Ratings based on 292 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa , united states

Posted Nov 12, 2017
There was a fight in the dining room are between to guess and the staff of the hotel were not able to handle it. The guess be have to stop the figth, I don't think the hotel handle the problem correctly, I was not happy about it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa ana, ca

Weekday Getaway

Posted Aug 24, 2017
We stayed at Playa de Oro during the week and it was packed. The front desk was very polite but a bit under staffed for the amount of people. Kid zone is super fun for kids. The food is okay-buffet style. The beach is across the hotel and down the stairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Monica, Thank you for your visit to your home Vista Playa de Oro. Makes us happy read that you and you family had a fun holidays. We appreciate your compliments! We have shared them to all our staff. We are looking forward welcome you back pretty soon.
1 out of 5
by RICARDO

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno

Needs Improvement - Good Concept

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Food was doable and drinks and entertainment was good.
Cons: Rooms, Rooms, Rooms.
In short, don't believe the photos posted online, we had to pay extra for our kid since we only booked four through Expedia instead of five and had to change our room two times for very good reasons. 1st reason, broken bed, 2nd room change, water splashes all over the bathroom when you take a shower and hissing sounds coming from the water pipes all night. The only way to avoid hissing sound is to flush toilet all night. Food and drink is good, entertainment is interesting. My eldest boy slit his big toe while in the pool playing off cracked tile. Rooms need major updates, very outdated and dark and dingy. Beds were comfortable. I am very forgiving, but honestly I would never come back to this hotel until major restoration to update... hotel lost in the 70's or early 80s. Don't believe the photo, beach is not very clean and it is across the street from the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Ruben

Very uncomfortable stay

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
Room horrible old, need update every way...my husband and I stay 3 nights, it is impossible to mention everything... mosquitoes in the room, bedroom window no screen very noise at night. I had to call the reception at 2:am. to ask them to send the security. Buffet ok. nothing extravagant, very nice gardens. Pool crowded. They only have a good restaurant (La Goleta) very good... italian, The very first day I ask for a iron, they make to sing a return form which I did, next day when I need the iron it was gone, they took it. Had to call them, I was very upset. Very unrespecful service when I put the private sign in the door they still come in your room. Do yourself a favor, do not stay there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Great Location

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Great service close to beach. The food is delicious the staff is really nice. Rooms need improvement though. So much to do in hotel Awesome views
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Sincerely General Manager, Hotel Management
JR, Thanking for your recommendation, we remain at your entire disposal and we are already looking forward to welcoming you again in Vista Playa de Oro Manzanillo
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here if you want to relax

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Restaurant and its staff was good but hotel front desk staff were rude and unhelpful. Very noisy with kids. Also, room had bedbugs, no blankets, and bathrooms were filthy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Did not like my room, very dirty, old, smell bad. A lot of insects in my room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colton, United States of America

old but nice place for the money

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: the food was good
Cons: the rooms
Location: horse riding
nice my family liked only the rooms need to improved
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unconvinient hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Awful hotel. No warm water. No maintenance.