Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Booked because of the pool for our 5 year old

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: 2 Queen beds
Cons: Don't mix smoking & non-smoking rooms on the same floor. Just about any change to the breakfast would be an improvement.
Location: Cochocton is a good location with multiple restaurant selections nearby.
We normally stay at another hotel when visiting in-laws, but needed a more budget friendly place this trip. Since it has a pool & we traveled with our 5 year old son, we booked Super 8. Location is fine but it was not worth the $75/night weekday or $95/night weekend rates. We had a room with 2 Queens which was sized well for my husband and I in one and our son in the other, with a fridge/freezer and microwave. Lousy included breakfast with bad coffee over by 9am. My main complaint was the funky (seemingly quite dirty) carpet and the smell of smoke. We had a non-smoking room but I guarantee it has not always been a non smoking room. There were other rooms on our floor that were smoking rooms, so the entire floor smelled like smoke and especially down the hallway close to the pool where the wall vent seems to be blowing smoke IN and not OUT. I swear it smelled like someone was on the other side of the vent blowing smoke into it so the incoming air wreaked. I am a reformed smoker and don't normally care about a small whiff but this was BAD. There are two floors, 1 ice machine, 0 elevators. Not sure how it can be ADA compliant.They still use a credit card imprinter which makes me nervous in the age of ID theft. Talk about outdated. Also - the Super 8 general 800# gave us different answers to our questions than when we spoke to an associate at the front desk, so if you don't like what 1 tells you then ask the other. What a waste of time & energy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Better than expected

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Not a "high class " hotel, but was a better stay than I anticipated. Worked out great for us
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NW Ohio

Comfortable two day stay

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: Rate and location.
Cons: It would be nice if cleaning staff would say hello. The breakfast supplies should be monitored and stocked appropriately.
Location: The location is nicely centered between Amish Country and shopping in Columbus. A state park is also nearby.
The rate made this an acceptable stay. Location is great. Bed was good and we slept really well. Arrived at breakfast at around 8:40 and gallon of milk was setting out on counter by cereal. Display for cinnamon rolls but none to be found. Four apples in a basket. Waffle machine worked well. Room had frig with freezer unit. Room temp was comfortable. Having read other reviews we were apprehensive about smoke (we hate it) but it was not a problem. Freshly paved parking area was nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

reeked

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Staff was very nice.
Did not realize I would need to specify non-smoking room. The room as well as the hallways reeked of cigarette smoke. The receptionist sprayed for the odor again, but it still smelled badly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Watch out for Indentity theft here

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Made my reservation with my credit card upon arrival was asked to present this card. Not a problem this is typical but after swiping my card the clerk then proceeds to make a copy of my credit card when I asked why he said that is their policy because people in the past have denied their charges to the credit card company and they need proof to go after their money so they keep a Xerox copy of all credit cards. I disagreed and made him give me the copy he had just made. I was able to pay in cash for the room which he required no deposit. So if you plan on staying here take enough cash to cover your room. I am however waiting on the $101 to come off of my credit card as he still ran the card and charged that to me as well. As far as the rest of the hotel very heavily smoked in rooms you could smell it throughout the building especially strong in the lobby area. I will say however the two rooms we were in you could not smell smoke and they were clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Hotel had convenient location

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Convenient location in Mount Vernon.
Cons: The hotel should not be booked as non-smoking, because the hallways, stairways and lobby all smelled like smoke.
Location: Convenient to Mount Vernon; lots of places to eat nearby.
I would not recommend this hotel to my friends. Although the room we stayed in was nice and roomy, the hotel reeked of cigarette smoke. Even though our room was posted as non-smoking, there was still a smoky odor in the room and bedding. If we had another option, we would have stayed elsewhere. I do not plan to return to this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Smelled of stale smoke. Wasn't the cleanest place I've ever stayed
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2015
As a non-smoker, I did not enjoy the smell of smoke that existed in every room of this hotel. We requested a non-smoking room, got a non-smoking room and yet it I still struggled to breath for the aroma of smoke that existed everywhere. If you suffer with breathing difficulties do not go here. If you are a regular smoker, don't bother buying any - just breath the air for free!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Not so great

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Hallway was filthy, room was freezing and took forever to warm up after heat turned on, sheets were paper thin, blankets had multiple cigarette burns in them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice enough hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Convenience of location
Cons: smell and noisy toilets
Location: shopping and movie theatre
I have stayed at this hotel 4 times now. My only complaint is the smell. Hallways are the worst. The toilets are very loud, you can wake up the whole room with a flush. Other then that, not a bad place to stay.