if you want to "eat local" so I didnt miss the lack of food cooked at the hotel coffee shop. The only drawback is the bathroom is very small; the toilet faces a wall about 8 inches from the toilet so you have to squirm to sit on the toilet. The price is very reasonable thru Hotels.com ; I stayed one extra day and they charged me more so its better to book thru Hotels.com.