Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto,Canada

A very nice & cozy small hotel right on the beach.

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Location and the staff at the hotel.
Cons: I would say to Improve a bit the washrooms.
Location: The hotel is located within 10 minutes from the ferry boat. Catembe is known for the beaches and a few restaurants.
Our experience at Catembe Gallery was real nice. To start, our flight was delayed by a day arriving in Maputo. For our surprise as soon we arrived at the hotel they were so worried about our delay doing the check in that to make our stay pleasing, they had upgraded our room to the very best view of the Indian Ocean or to the Maputo Bay and downtown of the capital. They even surprised us later, that evening with a beautiful plater with cheses, cold cuts, fruit and a bottle of champagne, just because we had mentioned earlier to the reception desk the reason of our stay at that particular hotel. The service from the all staff at the reception, restaurant to the hotel kitchen was excellent and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a restful vacation, away from the busy and crowded cities. Please note that the only way to Catembe is by ferry boat and expect very crowded and packed ferries during rush hours. Anyone staying at the hotel should try to make transportation arrangements with the hotel staff and they will cordially help you. There are local buses that runs every 1/2 hr (?) in front of the hotel, please check for the schedule at the hotel. A bridge is now under construction that will link the downtown Maputo to Catembe and it is expected to be completed in 2017, which will help a lot with thetraffic flow from both sides of the bay. For any activities, check it with the staff at the reception and they will be glad to assist you with Your question
5 out of 5
by Dineo from Johannesburg

Catembe Marvelous!

Posted Dec 24, 2015 on Hotels
The service at Catembe was extra ordinary! The staff never seem to tire and always ready to be of service. What ever it is you need, they always offered and never frowned for a second. To be honest I didn't enjoy the breakfast. The food in the Resturant was just okay as well. I thouroughy loved how the beach is private. The pool was always clean and spacious.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad mgmt ruined my holiday - will never return

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
Shuttle booked in advance was more than 1 hour late! Didnt take me directly to hotel. Instead I had to walk to a ferry, which I had to pay extra for, and then wait at the other side for a new car that didnt arrive for until 40 minutes later. Upon arrival to my AC beach hut, I found out there wasnt any AC (+hardly any light). Nor was there any tea/coffe kettle. Asked to get another room. Got a cheaper one, but promised to get a better one the next day. During my whole stay I was still waiting for this "better" room that never materialised. No tea/coffee fac there either, although advertised. When I pointed this out, I was told to go to the restaurant. There I waited, in an empty room, for 50 mins before having my tea. I was later told there was a place in the corridor where they had a tea/coffee station. Only open 22.00-06.00? Toilet broken 3 days in a row. Had to go downstairs to the resto to get to the loo. Breakfast. Sometimes when coming down to the breakfast room it was completely deserted and no food left although within the breakfast hours. Staff in reception giving wrong information. (There are both big buses, and small minivan buses on road outside the hotel, going to the ferry! Walking takes 35-40 minutes, not 20.) No reimbursement for the diff between exp hut and cheap room. They wanted full price for the failed shuttle. And in spite of all the negative things happening, the mgmt wouldn't agree on any compensation whatsoever! Shame on management!
4 out of 5
by Neville S from Pretoria

Our getaway

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
The Restaurant staff were great and accommodated all our needs. The ferry ride was also an experience as this is not something we do in ZA. I would not recommend the standard room if you don't like small spaces as it is very small. Comfortable, but small. Walks on the beech were cool as there are many different objects to inspect while walking. Once the deck in the ocean is complete I think this will be a great place to have some 2M's and see the city change to beautiful colours.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south africa

Lovely view!

Posted Oct 14, 2015
Owners are friendly... Place is quaint with beautiful view of Maputo.. Ferry is an adventure...
4 out of 5
by Michelle from Sea-Tac WA

Catembe

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
It started out very rough but turned into a grand adventure!I booked 10 days for my sons Birthday and University Graduation. When he arrived they were over booked and his room was not available, could have been a disaster but The Hospitality won out! The rooms are very small but comfortable. Breakfast is wonderful.
3 out of 5
by Andreas from Oslo

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
Vanskelig å komme i kontakt med hotellet. Bestilt transport fra flyplass fungerte ikke. Restaurantene utmerket mat og service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Come prepared!

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
Had to wait more than 4 hours to get onto the (very dangerous looking) ferry. The hotel should approach some boat companies in Maputo for alternative transfers to Catembe, just the ferry ride alone made sure I never consider Gallery again. The hotel itself was ok, though not "boutique" and not in Maputo like the website stated. Food was also an issue. Very pricey with limited choice and low quality. They also dont tell you that Sunday lunch is a 1000Mt buffet with no a la carte option. The breakfast buffet was also very limited. It also looks like the hotel is under constant renovation. They were putting carperts in during our stay and were drilling and hammering until after 7pm on a Saturday. The staff were great though, and the views amazing. The beach is dirty and you cant swim so that was sad, but we still had a good time, mostly because we went prepared after reading comments on this and other travel website( the comments on the hotels own website are quite rosy and misleading)
4 out of 5
by Siphelele from South Africa

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
It was great, the food was amazing and the staff really helpful. The sunrise was amazing. Please note that the hotel is situated in Catembe and you have to take a boat from Maputo to get there. The boat takes 5 minutes.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Swaziland

Catembe Gallery Hotel is a nice hotel by the beach

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: What we liked most about the hotel was the view across the water to Maputo from our balconies. Also the quiet relaxed environment. We spent two nights
Cons: The website should be updated to include information about check in/out times. We struggled to get this information. Also more info about the ferry.
Location: The location is great if you want to have a relaxed and quiet time. We took a drive around Catembe during one morning after breakfast, not much to see
The staff at Catembe Gallery hotel was very nice and helpful. We had an opportunity to meet the owners of the hotel, Koenraad Collier and the next morning, also his wife Edda, who are very nice people. The breakfast is lovely and we had a seafood dinner (prawns and calamari) which was delicious. The views across the water to Maputo from our rooms were fabulous, both during the day and at night. My family occupied two luxury en-suite rooms with a balcony and sea view. The hotel beach is also lovely and clean. Koenraad took us to the gallery museum and told us the history of the hotel, and how is has grown over the years. We requested to see the bayview chalets, penthouse duplex, penthouse with 3 (and 4) double rooms, and hotel management took us around to view these. Ferry to Catembe is ok, however we experienced lengthy delays (3 hours) to and out of Catembe, yet the ferry trip itself takes just over 10 minutes. Because of long delays before getting on the ferry to Catembe, by the time we eventually crossed on the ferry, it was late and on the Catembe side, it was dark and we did not know how to get to the hotel. We initially got lost and drove in the wrong direction for about 15 min, arriving at factories. We had to drive back to where we got off the ferry and there was a long line of vehicles waiting to get on the ferry from Catembe to Maputo. Fortunately as we got there, we saw a taxi and asked for directions. The taxi driver was kind and we followed him to the hotel.