Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Posted Apr 16, 2018
Spent the weekend in Manly staying at manly guest hotel. Very clean place. No hassle or noise during the night. The location is great. One block from the beach and 5 mins walking to Corso!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2018 by Louisa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us.. We hope that you do return in the futrure, safe travels..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from coogee nsw

Outstanding

Posted Mar 4, 2018
I had a mishap and accidentally misplaced my key. I was so impressed with the wonderful service and how prompt the owners came to let me in. Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2018 by Louisa, Hotel Management
Thank you Neisha for your review - we hope the Hens party went well and you all had a great night!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AL, USA

Nice hostel close to the beach.

Posted Mar 2, 2018
Nice hostel close to the beach and restaurants. We stayed a couple of nights. We had a double room with bunk beds. The room was pretty small but the only time we were in it was to sleep so it was ok. No air conditioning so it can get a little warm. Good internet connection.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2018 by Louisa , Hotel Management
Thank you Roxanne for your review..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2018
Too expensive for what they offer. Very small room for more than one person, no fly screens or security windows. Very noisy as we had room next to kitchen, there shouldn't be a bedroom there at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2018 by Reception , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we are reviewing all room configurations and rates that are currently being offered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

Nice, close to centre

Posted Dec 30, 2017 on Wotif
Dev was great. Nice welcome Simple room (please fix toilet) Great restraunt Ruby Lane across road
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2018 by manager, Hotel Management
thanks for reviewing :)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Hot box with stained sheets

Posted Dec 26, 2017 on Wotif
No A/C - room was a furnace with the afternoon sun. Sweated all night and had a terrible sleep. Sheets were stained. Would never stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2017 by manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. It is summer in Sydney and we have had some very warm weather. It is true, we do not have a/c, however, every room has ceiling fans. If we had a/c, the price would need to rise and a lot of people would not be able to afford to stay in Manly. We do not use stained sheets, if sheets do not look clean and fresh after laundering, they are thrown out.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Give me back my $$

Posted Dec 12, 2017 on Wotif
Room positioned next to a commercial refrigerator on full tilt complete with repetitive hum and oscillating rattle vibrating thru walls. When the chinese tourists finished cooking a 6course beef meal at 11pm I shut the kitchen doors to dull some of the noise and managed a few hours broken sleep before someone opened them again at 430am. Night manager was super nice but otherwise what a dump, better off dropping $25 in a backpacker dorm room. Nobody was there at checkout to query the logic of charging $80 for this torture. Most people would feel guilty for taking someones money for this kind of dump
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by manager, Hotel Management
Wow! So sorry to hear that you didn't have a pleasant stay. The night manager would have happily moved you to a different room if the kitchen disturbed you, had you told her, but I must say I have never had a complaint about the fridge noise from a room before. You will not find backpacker beds for $25 at this time of year. Our office hours are clearly stated, so if you had wanted to see someone, you could have waited, called later or answered when I tried to call you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Little Ramschakle

Posted Dec 7, 2017 on Wotif
Manly guest house has a prime location - one of best in Sydney - but walking in you lose the experience. It's cheap and reasonable clean, so perfect for the Brazilian Backpacker, but it feels worn the the staff there - while putting on a brave face - do not seem enamored with working there. I saw a for sale sign up on the building while there so looks to be sold soon. Not sure if it will be continued or the site developed into apartments (the latter I suspect). Get in quick if you are after cheap, clean accom next to one of the best beaches in Australia - just don't look for any personality within the 4 walls - find it outside.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by manager, Hotel Management
Hi, thanks for the review. I assure you, after 12 years of blood, sweat and tears, we love this place and are in many ways sorry to be leaving soon, however, we do take our role of host very seriously and enjoy making your stay the best it can be. Not sure why you would think we weren't friendly. Heads up, the guesthouse will remain, after having been purchased by a lovely family who are very experienced in running accommodation.
4 out of 5
by Mark

Good low cost basic accommodation in Manly

Posted Dec 1, 2017 on Hotels
Manly Guest House provided a good low cost option for one night's stay in an excellent location close to the beach and Manly CBD and convenient public transport. Good value for a basic standard of accommodation, and I had no problems at all there - cleanliness and security were fine, and staff helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thanks for you feedback We look forward to welcoming you agains
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Posted Nov 16, 2017 on Wotif
Peaceful and comfortable. Lovely accommodating staff. Close to beach and shops. Clean and tidy. Great price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2017 by manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the lovely feedback