Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Truly Wonderful (Everything You Would Want) Here

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Everything, see above.
Cons: .
Location: .
Everything was literally excellent, the room (and its ocean views), the overall facilities (which eliminate the need to go anywhere else other than for zip-lines, meaning we saw more wildlife on the property than at the close-by national park), the food was refreshingly enjoyable & with ample choices, and especially the staff whom went above & beyond while anticipating our needs each and every day of our visit. HIGHLY recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by We hope see you soon, Hotel Management
From all Arenas del Mar Staff; thank you so much for your comments, we really appreciate you have shared your experience with us, our philosophy is always make unforgettable vacations and this type of comment help us a lot our operation. We hope see you next vacations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

a very special place

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Beautiful property, incredible staff, exceptional food and LOTS of wildlife! Incredible in every way!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Serene and inviting with attentive staff

Posted Apr 18, 2017
We stayed here for our honeymoon and found it ideal - the rooms are spread throughout the grounds so you never felt crowded. Food was exceptional breakfast through dinner and the meals on the beach were very special. The rooms were very nice, plenty of space and amazing shower...although ours was over one of the bars and more attention could have been paid to providing privacy for our balcony and jacuzzi. The grounds were peaceful and the private beach area was fantastic. Access to the main large beach in Manuel Antonio was easy. We enjoyed the spa and yoga although there were not many other on site recreational facilities we didn't feel the need for them - this is a place to nestle into and enjoy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to beach great food

Posted Apr 8, 2017
great place great food and friendly staff would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A rain forest setting in full comfort beyond words

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Arenas Del Mar A three finger sloth joined by numerous joyously swinging monkeys in their natural element greeted us at reception. My nine year old daughter was delighted. The two lovely people that greeted us at the base of the property were efficient, kind and knowledgeable on all our nature- driven queries. It was a perfect first impression of a four day stay stay that got even better by the moment. The hotel is nestled in forestry and awards all guests five star hospitality. The setting is magical. You can't help but be swept away I. Thought of how magnificent our natural environment is. Our room was perfectly situated; awarding us a tranquil sea view with forestry elements. Breakfast was served on the beach our first morning which was a real treat as the monkeys happily observed us from the surrounding trees. The room was comfortable and of course clean. I would only recommend they provide more toiletry amenities but other than that the room was perfect. The spa had rooms that overlooked the magestic rainforest- pacific sea combination, and coincidently our treatments were at sunset which awarded us the atmosphere of sunset colors. Our therapists were very well trained and gave both my daughter and I excellent massages. The staff was both gracious and thoroughly trained. The only area that the hotel falls short of its five star rating is in food. The restaurant while ambitious in its offering, simply does not execute well. The back kitchen needs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Location.
Location: We didn't do any excursions. Others there commented they saw more monkeys and sloths on the hotel property than their tour in the Manuel Antonio Park
This is the best location for the Manuel Antonio beach. It is a short walk on the hotel property to the two beaches. One public, that has all the amenities you would expect: souvenirs, parasailing, vendors selling coconuts, etc. And one semi-private beach where you can sit on the beach and order drinks and food. The rooms are very nice and clean. We had an ocean view and loved it. Staff was friendly and helpful but their English wasn't as good as other locations in Costa Rica where we stayed. Food was hit or miss. Some items were really good, others just barely ok. (be sure to ask for your hamburger well done...the default is pretty rare).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palm beach

Fantastic experience!

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Orbitz
If you love the beach, rain forests and monkeys, this is the ultimate place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Best service ever! So accommodating and friendly.

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Best service ever! So accommodating and friendly. Room was peaceful with beach view/access. Will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Keene NY

Beautiful hotel and grounds, 2 beaches

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: The grounds are especially nice. Golf carts make getting around the hilly property a joy. Get up, have coffee, and go on an early bird walk.
Cons: We had a 'garden room' that was somewhat below ground level, sub-garden if you will. We regretted that. The A/C unit blew directly onto the bed.
Location: A hilly secluded location with two beaches. Great birds and animals. Skip Manuel Antonio Park (too crowded) and arrange to visit other areas nearby.
This is a very nice hotel. One beach has a toes-in-the-sand restaurant. Two pools, fairly small. A spa. Nice friendly staff willing and able to organize all sorts of outings. Try the morning or evening bird walks on the property. The place is a nice size, large enough to have all the services, small enough to be friendly. The beach restaurant is delightful. Always open for lunch, 2x/week for breakfast and sometimes for dinner. The beaches offered nice wave swimming. It was too rough when the tide was coming in but otherwise it was great fun. The water is warm, around 84 degrees. There are still-water beaches nearby too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort with a private beach

Posted Feb 3, 2017
We had the best experience here! We did go into "town" for several meals because the menu of resort dining options got old, but we loved every minute of our stay. The staff was very accommodating and wonderful.