Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Qatar

Minus 5 Star Hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Extremely horrible check in wth unqualified unwelcoming staff arrogant staff, no qualities of 5 star hotel except for the design and lay out. Never ever will go or recommend this place to anyone .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down and overpriced, but staff are friendly

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
This resort is about 30 mins drive by taxi to Pondicherry. The cab will be relatively expensive but there isn't much choice. The Hotel itself does not have many non Indian guests so is not really geared up for "foreigners". It is in very poor condition, with little or nothing having been spent on maintenance in the last 20+ years. Doubt it would pass any safety checks. The staff are friendly but do not speak good/much english which can lead to problems. The pool is dilapidated with the in pool bar having fallen into disrepair some years ago. The rack rates are laughable for the quality of accommodation. Power cuts are common. Alcohol is served but the seemingly extensive wine menu is not in reality that extensive with a lot being "not available". There is a variety of animals roaming freely over the site - turkeys, guinea fowl, geese. There are goats as well but they managed to stay tethered! There is access to a beach but its not private and there are no umbrellas for the fairer skinned.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Bad Experience at Ocean Spray

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The hotel should check the rooms to see if everything is working before alloting the room.
Location: Was not able to do anything. Please see above about the issues we had.
Case ID number: M 11403819 & M11403877 Itin#14945109692 This is with ref. to my stay at Ocean Spray. I had the following issues with my stay and request you to process a refund for the entire amount. We got room 206 alloted to us.When we arrived at the place and got the access cards, we had lunch and came back to the room.The access cards were not working the door was not opening. The staff took about 30 minutes to get it working. The room Air conditioner was not working and so was the television. We had technicians in the room all along trying to rectify the issue. Later on after we returned from swimming and wanted to use the toilets for a shower there was no water for close to 2 hours. The front desk informed us that there is a major pipe breakage and it will take a long time for the water to be restored. The Sunday lunch buffet was re-served for dinner with just a few alternations to the food. 75% of it was the same food served during lunch. This was very disappointing. The front desk did change the room for us to room to 204 in the evening. We wasted a lot of time shifting the room. We request you to refund the amount as nothing was working in the hotel. Rather than having a holiday we were in the room all the time trying to get basic facilities to work. We have never experienced such a bad stay in any hotel before. Kindly refund my amount.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NEW DELHI, INDIA

SO MUCH POTENTIAL!

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: This is a great location for families with small kids. They have a hobby farm, lots of outdoor space for the kids to run, a playground and the pool.
Cons: Fix broken tiles & finishing's, upgrade toiletries, add cloth napkins at dinner table & dim the lights, add bartender at pool bar, offer a shuttle
We decided on a last minute long weekend and booked a flight and hotel package through Expedia. Not realizing it was a three hour cab ride from the Chennai airport, we decided to site see on the way there. When we finally arrived at Ocean Spray, we were amazed at the size and beauty of the property. We discovered soon after that there is a village separating the resort and the ocean - NO BEACH ACCESS. This village plays music and stories over the loud speaker for hours at all times of the day - NOT QUIET. The rooms were large, and if the finishing's and flooring were installed correctly could have been quite lovely. There was a large brown stain on our top blanket which was quickly changed. We stayed in a "heaven suite" which has a large Jacuzzi tub on the balcony (that we didn't use). The oversized pool is wonderful, but like most areas of the resort, NEEDS SOME TENDER LOVING CARE. There are four large pool bar's with fountains separating each, unfortunately all of them are abandoned and untidy and at least one bar stool was missing the top seat exposing sharp edges and wiring. In addition to fixing the broken seats and the off broken tile, stocking one bar and playing music at the pool would be an easy upgrade welcome by guests. We noticed a strong musty smell when visiting the spa, perhaps a dehumidifier or air purifier will help. Taxi rates were ridiculous. Perhaps offer a shuttle to the French Quarter for guests. COMFORTABLE BEDS, GOOD FOOD, GREAT STAFF
3 out of 5
by Leon from Manchester, UK

Has the potential...

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel has the potential to be excellent, however it is: Run down, customer service at front desk is poor, check out is 10am and wouldn't allow late check out, room is basic and not worth the cost, breakfast is poor, pool bar was not open - these are some of the main issues. Grounds are lovely, huge pool and comfy beds. Something else to bear in mind is there is no direct access to the beach from the hotel... And to get there is a 15minute walk through a village... There is also no one on the beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bangalore

Beach access not good

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Traveling 350kms to a beach holiday @ ocean spray is not worth the effort as we could hardly be on the beach. Beach is accessible by walking out of this property through a village, and there are fishing boats parked all along the beach. Plus the beach is quite dirty as it is used as a toilet. I booked this via expedia but found better price at makemytrip, so if you are looking at this do chkout other offerings. The price match claim is not really honored. The property itself is nice and spread across 25 acres. Pool, lawn, children's activity are very nice. Food is ordinary. As the place has a huge man made lake and we can use the paddle boat in it. We stayed in the Bermuda villa, nice room but had lots of mosquitoes that made it difficult to relax. Food is ordinary, though they have a huge spread in the buffet the dishes were quite bland and flavorless. I have stayed at other hotels in Pondicherry among which zest club mahindra had really nice private beach.
4 out of 5
by Abhijit from in

nice family option near pondy

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels
nice pleasant gateway near pondy. highlight is the jaccuzi in the balcony on the top floor. Very nice swimming pool and about 15kms from pondy city. food is above average. not much to choose from as only one restaurant. one small cafe. but than in pondy there are tons of amazing options.
5 out of 5
by Suzanne from Washington, DC

Luxury Cottage with Lake View

Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels
I only stayed here because every other hotel in Pondicherry was booked. What a surprise! First it is a beautiful property with comfy, luxury rooms. There is the main hotel rooms in a semi circle and then a man-made lake in the middle. Around the lake they have put individual rooms or cottages and this is what I stayed in. You wake up to a large picture window and view of water and palm trees. The breakfast room is also placed in the middle of the lake so you can sit and eat and have a calming meal. There are large gold koi or carp in the water to look at as well. The only drawback for the cottages would be if you have walking issues although they have a little golf cart to take you and your baggage there. This was the only place I stayed where they had real donuts. Even though I don't eat them much it was a welcome break from two weeks of sambar and chutney for breakfast at some other places. Be it know you are not in Puducherry but several miles up the room so you will have to drive to get to town. A wonderful place for a honeymoon or relaxing weekend. I would stay again and do it for at least two days.
5 out of 5
by Kenneth from Bangalore

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent facility. Lake side view was really relaxing. Room was well equipped with facilities. Brilliant pool. A hard bed option would have helped since the bed was too soft.
4 out of 5
by Sanjay Mehta from Mumbai

A decent getaway..

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels
Had a relaxing stay at Ocean Spray in Pondicherry. Nice property, good rooms.. I would recommend it..