Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Unique experience

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Amazing and unique place with excellent facilities with the added bonus of amazing history. Visited with my wife and two kids and had an excellent stay. The staff (not sure if this is the correct description as they are also the managers and curators of the place which is a working museum during day time) where very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Apartment hotel in historic building

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: The space, and the location.
Cons: Instructions on operation of the appliances would be very helpful.
Location: A few blocks front the historic center of Ferrrara.
The room I had was actually an apartment, including a kitchen and even a washer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London, UK

What a great hotel!

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Thinking this might be an unusual accommodation, in a museum, only added charm to the very warm welcome from the manager and his daughter, who not only showed us through that part of the museum but also gave us maps of the city, hints on what was interesting and where we might have dinner. This was a truly interesting and enjoyable one-night stay and introduction to Mantova, and we will certainly return for more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

A Unique Experience

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: Its history and associations with the Gonzaga family.
Cons: A wardrobe would have been an improvement.
Location: It is very close to the historic centre and not too far from the Palazzo Te. It is very convenient for exploring the city.
We stayed at the Casa Museo Palazzo Valenti Gonzaga in the middle of May. It was a truely unique experience. One reason for visiting Mantua was to see the Camera degli Sposi of Mantegna and so to stay in a palazzo that has such close associations with the Gonzaga family was thrilling. The location of the hotel is excellent. It is close enough to the historic centre that it takes not much more than 5 minutes to walk to the Palazzo Ducale and is also an easy stroll to the the Casa Mantegna and Palazzo Te. Although the impressive entrance is on a main street the hotel is very quiet. At night there was absolute silence. Our room, the Suite degli Stemmi was enormous. At first we were a bit disappointed by the lack of wardrobes and drawers but we soon discovered that there was enough storage space for all our clothes and other bits and pieces. As advertised, the lofty ceiling was adorned by historic frescoes. The rest of the furniture was chosen to suit the ambience of the room. The bathroom was enormous. We have had rooms in other hotels that were smaller. The fittings were very modern but did not clash with the rest of the furnishings. Despite feeling that we were staying in a museum - which we were! - we were very comfortable in the room. Breakfast was served in the impressive hall which was adorned with sculptures, paintings, and frescoes. It was the standard Italian fare - breads, pastries, and cold meats. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

not your typical hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Pros: great historical architecture and frescoes
Cons: service the bikes
Location: excellent location and good restaurants nearby
We knew the valenti gonzaga was unusual and it did not disappoint. Very oddly redesigned spaces to turn a palazzo into a few bedrooms.
5 out of 5
by James

A once in a lifetime experience

Posted Feb 5, 2016 on Hotels
This will not be your standard hotel experience. The Palazzo Valenti Gonzaga was purchased by the Linare family a few decades ago and restored to its prior glory. There are 3 rooms, 2 suites above ground and one very large apartment (2 large bedrooms, 2 small bedrooms a kitchen and 2 bathrooms), one floor below. We stayed in the apartment. You are surrounded by original works of arts - frescoes and sculptures. In the morning after breakfast, Professor Linare's son in law Massimo gave us a lively and informative tour of the facility - we learned about the history of the families and the art that was created for the palace. Thank you so much for this, Massimo! This was a once in a lifetime experience. It is not for everyone, but we are glad that we experienced it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

San Andrea Suite in Mantova, Italy

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: It is very central and all sights are within walking distance.
We enjoyed a wonderful two days in excellent accommodation in the centre of the historical part of Mantova. The San Andrea Suite was excellent and the owners and English-speaking staff were very pleasant and helpful throughout our visit. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The visit to their Museum was very enjoyable and the guide, who was a university student, made the museum visit very enjoyable and educative.
5 out of 5
by Andre from Namur, Belgium

Amazing restoration of historical places

Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Hotels
The structure consists of 3 types of apartments in two different buildings: 1)underground suite in the former ice storage of the palazzo, 2) apartments in the 1st floor of the lavishly decorated Piano Nobile at the 1st floor of the palazzo, and 3) the Sant'Andrea suite which is situated in a different building, on a very central and lively location on the Piazza Sant'Andrea, just steps away from the major landmarks around the Palazzo Ducale. The Sant'Andrea suite is ideally located and very well accomodated, but does not provide the unique experience of lodging in the Palazzo (which is distant about 15 mins walk) - this should be better clarified at the time of reservation.The Suite Sant'Andrea is a rather low ceiling apartment, beautifully and recently renovated, in a former merchant house (the windows are the top part of former gallery arcades). Prof. Linardi conducted an impressive rehabilitation of the Palazzo lasting over 22 years. He is an "Italiano vero"; his (jutified) enthusiasm and his willingness to provide top service and assistance are sometimes a bit invasive. He is assisted by his wive and their charming daughter. Her guided tour of the Palazzo is one of the best guided tours I ever had (offered to residents) Room Tip: -The rooms in the Palazzo are visited as a part of the guided tour of the Palazzo. -Piazza Sant'Andrea is very buzy until late evening
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We had an exceptional experience at this hotel!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
First, Mantua is a picture perfect place to visit. We can't stop telling our friends and family about this town- it's absolutely perfect. The stay at the Palazzo/Hotel was equally perfect. When we arrived at the hotel we were treated so warmly by the owners as well as provided with information about restaurants and site seeing. Plus we were surprised with a room upgrade (where the Cardinal use to stay when he visited) - The room was breathtaking!!! We hope to visit again soon. Thank you for making our stay so memorable.
4 out of 5
by Patricia M from New Brunswick

Mandova hotel in a museum

Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels
The building has been renovated recently at great expense and effort. We very much appreciated this preservation, as we often seek out accommodations with character and history. If you also enjoy these qualities during your travels, then you should consider staying at this unusual hotel in a museum. The staff, especially Francesca, are extremely helpful. Also their recommendation for dinner, at the Osteria dell'oca, was excellent.