Ratings based on 1,066 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views staff were very helpful and courteous

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Great view's very relaxing break so close to the city only downfall was the room seemed set up for sleeping an armchair or small lounge would have a gpod addition
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW

Great View

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The view and location. The ambience of the accommodation. The restaurant. The peacefulness.
Location: Manly and the beach. Close to public transport. Walks
We found the accommodation clean and very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and willing to assist where possible. The view was amazing and the facility well within walking distance of Manly. There were plenty of walks around the facility and the dining room was very high quality with delicious food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a good place for vacation

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: service
Location: close to manly city
The room is clean. The bed is comfortable. The buffet breakfast includes different types of delicious food. This hotel makes me feel like living in a coastal town as it was equipped with museum, restaurant, beach and so on.
4 out of 5
by lindsey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW

Know what you're getting

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Isolation, peace and quiet, walking tracks, spacious room.
Cons: Attention to detail on the little things - toiletries must be stocked properly, plenty of tea / coffee / sugar and milk, close the fridge door.
This was meant to be a retreat getaway, which it was. We arrived in the rain so were keen to get settled into our room with a hot bath. However, on check in, I discovered the room I'd booked had a detached bathroom. I had to pay for an upgrade, so know that before you book a standard or heritage room. The restaurants were closed for renovations, which was a bit of an inconvenience, and the room service menu was pretty paltry, especially if you have any kind of dietary issues. The room was serviced, but the staff appeared to think that one cup of tea of coffee was adequate for 2 adults staying for 2 days and nights. We had to practically beg for more milk, sugar and tea bags (lucky I take my own wherever I go). The toiletries were also not properly stocked when we arrived. The staff member we asked for extra supplies was very put out by our requests. The common areas, like guest lounges and games rooms are tired and uninviting and in desperate need of some TLC. The property itself is wonderful for getting out and learning about our past, however, and we certainly enjoyed ourselves doing so. It was certainly an experience, and I'm pleased I've stayed there, but it's not something I would do again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morisset

Great place to stay close to Manly

Posted May 18, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Close to Manly
Cons: n/a
Location: Manly beach and shops, hiking to N Head
Will return soon. Great place to walk. Interesting history.
5 out of 5
by Robert

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was amazing. The accommodation was very comfortable, the facilities great and the outlook to die for. Breakfast most enjoyable, as was the cafe at the wharf. The Boilerhouse experience for dinner was the best food we have eaten in a long time. All of the staff were friendly and helped make our stay most enjoyable. We will most certainly return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Below expectations

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Wotif
Very expensive for very basic accommodation. Understand its a refit of the historic buildings but some rooms are literally a bed and bathroom with an outlook to the public toilets.
4 out of 5
by Roxann

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
More information at the reception would be great, great view, great service, would have booked for longer if We knew there was so much to see/ tour. The toilets smelt. Would have been good to know that you could not drive to your room considering we had 3 small children, although the shuttle service was very efficient we still had a lot to carry. It is a lovely venue and we would definitely come again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W

A few things went wrong

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Wotif
Ordered dinner through room service so family could eat on the veranda. Took close to 2 hours unfortunately 1 child fell asleep waiting. Took 3 ph calls to reception before it arrived. This happened the last time as well.