Ratings based on 466 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from harrison, mi

Posted Aug 10, 2017
The two nights we stayed overnight the cleaning staff showed up around 4 pm to ask if we needed anything, did not clean room or make beds since we were in the room. The day we checked out the cleaning crew was there by 11am as we were leaving to clean. This was during the week and the hotel did not appear to be packed. Also, NO refrigerator in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Fort Wayne

Nice hotel by lake, close to downtown

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Convenient location, excellent breakfast selection/quality/dining area, friendly staff, sufficient parking, walking paths, kid-friendly pool area.
Cons: Facility in general is a little dated and worn
Location: Maritime museum, 2 bigger cities a reasonable drive away, Beerntsen's for ice cream and candy.
Nice hotel, friendly staff, great breakfast selection during 4 day stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Great location!

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Would highly recommend. Great location as it is near downtown, on the lake, near maritime museum and viewing of the Badger coming in and going out. Fabulous morning breakfast along with a great breakfast room. Nice place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2017
It was perfect for us. Great value, great location for walking to restaurants and the bicycle trails were accessible right from the parking lot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Bad door

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Desk clerk was having a personal phone chat with her roommate. Had to wait 30 seconds for her to cut short her phone call. Our room #165 has a bad door. Had to struggle to open it. Wasn't installed properly. The deadbolt didn't match up with the holes on the frame,so we couldn't deadbolt the door. The smell upon entering the room was musty. Basically smell was from the air conditioner. On a positive note,room was clean,and the breakfast was excellent! Beautiful view of Lake Michigan behind the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The location next to Lake Michigan is wonderful. The hotel seems to have been refurbished recently. Every thing seemed clean and new. The breakfast offered extensive choices, and the breakfast room has beautiful views of the lake. Most of the staff were very friendly and efficient. Only the person behind the desk had zero personality. When we tried to enter a side entrance the second day, the key card did not work. When we went to the desk to have them recoded, the clerk acted as if we had done something stupid. This was the only poor experience in and otherwise wonderful stay in a good facility.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chippewa Falls, WI

Beautiful property on Lake Michigan.

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: The location and the view. The breakfast room is huge along with outdoor patio with a lot of seating.
Cons: Put refrigerators in all the rooms, and not just the even numbered rooms. Extend the breakfast hours to 10:00 a.m. The pool could have been cleaner.
Location: We love the location on the harbor. The Lake Michigan bike/walk path is in front of the hotel. The submarine museum and a great beach is nearby.
This was our second time at the hotel and we love the property and location. This time we had issues with not being able to get a refrigerator in our room which my diabetic husband needed to keep his insulin cool. They had fourth of July celebration on the grounds, open to the public, so parking in their lot became something of an issue. We still like the hotel and would stay again. The breakfast is good, but since the hotel is used primarily by vacationers I think they should extend the hours to 10:00 a.m.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitawoc, WI

Lovely experience!

Posted Jul 11, 2017
We were thrilled with location not only on the lake but also on the Manitawoc River, able to witness a ship going through the draw bridges- a rare sight we were told. The tug pushing two barges of huge boulders followed closely behind. Great staff, lovely clean room, nice sauna and big pool. Would have loved to have the window open for fresh lake air and the night sounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stop by

Posted Jul 10, 2017
We stoped there after a long road trip, It is a nice place, friendly and well located to some eateries.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lakefront view

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The hotel is very out dated which is so unfortunate being right on the lake. House keeping was questionable! Not sure we would stay again. Hopefully Baymont can turn this hotel around into something special. The patio viewing the lake could use some ambiance, outside living space with couches, gas fireplaces would be a great recommendation!