Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay one night only

Posted Jul 12, 2017
They had no confirmation of my confirmed reservation. I was told this was not unusual, although I have never run into this problem in my travels before. When I booked my reservation through Expedia online, it showed there was only one room left. I reserved the room, and then it showed zero rooms left. Upon arriving at the hotel there were plenty of rooms. Hmmm. There is no central a/c. The room was very warm when I got there. It took the rest of the evening late into the night before the room itself was cooled by the room air conditioner. The bed was softer than I personally prefer but OK. The room was otherwise in good condition and clean, well-maintained. There was no coffee or juice in the breakfast bar area. (There was a coffeemaker in the room). The cereal was not in individual wrapped containers, but opened cereal boxes like you would have at home. All in all, a rather poor value. On the date that I reserved the room it was listed at $99. Not at all worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Manistee Inn and Marina, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. Had the Expedia reservation integrated we would have sure to make sure the air conditioner would have been on in your room to make it more comfortable. Juice is always in the breakfast area and coffee is on promptly at 8am every morning.
4 out of 5
by james

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017
Thank you
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by PHILLIP

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
WE HAD A GREAT TIME . RIGHT DOWNTOWN , PLENTY THINGS TO DO
5 out of 5
by Harry

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Great facility great host great area will stay again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
"Breakfast" was minimal at best...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Nice, clean, well-kept hotel in the center of town

Posted Dec 8, 2016
For a single-night stay in December on a Tuesday we were the hotel's only guests. The medium- small room was clean and well kept. The proprietor was pleasant and helpful. Parked next to the front door. Walked a block to the Bluefish Restaurant that was very nice, but also nearly empty. The "breakfast" was coffee and bagels, cereal available also. the breakfast room has no place to sit so you need to take it back to your room, but ours was across the hall so not inconvenient. We liked the convenience of being downtown.
3 out of 5
by Christy from Grand Rapids

Convenient

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
It was a good location, convenient to downtown. We were able to walk everywhere and took the shuttle to the casino. I think the water heater ran out of hot water and the water pressure was awful. So, the shower was not very refreshing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
The Inn and rooms were rather drab. Staff was nice, though.
2 out of 5
by Michael K.

It depends

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Orbitz
We come to Manistee on a yearly golf/beach holiday and, this time, we decided to try an inn at the center of town with a Marina, just for the quaint feel. We know that locally owned motels and hotels can have unexpected shortcomings but this one had more than its share. Since we prepaid the reservation on line we felt we we're locked in so we spent the two nights there. If we had wandered in we would have passed. We were put in a room in the basement that they call their first floor. The hallway had a strong musty smell. When we entered the room it was warm and humid. The room had an older wall unit air conditioner running at the window but wasn't really working. We even turned it down to sixty degrees to just get a little comfort. The windows were the old aluminum frames that were hard to open and close. The older curtains didn't fit the window and when we pulled them back the rod fell out of the wall! You couldn't call the desk because......there are no phones in the rooms! My husband went upstairs and told the man at the desk about the rod. The inn is run by a married couple who live on the premises. He immediately came down and fixed the rod and was very helpful. The room was clean and the king size bed was comfortable. The inn is across an alley from a marina. This facility would probably be best served for fisherman who want to share a room to get in a couple of days of fishing on Lake Michigan.