Ratings based on 858 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nisswa, MN

Inexpensive stay for a St. Paul getaway.

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Location: Short uber ride to St. Paul
Hotel was under some construction due to some remodeling. We did not care for the fact that our bathroom in our room did not have a door at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Jessica, thank you for being our guest at the LivINN Maplewood and for mentioning us as a great value. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location was perfect for your needs. I will share your concerns in regard to your room with my maintenance team to ensure no future guest experiences the same. Thanks again for recognizing us as a great value, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Malissa Gjerdahl, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

The room could have been cleaner.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
The carpeting could have been cleaner. The breakfast was not very good. Very minimal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at the LivINN Maplewood and for sharing your review. We are happy to know you had a pleasant stay. We appreciate your observation and have taken a note of it. We hope to welcome you back soon. Malissa Gjerdahl, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Luverne, Minnesota

Stay up at State

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Online review of the hotel said nothing about construction of the bathrooms. There was no bathroom door,which made it a little uncomfortable for our stay. As I had kids of friends that came with. Also said two bed suite, only had the two beds,no love seat as a suite would. And no real breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Tom, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused due to our renovations in progress. We try our best to notify guests upon making reservations, but we will take steps to communicate this more clearly in future. We are sorry for the inconvenience that was caused due to our construction efforts. We hope that you will return to see our finished result firsthand and to enjoy our new facilities. Malissa Gjerdahl General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

Great value

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Price, location, modern place.
Cons: Cleanliness could be better and the pillows, they were horrible.
Location: Its located in Saint Paul, but in a 15 min drive you could be at downtown Minneapolis.
Hotel is very inexpensive for what it offers. The bed is really comfortable and the hotel facility looks nice and modern. The lady that checked me in wasn't helpful, but, on the other hand, the one that checked me out was great. Its located in Saint Paul, but in a 15 min drive you could be at downtown Minneapolis. Also close to an Interestadual, so there's easy and quick access to Minneapolis airport, Mall of America, Twin Cities Outlet and you can even easily cross the border to Wisconsin. For the price that I paid I couldn't get anything better, its the second time we stay there already, and I'll be definitely back if prices are still good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for returning to the LivINN Maplewood. We appreciate you highlighting the location of our hotel in your review and are glad you felt we offered a great value for the price paid. Thank you for sharing your observations as it will help us step up our game. We look forward to your next stay. Malissa Gjerdahl General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Decent accommodations for the price.

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Nothing special. The place doesn't feel as clean as other hotels. Again, it's decent enough to to crash a couple of nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel. We are happy you were comfortable here and our pricing was to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback regarding the area where we can improve. Thanks again, we hope to see you again soon. Malissa Gjerdahl General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Excellent

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Price, Cleanliness, Location, Friendly Staff
For this price range through double this price range I've never stayed in a nicer hotel. It was exceptionally clean. The furniture was nicer and plusher than average. The overall floor plan was roomier than most. TV screen was nicer size than I've been used to in other hotels for the price. The staff were very nice. They didn't serve any form of breakfast but a Denny's is immediately next door. Access to the place is nicely located just off the interstate and right on a small lake. So far it's my best hotel experience ever for the money. If you're looking to keep it simple and don't care about a pool or continental breakfast you would be hard pressed to find a nicer more economical hotel to stay at than this one. I actually stayed for 2 consecutive nights and left feeling like I found the needle in the proverbial haystack for a economical but comfortable hotel to stay at.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate your five star endorsement! It is absolutely wonderful to read you felt we are a great value for money and how much you appreciated our spotless accommodations and in-room amenities. Our goal is to provide you with the most comfortable stay at affordable rates, so it’s especially nice to know that we exceeded your expectations in this regard. Thank you also for your nice comments about our convenient location and friendly staff. We look forward to your next stay at LivINN Maplewood. Malissa Gjerdahl, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sparta, WI

Will return in the Spring

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Towels were awesome
Cons: Bathroom renovations completed.
Location: Close to Denny's restaurant.
Very nice room with the exception of the bathroom (which is okay, but dated). The hotel is updating bathrooms and this is supposed to be completed by Spring (2017). Then, this will be a first-rate stay in every respect. Even now it's good. Great water pressure, good toiletries, very nice towels. I was nicely surprised when I returned to my room for the second night's stay and found that it had been serviced despite me having a Do Not Disturb sign on the door until well past Noon. Most hotels would not have serviced the room that late in the day. The room is quite comfortable and room temperature is managed by a wall mounted thermostat, not the usual window unit that is either too hot or too cold. Lots of outlets and USB ports for charging devices. WiFi works okay. I would stay here again, for sure after the renovations are completed. Next door to a Denny's which served a decent breakfast. The hotel has a few items in the morning for their Dash and Go, no actual breakfast is served.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Gary, thank you for being our guest at the LivINN Maplewood and sharing your review with other travelers. We are glad you enjoyed your clean, well-equipped room, and that our location was convenient for your visit. We also appreciate your observations and look forward to welcoming you back to our updated hotel! Malissa Gjerdahl, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Nice Hotel! Only complaint is the toilet plumbing was SO loud. I know they're currently remodeling the bathrooms, so maybe I stayed in a room pre- remodel. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at the LivINN Maplewood and for sharing your review. We are pleased you had a great stay and loved our well-kept property. However, we are sorry if any inconvenience caused during your visit. Thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Malissa Gjerdahl, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice, quiet and convenient to our destination next

Posted Feb 1, 2017
We only needed a room for the evening. room was clean, lobby was clean and hotel staff was friendly. Hotel is not upscale - its a journeyman hotel for business person on the go.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at the LivINN Maplewood and sharing your review with other travelers. We are pleased to read that you liked our friendly associates, convenient location which was perfect for your needs and your well-appointed room as well. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon. Malissa Gjerdahl, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Basic and very tired

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Has signs of some renovation underway...but seriously needs it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to review you recent stay. I am sorry that you had to endure the dust, noise and mess associated with our renovations during your stay. We are very excited about this project and would love for you to come back to see the final results. Thank you again for your kind words and recommendation. We look forward to your next visit.