Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Return visit

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Beautiful, peaceful setting, with staff who are eager to do everything possible to make your stay perfect.
Cons: Staff to wear name badges to make it easier for guests to remember names. It would be nice if they were licenced to serve alchohol.
Location: The hotel is set in beautiful tropical gardens on Marari beach. outside of the hotel is a traditional fishing village, this is not a tourist resort.
This was a second holiday at Abad Turtle beach, on arrival Shijo on reception welcomed us back & so did Shameer & Bibin & the restaurant staff who remembered us from last year, a lovely start to our holiday! We were pleased to see that nothing had changed in the resort, the grounds were as beautiful as last year with an abundance of birds & wildlife. The service & friendliness from all the staff is 1st class & the food in the restaurant is delicious, both the buffet & a la carte. This visit we took a Houseboat cruise on Abad's own Houseboat, this we really enjoyed, the staff were friendly & the meal provided was excellent, the Houseboat itself was also of an excellent standard. As mentioned previously, the area outside of the hotel is not a tourist resort but a traditional fishing village, this is one of the reasons we love it here. It will not appeal to people who want tourist shops & restaurants. I just hope that Marari beach stays as it is now & does not get spoilt by getting too touristy like Goa.
5 out of 5
by Smitha

Our trip to Abad Turtle beach resort

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay at Abad Turtle beach resort was really great. We enjoyed the ambience and the food. You feel so close to nature with a lot of greenery around. A walk through the organic farm and the butterfly garden is really refreshing. The beach is only a short walk and is clean. There is a life guard who is very helpful and sees to it that everyone is safe. The food was excellent and so was the staff. They are always smilling and is very helpful. I'm looking forward to visit this place again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Every thing is good except the food

Posted Feb 14, 2017
The resort is excellent and every thing is very good except the food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Beautiful gardens and hotel

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Staff, garden
Cons: Liqueur licence
Location: Kerala backwaters
We loved our stay, the staff, especially at reception is exceptional. The lack of liqueur licence is a bit of a disappointment. It's always nice to have a cocktail on vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Beautiful & peaceful

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Excellent staff & beautiful grounds.
Cons: Would have been nice if the hotel was licensed. Staff to have name badges.
Location: The hotel is located in a traditional Kerala fishing village not a tourist resort, but the hotel can arrange trips to the Backwaters, Cochin, Allepy
We stayed for 13 nights in a detached villa which was next to the beach. From the time we arrived to our depature the service at Abad Turtle beach was 6*. The grounds are beautiful & it very peaceful the only sound coming from the birds & the sea! The butterfly garden is lovely & there is an abundance of wildlife such as Indian palm squirrels, various birds & fruit bats which you will see from 5pm. It was also fantastic to sea the Sea Eagles fishing off the beach. The food in the restaraunt both breakfast & evening meal were excellent. There is a lovely clean swimming pool here too. The area surrounding the hotel is not a tourist resort but a traditional Kerala fishing village, which is why we choose this hotel. Don't come here if you want tourist shops & restaurants, but do come to enjoy the nature & to relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kolkata

An amazing beach hotel; a sort of smart village.

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: 1. The private beach 2. Butterfly garden 3. Organic vegetable garden
Cons: 1. Plz provide mat outside the rest room. 2. Plz provide pool towel sufficiently.
The hotel premise is like a modern, smart village. It's a huge property and itself can be considered as a touristic spot. An environment friendly battery operated car made our stay easy to move from one spot to another. it's very useful for the older guests. Cycle track, children park, indoor play and the pool are other facilities to make the guests full time busy. I will definitely return into this property in future and recommend my friends and relatives to avail.
4 out of 5
by Mark from Upminster

Beautiful grounds

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely room in beautiful grounds. It even has an organic farm and butterfly garden. Very helpful staff
5 out of 5
by Erin

Posted Jan 1, 2016 on Hotels
So relaxing! Remote location, only stayed one night and could have stayed much longer! Great food and staff. The beach was clean and very close by. Beautiful grounds.
3 out of 5
by obaida from Syria

Very nice

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice especially for children
1 out of 5
by Abhisheik

A less than pleasant experience....

Posted Aug 9, 2015 on Hotels
At the outset i expected the hotel and the service to be excellent... However we were surprised.. and not pleasantly at that... From the beginning the service was more a forced measure than a heartfelt one... The check in and out timings are ridiculous.. The meal timing even more so... Who starts a lunch at 1 pm, specially with children around.. And no room service at that.. Beat that.. So we had to go out for each meal.. The only meal we did have.. the complimentary breakfast was vaguely intresting at best.. The beach which is supposed to be the unique selling point was a long long walk away in the blistering sun with people asking you your room number before you enter the beach compound.. The butterfly garden was the only saving grace.. That too visiting children were busy ripping the wings off the less than abundant butterfly population.. All in all an experience i would rather not repeat or recommend..