Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from QC

Nice View

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Had a relaxing stay; the food at 9 spoons & sky deck were good; just had a hard time finding the basement parking the first time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel in Intramuros Metro Manila

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Metro Manila is very busy alot of Traffic. from the airprt to the hotel during traffic hours there will be an approximate travel time 1:30mins with out traffic maybe less than an hour by car. Intramuros is a culural area, great for tourists who wants to see culural side of the city. the hotel is inside of intramuros it has a great view on the rooftop of this hotel. great food as well
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Hidden gem with great Penthouse views

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: The Penthouse
Cons: Customer service. Some of the staff in the reception desk need more training.
It may not be as popular as the fancy hotels, but that's part of the charm. It's almost like a secret place you'd rather keep hidden from the masses and keep to yourself. The Penthouse is where you'd want to meet up with your closest friends. Amazing view, intimate, comfy, charming, good food...and with the right person, romantic. My room had a soothing view of the green (golf course) and the historic Walled City. It met my minimum standards of cleanliness and good customer service. Of course the five-star hotels are still superior in these areas. But I'd give Bayleaf's unique charm five stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent restaurants located in the hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: The staff and the rooftop restaurant were very pleasing.
Cons: The rooms are on the small side, however this is not a propblem unless you are travelling with a family
Location: There are a number of historical sites right on your doorstep, however it is also adjacent to a very poor area of Ermita.
The hotel is comfortable and clean and offered a number of choices of restaurants within the hotel itself. It is an easy taxi ride to a number of different points of interest.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This is 100% about the location

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: The location is excellent, and when the roof is open to guests, it is the best view in Manila.
Cons: Everything.
Location: After dark - nothing. You are isolated from the nightlife of Manila unless you can take a taxi.
This is the best hotel inside the old walled city with views of the cannons and the cathedral from the rooftop bar. The rooms are dated and dinged, but nice enough. The downside is that it is student run and you might have to wait 15 min for a breakfast coffee and they sometimes close off key parts of the hotel (roof / restaurants) for events and as you are inside intramuros, there are not a lot of other options. Think of it as going to a destination pool resort and they decided to regularly close the pool for private events. It also stays on the "Philippine" side of accommodation, as opposed to complying with what I would consider international standards. Example - I booked a private car with the hotel to take me to the airport and the hotel billed me 800 PHP, but then the driver dumped us off half way telling us he was not permitted to go to the airport and we would need to find a taxi to go the rest of the way. Hotel's response: nothing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Nice Modern Designed nice view hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Design of Room, Concept, Facility readiness. Location
Cons: WiFi access devices are limited to 2. this should be improved
Location: Intramuros the histrical fort Spaniard built was outstanding look and one of not many heritage the Philippine has. Area is quiet and nice to walk.
The Hotel is very contemporary design and good view to Intramuros. The Restaurant on the top floor is relaxing zone. WiFi connection is good but only the number of access devices are limited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfort living

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: inside my room
Cons: if theres a swimming pool
Location: things are good specially there buffet for breakfast excellent for people are having diet a lot of option will be serve
i love my room,, where i could have overlooking outside view and i could see people passing through the street
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

The staff was good, value was ok, area was rough.

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: I liked the price and that it included breakfast. The staff was also very friendly and helpful (they do try to make you happy here folks).
Cons: Internet is terrible! I brought my laptop computer and they seem to have the bandwidth limited, I couldn't do much streaming of video at all.
Location: This hotel is surrounded by a rough neighborhood! Attempted to take a walk (just one block away) but had to turn back, took a taxi everywhere after.
Prior to my stay, I had never been to the Philippines, my decision to book a hotel was based on reviews and price. I am sharing my honest experience with others so that they can make an informed decision as well. I stayed here for 8 days, stayed in the same room, had a decent view (see pics), and I am largely satisfied with the hotel (given the price). The service was excellent, every time I called for something a friendly staff member got it in a timely manner (like a taxi cab). The breakfast buffet was definitely budget oriented, but honestly my standards for food is unusually high (for most people it would be ok), and at least the staff was super friendly. Room service came everyday, kept our room clean, no complaints there. Nothing against the hotel itself but next time I am going to book a hotel next to the Manila airport/Mall of Asia mostly because of the safety concerns that foreigners should be aware of when traveling through the Philippines. Basically, the Philippines scares me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location great staff excellent stay.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: The staff help to make for a pleasant experience.
Cons: maintain consistency in providing good service . Recruitment and training with good supervision and management.
Location: Being inside the forttress its very well located for golf, national museum and all Malls
Once again a great experience, reception staff excellent as with the restaurant staff so friendly, helpful and proactive Do not lose that Bayleaf your staff are your strongest asset. Keep it up . House keeping dept very helpful
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Caucasians are NOT appreciated

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: n/a
Cons: Educate staff and replace incompetence with professionalism.
Location: It is nice during day but in evening quiet dead, no restaurants, dark and dirty, some streets I consider dangerous.
I travel a lot and have been to many countries but was never so badly treated as in Bayleaf Intramuros. For breakfast I was asked if I wanted coffee, I agreed, but then never received coffee whereas other Asian guests immediately got their coffee. 10 minutes later I finally got mine. The last day I had to order three times coffee, as nobody was willing to serve coffee to me. The day before check out I asked kindly for late check out and offered to pay additional fees. I was told that they have to contact supervisor to ask for it. Next morning I asked again and I was told the same that late check out is 1 pm and they have to ask their supervisor. Two hours later I received a call saying I have to check out at noon. At this time I already had booked another hotel to bridge waiting hours for a night bus. Then I was bothered with phone calls every 30 minutes from 10.30 am on to ensure I would be leaving!! I stopped answering after second call. I checked out at 11.50 am and guy at reception insulted me by asking I have left a person in my room! I asked if he is kidding me and what kind of question this it. To summarize: If you are Caucasian and do not want to be treated badly, avoid this hotel! If you need internet, wifi does not work for most of the time. During my 2 days I had 2 hours of internet. TV has bad signal. Overall very bad experience.