Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
We had a very pleasant stay at the Agora Residenza recently. Our room (small apartment) had facilities for cooking and although it was on the second floor, the lovely receptionist helped us up with our luggage, very thoughtful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mantova Gem

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
great central location, all sights and restaurants are a short walk and several excellent restaurants are just steps from Agora Residenza. Room was an apartment with sitting area, small kitchen, bed and bath Cristina is a gracious hostess and provided a good orientation to Mantova as well as recommendations for activities and local eating establishments. Breakfast is a special treat and I won't spoil what was a pleasant surprise for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Dorchester

Hidden gem

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: The welcome and the location.
Cons: The front door, its fittings and the entry corridor need freshening up.
Location: The castello and palazzo ducale must be seen, as well as the Duomo, St Antonio Basilica and the Lorenzo Rotunda. Take the walk out to the Palazzo Te.
Alessandro and his daughter could not be more welcoming even though we'd changed our arrival times at the last minute. He took such pains to explain all essentials, while she had earlier emailed me with detailed directions from the station. Even so, we had difficulties finding l'Agora; it's in a narrow vicolo off a covered portico between Piazza Erbe and Via Cavour, the street entrance usually blocked by a market stall. The front door and entry corridor are also a bit scruffy. Once inside, however, the apartment is spacious, quiet and well equipped - furnishings are simple (don't expect luxury) but the flat is decorated with some well-chosen paintings. The location is brilliant, right in the historic centre with most of the main attractions and restaurants just a few minutes walk away. Breakfast - at the excellent and popular Bar Caravatti looking out on Piazza Erbe - is included and l'Agora also offers 10% discounts at three very good restaurants. The city is undergoing substantial restoration, so there's a lot of scaffolding masking some views but it's still a magical place, a combination of mediaeval wealth and present-day buzz - the young population looks bright and confident and the small locally-owned shops have real style. It's a place for curious visitors rather than just tourist groups.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nara from Orlando, FL

Very cozy, practical, well located, nice.

Posted Dec 5, 2013
Pros: Close the City Center. Historical area.
Cons: No.
Location: Everything on walk distance.
It was very nice to meet the owner that received us when we arrived. Have a nice furniture and in the kitchen they offer a place to where you can cook. With the cold weather I had the time o prepare some home made dinner with a fresh pasta. It was the best location in town, walking distance to the historical town, nice restaurants, shops, interesting way they manage the city life. For lunch they close the shops but the shopping time is after 6:00 PM and weekends. On Thursday Mantova on the all historical town have a Flee market very good with everything that you not even imagine. It is better to go to Mantova between April to October. November it is to cold to go to Europe. It is the oldest city in Italy. Cristina the owner help me a lot with the maps and information where to go an what to do in town.
5 out of 5
by PatriciaSchick from Brisitsh Columbia, Canada

Outstanding hotel!

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels
The location of this hotel is perfect. The woman running the hotel is very accommodating and helpful. The hotel itself was absolutely lovely and clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2012 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rothie Lass

Excellent value and location

Posted Oct 3, 2012 on Hotels
The Agora Residence is off Piazza Erbe, at the heart of historical Mantova. It consists of bedsitting rooms off a small central courtyard extending over 3 floors, each of which has its own private door off the central courtyard. Access to Agora Residence through a communal door is slightly daunting as it’s not as well maintained as the flats themselves – so don’t be put off! The receptionist / manager speaks excellent English and is extremely helpful and informative. Our bedsitting area was on the top floor and had good views over the historic town and the central courtyard. Our accommodation included a clean and modern bathroom with shower, a kitchen / living area and separate large bedroom. The bedroom had a flat screen TV and plenty of wardrobe and cupboard space. The furnishings are largely Ikea type but new and practical and the overall design of the flat was attractive. The kitchen area (only in one flat) included dishwasher, fridge, freezer, electric hob and some cooking / dining equipment with complimentary tea bags and coffee. There was daily cleaning of the flat and it was always left very clean. Breakfast is taken at a nearby cafe. Tokens are provided which are exchanged at a cafe on Piazza Erbe for a very tasty coffee and two cakes (each). We very much enjoyed our stay at Agora Residence. The facilities were good, the location fantastic and overall, very good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Selfcatering flat

Posted Apr 25, 2012
Very confortable , excent bathroom , great central location . Owner could not have been nicer .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Residenza confortevole in centro storico

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
The residence is pretty and clean and situated in the very city center, close to the major places of interest. Cristina, the lady, who met us at the reception, is kind and careful. Thank you for the pleasant staying!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OTTIMO IN TUTTI I SENSI

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
ESPERIENZA COMPLETAMENTE POSITIVA PER DISPONIBILITA'E ORGANIZZAZIONE DELLA PROPRIETARIA E DELLA STRUTTURA