Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing and misleading

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Didn't like anything.
Cons: Wi-fi should not be turned off. Curtain over the window, not just a blind. Second sheet. Cable TV should have CNN. Holes in landing floors removed.
Location: Location spoilt by massive building reconstruction in two historic buildings opposite.
Essentially you are hiring a room above a bakery with a bathroom. Reception is 100 m over the road at Osteria delle Erbe, a backpacker-style breakfast is at Bar Venezia 120 m down the road,and the public garage Mazzini Park is a 500 m walk and much further to drive. For our three days' stay, wi-fi was turned off for 35 hours. No lift, no help with luggage for three hours after we arrived. Only one sheet instead of two. Seemingly unfinished building on ground floor, first floor landing and second floor landing (not safe for children). Credit card payment activated before we arrived.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

Great location and brilliant room

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Housekeeping not so good but that's a detail. Good restaurant opposite is Grifone Bianco.
5 out of 5
by Christopher from Henley-on-Thames

History and comfort

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
The luxury suite we stayed in was wonderful- great view across the piazza, very spacious clean and with an excellent large comfortable bed. Plus frescoes on wall! Bear in mind this is not a hotel (no reception facilities- check-in across the piazza in the restaurant) and the stairs to our 3rd floor were very steep and awkward if you have heavy luggage. The thrill of staying in the heart of this lovely old city makes this a minor inconvenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Most enjoyable stay. Mantova a charming small city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south east UK

Rooms in centre of town

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Cons: See above
Location: The location is excellent. Close to restaurants and sights. Parking is close by .12euros per day in multi-storey.
This is not a hotel but rooms . There are no facilities other than the room and no fire escape details. Our room was up 87 narrow stairs with no lift. I'm glad we did not have to evacuate.. If there is a problem, as we had, unless the restaurant across the square is open then you are on your own. No emergency number was given and no other help is available. Break fast - one cup of coffee, one croissant, one orange juice - is available in a nearby cafe. We left the hotel at 8am on a Monday morning and the cafe was not open. The rooms are attractive . One soap ; two tea bags ; two strips of coffee per day. No milk or cream.
3 out of 5
by Natalie from Los Angeles

Why are you going to Montova is the question

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels
After a beautiful stay in lake como, our hotel concierge recommended a "charming town" outside of Milan. After a nearly 3 hour train from Milan, we arrive to the middle of nowhere Montova, to find a sad little square with nearly nothing to do. The "hotel staff" is a waiter at the restaurant across the street who can confirm that there is absolutely nothing to see in this city except for dilapidated castles and a sad duomo that at the time was under construction. After the hotels.com priced us a quote, the "hotel" tried to change the price on us by over 40%. The room was moderately clean, but overall I would never stay there again nor would I ever visit this town. As far as breakfast is concerned, you will have to walk to a bar closeby where your breakfast options are as following: coffee/tea, brioche, juice. That's it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KC from kuala lumpur

Nice hotel with superb view in the city

Posted May 25, 2014
Bellisimo .......u will fall in love with Mantova
4 out of 5
by E Peters

Centrally located on one of the main squares.

Posted Mar 3, 2013 on Hotels
A great location. Some people may not like the fact that you have to go to a nearby café for breakfast but it didn't bother us at all as we got to mix with the locals. The room we had overlooked the square and was nice and spacious so it was better than staying in a faceless hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pavia

Confort in pieno centro

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: stanza molto moderna, bagno grande
Cons: sonorità della stanza (si sentono parecchio i rumori esterni)
Location: Posizione assolutamente ottima, con molti ristoranti e negozi in zona
Bellissima stanza situata proprio nella piazza principale. Ottima posizione, stanza molto curata, pulita e moderna. Siamo rimasti solo una notte ma ci siamo trovati veramente bene. Consiglio vivamente
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels