Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Painesville

Nice place to lay your head

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: Close to my work. Clean. Fridge and microwave. Spacious room, comfortable bed
Cons: Nothing I can think of
Location: Only there for work, so not sure of nearby attractions, but I think Kokosing trail is not too far.
I needed a place to spend the night before working an early clinic in Mt Vernon. Was pleasantly surprised- a little hesitation on my part after reading about the smoking odors other people had to deal with. In the rooms nearest the lobby I could smell it near the smoking rooms, but my room had no odor, but it was at the other end of the hall. Room was spacious, clean, had flat screen TV. Microwave and fridge were fine. bed was comfortable. Walls a little thin- I could hear kids across the hall screeching away.Didn't use the pool but it looked clean and nice. Lots of restaurants nearby. All in all I'd say it's a good value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Adequate for our needs. Seems like the motel needs some serious rehab and that may be happening. The price was worth the accommodation issue. Staff was eager to be of service too.
3 out of 5
by Rense P.

Basic Accomodations

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on CheapTickets
I was looking for a cheap but clean place to crash for the night rather than ride well into the night to get home. This motel fit the bill nicely. Nothing fancy but the room was clean. They even provided a basic continental breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norwalk, oh

comfy beds, needs a slight improvement

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: the beds were awesome.
Cons: A bit better trained desk people. Map of where the rooms are, install an elevator for the second floor. Better deordorized rooms.
Location: We attended Swappers Day in a nearby town of Johnstown. A huge flea market though it was hot, the room had air so that helped. Plenty of food nearby
The lady that checked us in was not clear in where we should go to get to our room. She only charged our card to let us in the room for one day when we paid for 2. The room reeked of smoke. So I used my perfume in spots and it improved it alot. I communicated the difficulties to the lady, different, when we checked out and it was well received. I used to housekeep so I know how the business is conducted and told them that. The beds were soooo comfy that sleeping was not an issue. Internet was unsecure however it was Time Warner so all was good. It is funny how we slum it now when watching tv. we get way more channels at home. lol Very enjoyable trip and will consider it again if we can get it for a better price.
5 out of 5
by River Putnam

Fine

Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Orbitz
It was a very adequate accommodation. It is not fancy or elegant. It is nicely located in a commercial part of Mt Venon and is not too far from downtown Mt Vernon or Kenyon College in Gambier.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Booked because of the pool for our 5 year old

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: 2 Queen beds
Cons: Don't mix smoking & non-smoking rooms on the same floor. Just about any change to the breakfast would be an improvement.
Location: Cochocton is a good location with multiple restaurant selections nearby.
We normally stay at another hotel when visiting in-laws, but needed a more budget friendly place this trip. Since it has a pool & we traveled with our 5 year old son, we booked Super 8. Location is fine but it was not worth the $75/night weekday or $95/night weekend rates. We had a room with 2 Queens which was sized well for my husband and I in one and our son in the other, with a fridge/freezer and microwave. Lousy included breakfast with bad coffee over by 9am. My main complaint was the funky (seemingly quite dirty) carpet and the smell of smoke. We had a non-smoking room but I guarantee it has not always been a non smoking room. There were other rooms on our floor that were smoking rooms, so the entire floor smelled like smoke and especially down the hallway close to the pool where the wall vent seems to be blowing smoke IN and not OUT. I swear it smelled like someone was on the other side of the vent blowing smoke into it so the incoming air wreaked. I am a reformed smoker and don't normally care about a small whiff but this was BAD. There are two floors, 1 ice machine, 0 elevators. Not sure how it can be ADA compliant.They still use a credit card imprinter which makes me nervous in the age of ID theft. Talk about outdated. Also - the Super 8 general 800# gave us different answers to our questions than when we spoke to an associate at the front desk, so if you don't like what 1 tells you then ask the other. What a waste of time & energy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p

Better than expected

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Not a "high class " hotel, but was a better stay than I anticipated. Worked out great for us
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NW Ohio

Comfortable two day stay

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: Rate and location.
Cons: It would be nice if cleaning staff would say hello. The breakfast supplies should be monitored and stocked appropriately.
Location: The location is nicely centered between Amish Country and shopping in Columbus. A state park is also nearby.
The rate made this an acceptable stay. Location is great. Bed was good and we slept really well. Arrived at breakfast at around 8:40 and gallon of milk was setting out on counter by cereal. Display for cinnamon rolls but none to be found. Four apples in a basket. Waffle machine worked well. Room had frig with freezer unit. Room temp was comfortable. Having read other reviews we were apprehensive about smoke (we hate it) but it was not a problem. Freshly paved parking area was nice.
5 out of 5
by Betsy H.

family trip

Posted Jun 8, 2015 on Orbitz
Had a nice family wedding to attend and motel was in perfect location.staff was kind clean rooms.will stay again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

reeked

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Staff was very nice.
Did not realize I would need to specify non-smoking room. The room as well as the hallways reeked of cigarette smoke. The receptionist sprayed for the odor again, but it still smelled badly.