Ratings based on 673 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Toi crowded. Not a peaceful hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Too many functions. Too crowded. Cannot even walk at the lobby without bumping someone. Go somewhere else.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

Beware the "upgrade"

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: I will say the food there was very high quality, even for the buffet breakfast, but the buffet dinner we got there cost over 5000.00 peso for 2 people
Cons: Everything from check in, to rooms, to pool. Only the buffet food and lobby looked/were 5 star. Stay somewhere else!
Location: We only stayed one night, thankfully, so we didn't get a chance to explore the area.
Well I was looking forward to the stay at this hotel, since it is so iconic, however, from the moment I arrived, things were pretty bad. It was super busy and lots of ppl and traffic. It took over 20 minutes at the reception to start our booking process. We were told our room was not ready yet (even though we arrived after 3 PM), and they 'upgraded' us to a suite. This has happened to me once before in the PH at a different hotel, but it was the same result this time. We were upgraded to a suite, that obviously hadn't been renovated in at least the past 30 years. The room we had originally booked was supposed to have a separate shower and a view. The room they gave us had a view of a roof top right next door, and it was a combination bathtub/shower. Also the room we reserved was supposed to have a TV in the bathroom, which this room didn't. Although the 'upgrade" was spacious, it had pealing wallpaper/paint and smelt of mold, with very worn out furniture. This time I decided to complain and demanded the room that I had booked, which I did get. Again though, not the best view, but at least it did resemble the pics from the website so I was at least satisfied they lived up to the (minimum) of what I had reserved. The pool was also a complete mess, and only looked slightly similar to the pics online. In the hotels defense they are renovating the area, but even the untouched areas were run down, and none of the seats had umbrellas over them.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

great hotel with great people

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Heard so much about this hotel from my sister in law. It is an amazing place with amazing people. I know for sure that we will stay there again whenever we go back to the Philippines.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Four Star Guest Experience

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: It's architecture is magnificent, the location is ideal and the junior staff do all they can to provide great service.
Cons: Empowering the staff who care with the authority to do their job creating a five star experience.
Pros: 1) Great buffet selection. 2) Quiet rooms with great view of the park. 3) Near a low-cost public golf course. 4) On the water with great garden dining available upon special request. 5) Good value at times. 6) Wonderful Christmas decorations. 7) Spacious standard rooms. Cons: 1) Senior management and Chef unresponsive consistently over time. 2) One of the slower check ins and consistently under-staffed in reception, insuring long waits. This time their system was down and not only did they not offer a welcome drink, they refused to give one upon request. 3) Longest taxi waits of any five star hotel we have stayed at - often going up to 15 minutes. 4) Management unresponsive to repeated requests to have an outdoor bench while waiting for taxi and to give taxis an incentive to stand by. 5) Senior Chef declined response to my e-mail encouraging more locally available fresh fruit and better labeling in the buffet. You will find canned pineapple, peaches and pears imported without fresh coconut, fresh mango and passion fruit which is easily available on the street. 6) Given that everything goes through the director who my girlfriend overheard changing his schedule specifically to avoid hearing any of my suggestions in person and little changes over time, I have the sense that great guest experience is held back by him, rather than facilitated by him. Almost any of the staff I talk to would love to make the needed changes but lack the authority to do so.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Historic and very clean!

Posted Nov 24, 2016
We love this hotel not just for its history but it's such a magnificent hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

クリスマスの装飾

Posted Nov 20, 2016
クリスマスの装飾が豪華で綺麗でした。 あさごはんのブッフェは本当に豪華でいろんな所にとまっていますが 今までで一番種類が多くて美味しくてまた行きたいです。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ansheim, CA

Felt like I was at home.

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Lots of friendly staff ready to help. Excellent food.
Cons: Bathroom faucet had minor water leak. Toilet handle would stick st times causing water flow sound.
Location: Well known hotel easy to access.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, England

A Five Star Hotel indeed!

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: The best part of our stay in this hotel is the positive attitude of the staff. They made us feel welcome like we were in our own family home.
Location: The hotel is just half an hour away from the NAIA AIRPORT (if there is no traffic) and situated in the heart of the city.
We were so happy that we stayed at the Manila Hotel because the hotel is in prestine condition. It looks so elegant, clean and well secured. Our room was spacious, cozy and have a nice view overlooking the Manila bay. They have musical entertainment every night and superb food. The best feature of the hotel is the staff. They were so courteous, caring and ever so helpful. Overall, we had the most wonderful time and we would certainly recommend this hotel to our friends and family.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Service and Staff; I feel like home.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: All of it awesome food, very beautiful hotel, locations and atmosphere!
Cons: None
Location: A lot of shopping and tasted all the delicious Filipino delicacies.
I feel like I'm home. Very comfortable and safe. Superb service and food. I love it! Definitely I will come back and stay in this Hotel. Highly recommended!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, United States of America

Comfortable and classy

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Ambiance and comfort.
Cons: Beds are too small.
Location: Too far from other outside restaurants.
Services are great! Decors are very classy. Old hotel but well maintained