Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Harold from Poynette Wisconsin

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
It was short but great
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great location grocery store.

Posted Mar 1, 2016
For the price it was very good. Clean, breakfast was just fine. Coffee could have tasted better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Breakfast

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Poor seating and set up for a very small continental breakfast. Seating area smelled like an ash tray because of staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Always need to worry when the parking lot is empty

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: Nothing really
Cons: Put air cleaners in your smoking rooms and invest in good pillows.
Location: Location was fine.
When we got to the hotel the parking lot was empty. When we got to our room we were met with an overpowering smell of air fresher and stall smoke. The ash tray in the room was dirty. There were only 3 rather small, hard pillows on the bed. The room heater made a very strange ticking sound that had you wondering if it was going to start on fire. In the morning the sidewalk in the back was not cleared of snow that I believe blew on it from the roof. When we went to check on breakfast and commented that it did not include eggs - so let, the young women made a snide remark that I'm sure she did not believe we heard. There was nothing wrong with the breakfast - just not what we were looking for, we did not complain or address the comment to her - there was no need for the remark.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, MN

Staff gave conflicting information on cost

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Location: Visit the Used Books and Espresso shop downtown-- wonderful white chocolate mocha!
I booked online through Expedia for a two-night stay, but there was no place that I could see to indicate that I was bringing my small dog. She's quiet and laid-back. Just after checking in, I returned to the desk, remembering that I had not indicated I had a dog with me, and I wanted to have that cost added to my bill. The check in clerk said that he would just mark my room for a dog, and switched my room, but said he would not charge me extra. I thanked him, but upon getting in my room, I read in the hotel ring binder that there is no charge for dogs anyway, so I felt kind of funny about his nice gesture. Upon checking out two days later, a different staff surprised me by charging me an additional $20 for my dog. I let him know that the other clerk had waived the fee and that the notebook appeared to indicate there was no charge anyway, but he insisted on the extra charge. It wasn't handled well. Additionally, my room had a very loud blower on the heater, which was on continuously even when the room had achieved the selected temperature. Finally, my room was not cleaned on my second day there. I had my "do not disturb" sign out until 10:30 a.m., but I thought that it certainly could have been attended to sometime after I removed the sign. I regret to say that on my next trip to New Ulm, which has much to offer for history/architecture buffs, I will pay a little more and book elsewhere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay
4 out of 5
by Paul from Fort Dodge Iowa

Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
Love staying there the people r nice and helpful
3 out of 5
by Larry from Onalaska

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
Mixup with smoking room at first Then keys miskeyed.heater only partially worked...finally warm hours later. Couple of light switches didn't work.Did adjust bill.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Merrillan, Wisconsin

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Convenient for activities at MLC
Cons: Hotel staff need to man the desk at all times!
Location: Several restaurants near by.
Completely satisfied with the location and the facilites for our short stay in New Ulm. Would stay there again. It was also the cheapest. Close to activities at Martin Luther College.
2 out of 5
by John H.

Not good

Posted Nov 21, 2015 on Orbitz
The room reeked of smoke and was cold. The place is generally run down and in need of updating. It was cheap, though, and I was trying to save money. I guess you get what you pay for and would not make this choice again in New Ulm.