Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Class reunion

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Staff replaced tv remote. Only one bar of soap in the bathroom
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Dirty, bathroom falling apart, dust everywhere.

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: READ COMMENTS ABOVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Location: Did not care what was near by.
Place had dust thick enough to write in all the way around the room against the walls and under the air conditioner. Bathroom is falling apart. Room very, very small for the price. Could hear the people just talking in the next room through the walls. The elevator reeked of cigarette smoke and was supposed to be not smoking. Very bad experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from North Dakota

Typical economy stay

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: Breakfast room and low price.
Cons: Upkeep on the pool area. More attention to maintenance items in room.
Location: We were visiting family and did not sample many of the local attractions.
Where do I start to fill the space. We had a suite this time, and the extra space was nice compared to the standard room we had last time. There was zero hope of fitting anything into the freezer compartment of the dorm-sized refrigerator as it was completely filled with frost build-up. The cover was open on the smoke detector and the battery was missing. The continental breakfast was adequate, but often times had to wait or request that it be restocked. It seemed like they were afraid to put out too much food. They were nice enough to allow us the use of the breakfast room when it was not busy. Also the kids had fun in the pool although I would not recommend the hot tub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Nice quite night

Posted Mar 8, 2016
This hotel is very nice and clean. The staff was awesome. I have nothing but good things to say.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Negaunee

Good location. Noisy. Walls very thin.

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Door to room had about an inch gap so all the hallway noise came right in. Breakfast was available but not great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean Hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Pros: Clean
The hotel closed the dining area where you could sit and eat breakfast. I did not enjoy having to stand and try to eat my breakfast. Also, did not get any of the national news networks (CNN, Foxnews, etc.)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Boo..not a fan

Posted Feb 19, 2016
This place had very small rooms, thin walls (I could heat the guy in the next room cough), stiff pillows, rough sheets and POOR customer service. While getting me miniscule breakfast the staff was speaking loudly and cursing. Won't be staying here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Same price as others but disappointing.

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Was given a smoking room and was not offered an alternative even though they had available options. Room was clean and staff was pleasant just not accommodating. The breakfast was a joke.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Room smelled, mold in bathroom, room very small. Breakfast was small and not any choice
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saint Paul, MN

Inhospitable Staff. Unforgivable Grime

Posted Nov 21, 2015
Pros: The bed was okay, as was the AC unit in the room.
Cons: The dreadful level of cleanliness. The dismal customer service. The pathetic Internet speeds/bandwith. The TV quality.
Location: New Ulm is awesome and the Schell's Brewery rocks!
My dissatisfaction with the Microtel in New Ulm can be traced directly to the unwelcoming, unaccommodating, and uncaring staff of the hotel's front desk. They failed to mention at check-in that the pool and spa area were closed for repairs--which was a major disappointment--and the entire check-in process was handled in a cold, unwelcoming manner. I requested a later check-out time upon arrival and was told I would need to ask the staff in the morning if that would be okay. The staff in the morning rudely said that it would NOT be okay and seemed unaware of my previous request, which was annoying. I held my tongue and decided to take a shower. When I stepped into the shower, however, I slipped on the soap-scummy bottom of the tub and nearly fell. It was the least relaxing shower I've ever had at a hotel because it was so slimy and slippery. Add that to the dreadfully slow Internet speeds, the standard-definition cable TV on a HD-readyTV (seriously! buy the right cables, Microtel!), the carpet being very dusty along all the walls in the room, the second-hand smoke drifting into my NON-smoking room, the meager breakfast, and the filthy bed scarf on the bed, and I couldn't hold my tongue any longer. At check-out I brought up the issue about the pool and more importantly, the issue with the slippery shower, and was met with a lack of concern. The clerk said there was "nothing she could do" and that since I booked through Expedia, she wouldn't even attempt to remedy the situation.