Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nairobi

Lovely view over Downtown and Maputo Bay

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: The view and the friendly staff
Cons: The food, the power outlets, the internet service
Cardoso Hotel is a lovely older hotel on a hill overlooking the town and the bay. The hotel is very nice, staff is friendly and food is OK. I was expecting a bit more quality and skill especially on the seafood side, the salt usage was over the top. Also, each room is equipped with South African power outlets, so bring your adaptors, getting one from Hotel or even the mall proved very difficult.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, expensive buffet dinner

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable hotel room with beautiful ocean view and nice garden outside. Buffet dinner was disproportionately expensive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Neil

Terrible food

Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Hotels
Terrible Food spoilt a really great hotel
4 out of 5
by LETICIA

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
A vista do hotel é maravilhosa! A academia também é excelente. O atendimento pode melhorar e os quartos poderiam ser reformados.
4 out of 5
by Axel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Could be modernised
Location: Best View in Maputo
The Cardoso is an awesome hotel. It is a little old but this is more than made up for by its location and fantastic staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Erica from Brighton

Great hotel but very expensive

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
I have been staying at the Cardoso for many years and love the environment, most of the staff, the patio and the view. I think it has got way too expensive, however. The price per room for just me was double the price for two of us at a good hotel in Chelsea, London (though to be fair this was a special winter last minute offer).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monaco

Run away!

Posted Feb 9, 2016
I make the point of try new hotels in Maputo disregarding the feedback from travelers. Highly disappointing hotel. Bad food at the bar. Poor quality with frozen French fries (first time ever in Mozambique). Hotel looks tired. Rooms are dated. Bathroom is poor. Hotel corridors are poor and old and tired looking. The Internet service in the rooms is very bad and slow. I will not stay at this hotel again. The swimming pool area and garden are nice. So it is a nice place to go for a drink or meet a client. The employees tried hard but the hotel let them down. The hotel needs to full make over.