Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet converted villa just out of the city

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Spent one night on the way from Lakes to Bologna after touring downtown Mantua. Renovated villa on the outskirts of city. Large room and good bathroom, well appointed. Exercise bicycle in the corner was a first. Gated entrance with key code to parking lot (make sure you read the code correctly when the receptionist provides it). Generous breakfast. Restaurants a short drive away for dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from naples, fflorida

Delightful B and B

Posted Aug 1, 2016
We loved our stay. Anna is an outstanding hostess and her breakfasts are wonderful. We really felt at home. Getting into town is pretty easy. Return a bit more cumbersome, and the only reason I didn't give it five stars. Mantova is a jewel. Be sure to visit the Palazzo Te.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Experience the Beauty of Mantova

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful building, excellent accommodations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

A pleasant stay

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff. Clean, elegant rooms. Quiet neighborhood.
Cons: Need a car to do anything. No in-room safe, if that's a concern for you. No elevator, so, if mobility impaired, opt for ground floor.
Location: Not much nearby. Front desk recommended a good restaurant (osteria Tripoli) only a short drive so you don't have to worry about parking in town in eve
Pleasant renovated old villa. Ground floor rooms (formerly the formal rooms) converted into the larger bed rooms and very spacious (even too much so). Second floor rooms will suffice for most people's needs. AC present and a must to avoid mosquitos (ever present in summer due to nearby lakes surrounding city). Only a short drive to city center/palazzo ducale. Figure out the way to the hotel beforehand as the presence of the Tangenziale (ring road) cuts the street which the hotel is located into two parts and this confused the GPS in our rental vehicle. Ample parking. Gate code and entry code on front entrance for added security (although the area seemed quite safe). Continental breakfast was quite good.
5 out of 5
by Gerard from Dublin

A lovely surprise

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is very nice. It is an old house that has been renovated to a very high standard. The owner gave us a great recommendation of somewhere to eat in Mantova (Lo Scalco Grasso). The breakfast was amazing (one of the best that we had during our two weeks in Italy). The price is extremely good value considering everything that is included. Mantova town centre is not walking distance but easliy reachable by car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outskirts of town on private secure villa

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Loved the venue. Only great things to say about room, cleanliness, Anna's cooking and hospitality. We had difficulty sleeping with a loud party next door being a Friday night perhaps, but villa was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Near mantova

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Very nice and helpful lady. Beautiful breakfast. Lovely quiet area but just off the motorway. I would go back to La Villa. P
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Essex, UK

Excellent B&B close to Mantova

Posted Sep 7, 2014
This is the second time we have stayed at Residenza La Villa, as on our last visit the service was very good, the owners are very helpful and made us very welcome. The breakfasts as usual were incredible and not to be missed. Mantova is a good base for the North of Italy without the expense of more well known cities. We highly recommend Residenza La Villa and will be staying again.
5 out of 5
by BGos from New York

Fantastic villa

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels
Fantastic villa, completely renovated with clean and beautiful rooms! The breakfast is fabulous. Anna, the host, is a world class chef!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jacquie from geelong, victoria, australia

Oh, the breakfasts!

Posted Jun 2, 2014
It is always a wonderful experience to stay in accommodation where the owner lives, breathes and loves sharing their establishment. Such was staying at Residenza La Villa. Anna is a wonderful hostess, taking great pleasure in her visitors consumption of the many beautiful cakes, amongst other delicacies, she provides for breakfast. She was very helpful on places to eat, visit, etc. Our room was spotless, well appointed and very comfortable. The villa is a few kilometres out of central Mantova, so having a car is very handy to get into the city. However, Mantova, in, general, is very central to quite a few scenic and interesting areas to visit on day trips in a car. We found it to be a great base for this.