Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My stay at the Camino Real in Manzanillo.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The pictures posted on Expedia for his hotel were photo shopped. There was not bath tub. The manager/ front desk clerk told me there was a 3 night minimum after marking my reservations with Expedia for 2 nights. I still ended up checking in and the clerk called my room minutes later and asked for $5000 more with no explenation except that the computer made an error and the $7,500(pesos) charged for 2 days was not enough. The internet did work. The phones could not make outbound calls to the USA. When I asked if they could help me contact Alaska airlines- she simply said that Alaska closes at 5pm and on the weekends. I tried leaving that place the very next day but there were no flights. Scary place were you feel unsafe. electrical wires were exposed in several places and the pool service was horrible unless you bribe the staff to help. Don't go here people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the beach

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Excellent location. There were 5 of us. Hotel was well located. Within walking distance of bars, restaurants and shopping. One of the pools was poorly maintained but for the price we felt it was reasonable. Staff were friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Rework plumbing.
Location: On the beach, great. Distance to downtown not too bad.
Could not get hot water to work properly, asked everyday to have corrected, could never get it done. Hate cold showers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice rooms with ocean views.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Awesome suites, pool/ocean facing rooms. Good service, food and nice pools. Liked the hotel and stay, hope to come back soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Overpriced, horrible and nasty rooms

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Ocean view.
Cons: Rooms need several updates urgently, and also staff needs training and closer supervision.
Rude staff, horrible rooms. It seems the owner never upgrades/maintains rooms. I don't understand the guest high rating at all. Overpriced. The kitchen does not work, no microwave, everything is rusty. I found a bedbug. french door that leads to the balcony got stuck, nasty looking bathroom. If you complain to the staff, you will be ignored... Lobby staff is rude to Mexican guests while clearly preferring foreign looking ones (They won't keep you waiting at check in or checkout if you are foreign). If you want to have a horrible experience book this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great Location, Beach, and Value

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: The entire facility was very well maintained and clean. Staff was exceptional! The location is very convenient especially if you don't have a car.
Cons: Palms block some rooms view on floors 1 and 2. Don't be afraid to ask to move if you want a view. Pools are small, but adequate.
Location: Easy walk to several Restaurants of all types and lots of shopping, But on a quiet street and beautiful stretch of beach!
We have stayed at almost all of the top rated hotels in Manzanillo over the years. If you are not looking for an all inclusive hotel, the Camino Real Manzanillo is a great choice! Sunsets are amazing!The hotel is far enough from the main street so you forget that you are so close to a main part of the city, but less than a 5 minute walk to many great restaurants, Starbucks, Walmart, 2 nice shopping malls with food courts, (one attached to the "Comercial Mexicano" on the main drag just 1 block in front of the hotel, and the other about 5 blocks S.E. called the "Plaza Punto Bahia'". The 2 pools are on the small side, but when we visited (2nd week of december), there was rarely more than 4 other people present. One of the pools has an attached kids pool. The restaurant has good food and prices (if I calculated correctly a burger and fries was about $8 u.s.). The beach is swimmable for a more experienced beach swimmer, on most days, I would not recommend letting kids play in the surf here due to steep drop off and strong undertow. However just a 5 minute walk on the beach to the NW near the mouth of Rio Punta de Agua is a small section of beach partially sheltered by the rock outcropping of the Barcello. This area is safe for all sizes. We saw locals with children there a few times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice hotel.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Loved our stay! Right on the beach and the staff is extremely polite and helpful! Everything was perfect. We will definitely return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manzanillo

Nice hotel bad room service

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Camarist forgot towels, every time she ckean the room, little attention to. request for mosquitoes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reseda California

Nice hotel sits right on the beach

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Note during our stay the beach was off limits due to high tide. Our kids used the pool instead. The hotel is also within walking distance to many stores and restaurants(Walmart, Starbucks, Pizzza Hut and many more). Loved the free wi-fi. Definitely one of the nicest hotels in Manzanillo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Great food, quiet beach, friendly staff.