Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Los trabajadores amables y con una somrrisa apesar de los inconvenientes
Location: Muy bien hay opciones de negocios para comprar
Fuel may de Sagradable last esperiencia, El Dia que llegamos llovio entro Mucha Agua sin exajerar las maletas se mojaron today last ropa de mi nino se mojo nos cambiaron 2 veces de cuarto porque en el segundo avia gotera y asta que nos ivamos a dormir lo miramos asi que otra vez a recojer nuestdas cosas y a otra avitacion donde ya todo fue diferente tal vez porque ya no llovio, entiendo que el clima no se controla pero pueden saber las condiciones del hotel y tratar de prever situaciones porque tambien no havia quien nos trasportara asi que vajo la lluvia y con nuestras maletas de un lado para otro y en eso se nos fue el primer dia muy desagradable los trabajadores eran amables a pesar de mi enojo les pedi disculpas porque p,aniamos nuestras vacaciones con tiempo y el dia esperado se convirtio en tremenda pesadilla
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from j

No the best experience

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Hotel is very old, a/ c don't work efficiently for this weather, food is really bad, menu is always the same and hotel management don't do anything about it, bring you iron they're never available there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Novato, CA

Not impressed

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Pros: Not much, breakfast was ok.
Cons: More dining options and updated rooms.
If you are looking for a good all inclusive resort in Manzanillio to relax and enjoy the beach, this is NOT your spot. The grounds are lovely but the rooms are very old and not updated at all. The bathroom was so small that 2 people could not be in there at the same time. The sink, toilet and shower were so stained that my boyfriend wouldn't even use them and I took a shower with my flip flops on. The all inclusive is questionable when there are times during the day when you can't get any real food. Lunch and dinner were primarily fish dishes with not a lot of other options. Drinks cannot be served until 10am and at only one side bar location with lines of kids waiting for their sodas as well. The highlight was the adult pool that is quiet and nice, the bar was so-so and the 3 cabanas were a nice touch, sort of (old and dingy linens on them). Sorry, I would not recommend this place at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

Love this place but not for everybody

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Stayed for a week in mid-March. Family of 5. all the kids have their own bed, which is amazing considering the price. We were here 7 years ago when it was club Maeva and it hasn't changed much. There are tons of things to love about this place but it does require you to accept some of its flaws. The staff are fantastic. very welcoming. Most spoke very little English. Some none, a handful totally fluent, most in between. Most guests are Mexican. We spent a couple of weeks dusting off our high school Spanish from the 1980's, and we think that the staff really appreciated that. But All it really takes is a willingness to speak clear, simple English, and use a little charades when necessary. In a few cases a staff member would enlist help from one with more English. The beach is fantastic. Come early (8:30-9:00) for an umbrella and chairs. Big fun waves. Do be careful though - there can be a riptide. You njuhyyyyuwill need to shoo away at least one vendor a minute but "no gracias" is all u need. Food - a mix of awesome choices and weird/not so good things. Beach restaurant and Confetti were faves. Waiters & bartenders mostly spoke English. Great drinks - take or buy a big cup. Clean rooms. Plumbing marginal. Great tennis courts and flat tennis balls. ziplines fun but need to be 14 for the big one. Zip line guys seemed annoyed to have to do their jobs. Love the water slides. More to say but max characters.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, Ontario

poor maintained hotel

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Pros: staff, food and drinks
Cons: newer pool towels, renovate the hotel overall
Location: great beach
this hotel is very outdated, there is rust everywhere, paint in the walls is coming off, the mosquito screen in the bedroom was broken, pool towels are old and thin almost like a bed sheet, public wash room near the beach and lobby were not clean at all. However the staff was great and helpful and the food/drinks at the hotel were great!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York. NY

Horrible, Dont even attempt!

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Room was not ready till a hour after check in, the rooms are all torn down and all need serious maintence and renovation, the first room i went to did not have a shower curtain either, and i had to wait two hours for one, and once i got it i was expected to put it on myself, toilet stopped flushing after an hour and supervisor would not give me a room change because they were so called sold out in low peak season, after calling night staff i was given a room change looks like they hired the laziest supervisor in all of Mexico. Upon recieving my room change the balcony doors did not work and the cieling in the kitchen was dripping. This hotel wont last another 5 Years.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as expected

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: We like the restaurant right by the beach.
Cons: Listening to the clients
overall was not very satisfied with this hotel. Choose this hotel for the kids activities. And they were all closed the whole visit. It would have been nice if the hotel would have contact us to re book. Reservations were for two kids and adults. Also the one room up stairs the air conditioner didn't work. They also gave us the furthest room away from restaurants and pools. With the kids it was hard.Ask to which and they were rude about it and told us no.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from US

Great Hotel for the price

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Lots of amenities. Spacious rooms. Cultural experience with Mexican families
Cons: Update the rooms. The buildings are pretty old and there seems to be quite a bit of deferred maintenance. Still very usable and everything worked ok
Location: There are some activities in town. We mostly stayed in the resort, which has just about every activity you could want.
This is the second visit to this resort. The first time it was called Club Maeva. The resort has not changed too much. Appears to be a little better run and some upgrades have been done. Staff was very nice, but English was a little limited. The primary reason we chose this resort was the large rooms for the price. Rooms are fairly old, but very spacious. Good for a larger family or if you want a separate room from the kids. Note: The floors are all tile and very slippery when wet. If you go into the trip understanding that this is a resort that caters to Mexican families and does not have the quality standards of the US resorts, you will not be disappointed. The resort is still nice and clean and the staff are friendly. The resort is also very spread out, so there is a lot of walking and hills/steps. This is good if you want to work off your food/drinks, but is more difficult if you are disabled or have small kids (with strollers). The food selection is not as great as other all-inclusives, but it is good and no problems with quality/sickness. In summary, the resort is a little dated and not as comprehensive as other all inclusives, but the price is significantly lower. If you value getting to a warm destination and having some space in your room at a low price, I would highly recommend Gran Festivall. If you expect a US style hotel experience and are willing to pay for it, this is not a place for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Posted Mar 21, 2015
The only thing that was wrong was that no very many people could speak English so it was hard to communicate with staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baldwin Park

Needs remodeling

Posted Jan 6, 2015
we arrived at 3pm which was check in time and were not given our room 2 hours later so they give us an extra hour to check out which was at 1... the room had no towels and didn't look clean I and my family were upset because this was the reason we got our room late in the first place.. there was a lot of bugs in the room we found a lizard in the upstairs restroom on the wall!! it was sooooo disgusting.. And a bug on my bed! I didn't sleep comfortable knowing I was surrounded by insects.. the room was very dated and rusty.. We got a villa that sleeps 7 people... Another thing that sucked was the food it had no taste... the only things great about this hotel is the entertainment and night shows were amazing and the activities the hotel has like zip lining, water slides, Dance classes.. Sports activities etc... If they were to remodel the room and make the food good this was would an awesome hotel.. But sadly it's not... Hope they make those changes..