Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2018
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

The pictures and reviews are deceiving

Posted Mar 1, 2018
Pros: Nothing
Cons: It need some serious renovation and the staff needs to learn to help their guests
Location: There are restaurants nearby but they are very crowded, over priced, and not good. Do yourself a favor and stay a couple blocks away from the beach.
I would 100% never stay here again. The photos and website make this look like a 4 star resort. I would give it one star. The hotel is literally falling apart. The only reason to stay here is to be close to the beach, however, there are much better options. The hotel staff was extremely rude. No one mentioned you have to pay to go to the pool, pay to use the chairs, and cannot pay for extra chairs. Breakfast was so crowded they ran out of food and there were limited seats. The hall carpet was stained. There were countless holes in the bedroom walls. We ended up checking out early.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

The NH Gran is a great hotel!

Posted Feb 22, 2018 on Hotels
The staff was incredibly nice and accommodating...every single one of them. The hotel is simply gigantic. When we checked-in we told the bellman we didn't need his services because we had little luggage. That was a mistake! It took us forever to find our rooms. The room was nicely decorated and the bathroom was beautifully finished in marble. It is an older hotel and the hallways reflect that in their appearance...I don't mean that in a negative way. The breakfast/dining/bar area is all 100% modern, bright and clean. Breakfast was included with our room and was very nice. I wish the bar stayed open after midnight but there is a casino next door with a bar that's open until 3am. The hotel is directly on the beach and has row after row of cabanas. We were surprised that the cabanas were so reasonably priced. My only complaint still baffles me. As I said, the hotel is gigantic. But the spa changing room and showers are coed. Surely they could find room to separate them. The individual showers measured approximately 3'x3' with frosted glass doors on each one. They left little space to dry before one needed to step into the coed area. I'm not a prude and have no problems with lack of privacy in the men's locker room...but changing clothes in the same room with women was very awkward. With that being said it was a great hotel, just know that the spa lockers and showers are unique to put it nicely. I would definitely stay at the NH Gran again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2018 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo - BRA

Great potential, but fail.

Posted Jan 31, 2018 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, nice property
Cons: Staff Training, Gym.
Stayed there for just one night, business purpose in the city. The property is amazing and location is great, but it looks somehow abandoned, lacking of a nice refurbishment to rescue the old days' glory it might have had. Tried the gym, it was absolutely awful... no treadmills working, very old and useless equipment. Indoor pools are not bad, though absolutely crowded - very small pool areas for the size of the hotel. Breakfast was also disappointing... since I had an early meeting, I got down for breakfast at 6h30, then I just discovered it begins to be served at 7h00 (!!). Although there were waiters there and restaurant was already open (very nice decoration, by the way), no one of the staff cared to offer me some attention. When I asked if I could have some coffee at least, I've been told in a very rude way that it starts at 7h00. It was 6h45 by then... Room is big and clean, bed is old and liners has that laundry smell. Shower is old and a bit rusty but very good water pressure and constant temperature.
3 out of 5
by Jennifer

Mixed Review

Posted Jan 7, 2018 on Hotels
This hotel wasn't exactly what we expected. The main picture shown is not an accurate representation. There is a small pool across the walkway from the hotel, but it's not in the best shape and the hotel will try to charge you extra to use it and their beach area. The hotel itself is quite beautiful but you can tell we went at a very slow time of year as most parts of the hotel were closed down. The service wasn't great, especially at the very limited breakfast buffet where no staff spoke with us at all. On Christmas eve the front desk told us that the restaurant would be open until 9pm but when we went there around 7:30 for dinner, the staff told us they were closed and we could only order a few room service items.
4 out of 5
by William

Good base to see Mar del Plata

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
Nice traditional hotel in the centre of Mar del Plata. The room was excellent but the service in the bar / restaurant was very slow. Nice pool and private beach area but not cheap
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, very good service.

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Ebookers
It's a nice hotel, and the service was excellent. We went there in the middle of December, a few weeks before the holiday rush sets in. Direct walk to the Beach. A bit too crowdy in the dining room during breakfeast; simply not enough tables.
4 out of 5
by Magnus

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel need a little recondition, It is a little worn down. Breakfast was not great but the location and service was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel crowded

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Lovely area crowded beach great location helpful staff