Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love this place

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Lastminute
Super friendly owners with the most affordable, comfortable and clean place stay on the beach in Manly!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for this great review. We aim to please and appreciate your feedback.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

It was a cheap convenient over night stopover

Posted May 22, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Cheap
An old building - the room was clean and tidy but was up at the top of two flights of steep stairs - not easy for two old people. Also the lack of any reasonable parking was a problem - we had to find an over night parking space some distance away and walk to the accommodation with our luggage - we then had to drive away from the parking slot the following morning before the parking restrictions kicked in. Not a particularly upmarket experience but reasonably OK for our one off stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Noisy hostel close to beach

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The quilt cover was pretty
Cons: If backpackers reside on the premises ensure they have a curfew for the common area. Ensure that curtains fit the windows.
Location: Everything is close by.
I chose to stay at this Guest House over the Easter period because it had a room available, was close to all amenities and was inexpensive. When I arrived I couldn't access the building to check in because I arrived sligtly after 5pm and the Night Manager was in the shower. I had to call Expedia to locate him. Unfortunately, being situated close to the common room, I was subjected to extreme noise levels until all hours of the morning and could barely rest. I found it necessary to check out early and rent a room elsewhere on my third night just to get some sleep. My room was like a cell block and I felt claustrophobic. The room was also located next to a walkway for guests to access the upper floors and the curtain at my window didn't fit the space. I was conscious of people being able to see into my room, so taped up the curtains to the frames with ductape. The bathrooms were pretty shabby. I know it's cheap, but it could be a little more cheerful. Not at all impressed with the whole experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Melissa, Hotel Management
I am so sorry our night supervisor was in the shower when you arrived - bad timing. We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay, I wish you had spoken to us so that we could have tried to make you more comfortable. Some of our rooms are small but we also have some lovely larger rooms. I am surprised at your comments on our bathrooms as they have been renovated recently. Hopefully you will give us another try and perhaps book a queen room which is large and lovely
3 out of 5
by Matthew

OK AT THE START

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
NICE PLACE
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Staff
It was extremely bad. Hotel location is good but it is too small and too old. Shared bathrooms and very small and un-comfortable rooms. In general I don't recommend this hotel for any family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Sorry that you didn;t enjoy your stay but we do thank you for the feedback. We have specific family rooms which are very comfortable for family groups.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room for improvement

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: Kitchen and lounge area
Cons: Outside awning over front door
Location: Manly. Convenient to walk to everything. Beach, shops and restaurants
We arrived on Friday night (7pm) it was raining heavily. The door was locked and there was no outside covering over the front door entrance. My 2 children and I were soaked to the bone while I was trying to call the out of hours number. The manager was very nice once we were allowed inside but it would help your guests when there is heavy rain to have even a small awning over the front entrance. Also, we were awoken the next morning by a terrible smell. A guest upstairs had diarrhoead all the way down the upstairs hallway and it took quite a long time for staff to clean it. Guests had to step over all the mess.
3 out of 5
by kerrie john

Manly

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Was just ok
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Posted Mar 25, 2017
I've recently had to stay and it's the best experience ever the staff are great and the night sraff are excellent too
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible and misleading

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: Accessible
Cons: Bigger rooms better bedding
Location: Closse to everything
No bathroom in the room, it was shared. No air conditioning and the window had no screen. The bunk beds squeaked every time you moved quite uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Beautiful Hotel ... Greatest Staff ....

Posted Mar 21, 2017
From the moment I picked up the phone to make a booking EXCELLENCE and RESPECT Rooms were amazing ! Highly recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for this lovely review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay :)