Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Hotel was outdated and dirty.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Location was good. Next to other hotels and restaurants.
Check-in was easy but once we got to our room we were very disappointed. One bed had hair and stains on the sheets. There was a sheet of plastic underneath the sheets as well. Our towels had dark stains on them and the air conditioner was extremely noisy. The beds were not comfortable and the bedding looked very old. We were not impressed with this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Cleanliness and safety not acceptable

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Bathroom was not thoroughly clean. Room smelled like mildew. No elevators for my elderly mom. Had a ramp but was pretty strenuous for her. Outside entrances were not well lit or not lit at all. Missed a step in the dark. Luckily no injuries. Road side sign was not lit up at all so had a hard time finding the hotel. Had to stop at a gas station to inquire about its location. Room type not available as promised. Very disappointed over all.
3 out of 5
by kelsey from greenville,ky

3★

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
The room was too small for my family. There was trash from previous occupant in the refrigerator. The shower curtain was dirty. Bed/pillows were not very comfy. But the location was good and the price was too.
2 out of 5
by Amy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Not good

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Room smelled musty / moldy. Building needs maintenance.
1 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Rochester, MN

Look Elsewhere When Visiting New Ulm

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
We were travelling to New Ulm for a wedding and only needed a place to sleep. I've stayed at Econo Lodges elsewhere and had great experiences. Unfortunately, that wasn't the case here. Although the rooms were quiet, they were humid the whole time. Both rooms had a distinct odor (couldn't quite place it), and the entire hotel smelled like they were trying to cover bad smells with a multitude of air fresheners. The scent was powerful, but just added to the problem. At check in, the two desk staff were too busy discussing an issue to even acknowledge us at first. The check in process was quick and painless, but not exactly welcoming. This hotel doesn't have adjoining rooms, but they did accommodate our request to have the rooms closely located (directly across the hall from each other). The rooms weren't exactly dirty, but didn't feel or look all that clean either. The final straw was missing out on breakfast. The hotel advertises the hours as 6-10 a.m. on Saturdays, and the staff was closing everything down by 9 a.m. Thankfully, New Ulm offers many delicious options for food; but the breakfast was one of the reasons I chose this hotel. Even though we only need a place to sleep, this was a big disappointment and a waste of money. I'm glad I've had better experiences at Econo Lodges elsewhere, or I'd never consider the hotel chain again based on this encounter.
2 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Yvonne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Darold

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
The bathroom needs a good cleaning....the room itself was okay... Need bigger space for eating area....short on tables and chairs... Good selection of food...