Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Enterprise, AL

Great stay despite storm Nate

Posted Oct 7, 2017
We spent two nights in this hotel during storm Nate. Weather conditions were terrible hut hotel staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and secure. Definitely on my next Costa Rica plans.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas NV

BELEIVE THE REVIEWS! Huge, clean rooms with style.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Room, porch, sitting area, everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right on the main road so you can get around without a car or informal taxis that are the way all the locals get around. Standard 1$ to get to town.
Best deal we found in the area. It seems they priced their property at the lowest price they could as the rate stays steady unlike almost every other place around. Room had a glassed in front area as big as most rooms where you can sit and watch the monkeys, macau, and other life in the jungle. Sit behind the screen or slide it open for perfect photos. Open and airy, incredible. Then you go to your actual room area, another large seating area with flatscreen and a/c that works quickly. TWO QUEEN BEDS EVEN THOUGH THE SITE SAYS JUST ONE... FULL MADE TO ORDER BREAKFAST even though Expedia shows continental breakfast. Great for anybody including families. Clean and bug free in the middle of a jungle. Pools clean and well cared for. Great value in every way. Check my other reviews and see how many times I write a review like this one. Thank you for the stay. We will be back.
5 out of 5
by Daniel

Greatt Hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
Pool and veranda area are beautiful comfortable and very well kept. Complete with wild monkeys and a very sneaky white cat. Room was well furnished. Bed was a little hard but the rest of the stay made up for that. Staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The free breakfast to order was a nice bonus. Bus stop to beach and Manuel Antonio just half a block away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary AlbertA

Amazing Boutique Hotel in Jungle Setting

Posted Jan 20, 2017
This is got to be one of the best boutique hotels I have ever stayed in, and I have traveled all over the world staying in some very nice boutique hotels in: Amsterdam, France, Bali, North Wales, Portugal, Venice and Spain. I find that most boutique hotels are good at one thing and not other things, where Hotel Plaza Yara truly seems to deliver in all areas. The staff are amazing, and truly define the word hospitality, going out of their way to make sure you are happy with every detail. The rooms are positively unique. Large room, great decor and furnishings, clean sheets, good bed, hot water all the time. Our room faced the pool and jungle, which was amazing all times of the day, with the night sounds of the jungle to lull you to sleep. They have 2 outdoor pools and an outdoor hot tub, all maintained daily. I watched the pool guy each morning cleaning and checking chemicals. The hotel entrance is also an art studio with beautiful paintings by local artist, and some very nice sofas to sit on while enjoying a cup of coffee and the art. The breakfast room is on the lower level, joining the amazing back patio. The breakfasts that are served are top notch. If you get the fruit bowl it is very large and full of local fruit. Every breakfast comes with a good portion of local fruit. The staff are true hospitality people from the maintenance and cleaning staff to the front desk staff, GM and also the owner. Hotel Plaza Yara is located 10 minutes by taxi or car from Manu
5 out of 5
by Erin

Excellent quality, superior value.

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
Outstanding service, super convenient location, beautiful design, excellent value for the quality.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

A small jewel in Manuel Antonio

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was off a menu & everything we had over our 4 day stay was presented beautifully, plentiful & delish! Nelson, the mgr even gave us a ride
Cons: The ONLY RUB is that the hotel sits on a VERY busy street, (although you can't hear it from the rooms or public spaces) so don't plan on walking much.
Location: Manuel Antonio National parque is a 15 min. bus ride and there are many things to do there. Rainmaker preserve is also specatcular
This is a lovely small hotel with a tremendous attention to detail that's usually found at properties 3x the price. The first floor is an art gallery worth spending some time in. There are original painting, sculptures, indigenous artwork and ceramics; all well priced. The public spaces are lovely. There are two beautiful pools that face a jungle garden and a jacuzzi (although not heated) where you can watch the various birds, (we saw 2 macaws) and plenty of monkeys swinging about. There's an exceptional restaurant next door, (try any homemade pasta dish): they will provide drinks around the pool as well as room service. The suite we had was stunning, immaculate and spacious. The furnishing were more like an elegant home, with touches such as linen curtains, art glass lamps and gorgeous ceramics. We did have to ask for a hair dryer at the front desk but the entire staff, especially Jonathan were very helpful. The room also had a microwave, silverware, dishes, glasses and a refrigerator. We look forward to visiting again. Room Tip: one of the suites that are on the lowe
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Great hotel! Huge room, clean and comfortable. Staff was fantastic! Reception area is an art gallery with interesting works! Got a nice little goodbye gift as well :) Would stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hoteL. Close to park and good food.

Posted May 19, 2016
We had the best experience. Beautiful room, a sloth outside our window. Sat on the porch and watched the rain. Close to everything. Great breakfast included!
5 out of 5
by Jonathan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels