Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA, La Verne, California

So worth the price!

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Our stay was amazing! This hotel is right next too the national park entrance! Also has a short 5 min walk to the beach! Mixed feelings about the Howler monkey at 5am right outside our balcony. Our slider was broken but seemed to latch and close! Staff was amazing, gym facility was well equipped and the 6th floor view and drink/sushi were awesome! I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Manuel Antonio national park!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salinas california

Love the place

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Location is perfect and close to the beach. Staff friendly. Can see monkeys from pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK, but there are other (better?) options.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Proximity to MA park.
Cons: Quality of food. Quality of maintenance. Lighting. Parking. Rate.
Location: It's all about Manuel Antonio (and the public beach that extends from it). MA is a great park with lots of wildlife and nice beaches.
The main advantage to this hotel is that it is immediately next door to Manuel Antonio and a short (unmarked outside hotel) walk to the public beach. It also has a good pool (no slide, if that matters to you), and the staff are friendly and mostly helpful when called upon. Otherwise the list of misses makes this property a disappointing choice that is clearly managed to a tight budget. A few items: Rooms smelled of mothballs or insecticide? on arrival. AC mostly worked. Bathroom was dark and not very attractive and the bathroom door wouldn't close without forcing it, and had what was basically exposed lumber framing on interior side. The safe is too small for anything other than a wallet or a small purse. Included breakfast buffet had good selection, but food and drink quality there and at the restaurant was just acceptable. Parking is either by reception (a short walk from the rooms), or in a very tight area next to the rooms that can be difficult to maneuver. No view of the ocean from anything below the 3rd or 4th floor - though we saw iguanas, monkeys, and deer from the balcony in a swampy bog that separates the hotel from the adjacent neighborhood. In the end, you can get a shuttle to MA from nearly any good local hotel, and undoubtedly better quality lodging and walkable dining options closer to town rather than the park. Unless you want walk-out-your-door access to MA park, and can get a room here for a substantial discount - We'd consider other options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your feedback! We feel sad we could not give you the memorable experience we strive here at Hotel San Bada! Somehow very dissapointed that you did not mentioned this cons during your stay, so our staff could improve it. We would like to share other pros that you missed to mention... besides our privilege location, we have the maximum level or leaves in terms of sustainability as part of our conservation and green program effort, we have a fitness complimentary to your room rate, breakfast is included, in coffee is provided and complimentary, wifi is complimentary, complimentary business center, 24 hrs concierge service, free, secure and gated parking... and more important we have a flat surface or terrain where the Hotel was built, so that permits all our guest to get around the grounds safely and with zero risks of falls. If you consider other options, please remind that what makes Manuel Antonio special is its National Park and the stunning nature. Pura vida!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Jun 4, 2017
The hotel has no slide park as it is advertised on Web. Rooms are very discomfort able, their room servise sucks. Pillows and bed stinks of human sweat. Restaurant and bar personnel very friendly. Found no information about expeditions in the room have to go to main lobby to review options. Staff very good with helping you arrange an expedition but only if you have an idea of what to do. Only 2 English channels which broadcast Miami news. Rooms are very dark and has very old furniture with absolutely no decorative taste. Room servise just straightens your bed and wipes the floors. No restocking of items except coffee and you only get one Two cups in room but only one coffee. Has no iron, or microwave. Fridge totally empty, not even water stocked for purchase.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel, priced high

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
Lot of hardware failures and some insects in the room. The soap, shampoo and conditioner were pathetic. I had to use my own toiletries. Receptionist was helpful. Congo restaurant breakfast was average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle Wa

Great Hotel and very hospitable staff

Posted May 27, 2017
San bada is 3 min from the beach and 1 min, walking, to the Manuel antonio national park. Me and 4 of my friends came during the off season so there were not many other patrons. However the staff was 100% providing us with food and drinks and responding to requests. I would recommend anyone, from young travelers, to families, to retireees to stay at the San bada.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Perfect Location

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Location and staff was excellent
Cons: Everything was perfect. I wish we could stay longer.
Location: This hotel is at the entrance of the park
We arrived at noon and they checked us in right away. We had a wonderful lunch at Congo's at the hotel. The burger was delicious and our waiter was very welcoming and informative. This hotel is located at the entrance of Manual Antonio Park. We stayed 2 nights and it was very relaxing. The beach is a 3 minute walk from hotel. The roof pool and bar was wonderful. Sushi served from 2 to 10 p.m. and it was outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

PERFECT LOCATION

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Loved the staff as they were so helpful and very nice.
Cons: Nothing needs approved.
Location: This hotel is at the entrance of Manuel Antonio State Park. You can purchase tickets at the hotel and no need for a guide. Perfect location.
EXCELLENT LOCATION, staff is awesome. Walk to beach is minutes away. Rooftop pool is very nice and sushi is served daily from 2-10 p.m. and is delicious. Definitely coming back on my next trip to Costa Rica.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location!! Great Breakfast

Posted May 18, 2017
Nice place to stay! Drinks a bit on the expensive side! But overall great time. Also great little tunnel shortcut that makes trip to public side of the beach easier
5 out of 5
by Jacqueline A

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels