Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Nice location, Hasn't recovered from Irma

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: Not much
Cons: See above discourse on my experience
Location: Restaurants, water sports, air museum, beach, parks and tourist attractions.
This is a beautiful location, however they have not fully recovered from the damage from Hurricane Irma. It is misleading to consider this a resort, as there are no resort type activities available. The unit I stayed in appears to be for sale, and is in acute need of maintenance. Patio door needs repair, the screens are damaged. on both doors, the unit needs painting, and their are cracks in the bathroom ceiling. I walked into the back yard and was challenged by a young man wearing a tee shirt with "security" on it, accusing me of trespassing on private property. My overall experience was somewhat disappointing. I would not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2018 by Joshua, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, John. I apologize for any poor encounter you had with a member of security. We are not affiliated with the Hawk's Cay Resort. Our featured homes are privately-owned, none of which have sustained any damage from the hurricane Irma. While our guests do not have access to the Hawk's Cay Resort pools, etc., we do include passes for our guests to the newly renovated Cabana Club on Key Colony Beach which features private beach access, a restaurant, lounge, pool and more. We have taken note of your review and will be certain to address the items mentioned.
1 out of 5
by brenden

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
should never had been offered to a family . area was not ready for service of any kind
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017
Our homes did not sustain any damage from the storm. Unfortunately, some facilities in the area were not open, though the majority had returned to their normal business hours prior to your arrival.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Looks can be deceiving

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Stayed in unit 11 and couldn’t be happier. This is an old condo building that is a little beaten up by the hurricane. Unit 11 though was professionally decorated and clean. Also you have a great view of the water. Only complaint is the window unit A/C was noisy
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by Josh, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we're happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you next year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, Fl

Stay

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: see above
Advertized to book room for $104, we book 2 nights and total was $384. After calling booking agency (Expedia) it was hotel fee none refundable. Expedia representative try his best to negotiate with hotel rate and fee but unsuccessfully. Expedia end up with credited as back $100 for next hotel booking (great). At hotel everything is perfect but: we booked 3 people, so we choose 2 bed. Blanket was only for 1. Next day we contacted guest services and get nothing. They say sorry, nothing they can do.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by Josh, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. There is a one-time non-refundable fee per reservation noted during the booking process. This amount does not change regardless of the number of nights you decide to stay. Each bed is made prior to your arrival, and there are comforters on each. There is a single additional blanket in the closet. We apologize for any confusion.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best place to stay

Posted Sep 1, 2017 on Hotels
Keys Caribbean manages a number of properties on Duck Key, but there is one that is NOT a "Hawk's Cay Villa" and that's the one we stayed at. It was a one bedroom in a dilapidated building at the entrance to Duck Key. No washer/dryer or dishwasher. Through-the-wall noisy air conditioners. Leftover food in the kitchen cabinets. As others have noted, there is no access to the Hawk's Cay amenities, but we did have a very nice dinner at Anglers and Ale (you can walk to the restaurant). What was really upsetting was the fact that hotels.com advertised a "secret price" without disclosing that taxes and service charges would add 90% to the bill! I immediately called them to cancel and was told I could not. Very disappointed with hotels.com for not realizing their shortcomings in full disclosure. In retrospect, I probably should have called my credit card company and disputed the charge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, we've provided Hotels.com with our requirements per reservation and any lack of disclosure is on their part and the way they portray information to potential guests. For future guest's reference: there are washers/dryers available at the Hawk's Cay Marina. We've taken your review into consideration and will work hard towards bettering these units to ensure the happiness of our future guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

It was an excellent stay

Posted Aug 30, 2017
It was better than excellent. Everything I could ask for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Joshua, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Trish. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again next year!
4 out of 5
by anayancy

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
The property was very nice- Floridan style villa. You park right out front, easy access, walk right into the bedroom and follow the hallway to the living room and kitchen. Well stocked with everything you would have at home including some nice extras from other guests maybe. We were very pleased with the company that manages the property - they were helpful before and during our stay. We did find that the ac unit in the living room wasn't working well and it was hot being a FL condo in the month of august but we spent our days by the pool and Sam the manager helped attend to it quickly to try and fix it. Walked to the marina, drove around the property easily with free parking throughout. Other than the ac, would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017
The staff here at KeysCaribbean thanks you for your review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed the accommodations despite any trouble you experienced with the A/C, and we do hope to see you again next year to provide you with a cool, comfortable and relaxing getaway.
4 out of 5
by Maria Paula

Information not clear and disorganized

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
It was a good trip but we booked thru hotels.com and although staying in Hawks Cay we were not allowed to use amenities there, instead we had to use ameneties 8 miles away... NOT OK, my family was staying in Hawks Cay's main Bldg.! Furthermore our unit wasn't even ready by 4. The information about specifics was not sent to me, not even what to do when I got there so it was extra surprising when the front desk couldn't even register us!!! That really sucked!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017
Thank you for your review. We do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced, as we are not affiliated with the Hawk's Cay Resort. We strive to provide our guests with a streamlined check-in process, and do so by providing your villa's door's access code via email and/or text. What does this mean? Our guests can proceed directly to their assigned unit upon arrival; no long lobby lines and no keys to lose!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice condo for boaters

Posted Jul 11, 2017
If you are a boater looking for a nice place this is it! If you want to do nothing but sit by a pool, look elsewhere! Pool and amenities are not close by one must drive into Marathon! Condo was nice, but photos on Expedia are of Hawks Cay Villas not these condos! Overall it was nice and as an avid boater I will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Joshua, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the accommodations and look forward to your next Florida Keys getaway.
4 out of 5
by David

Hawks jaunt

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
I have been to Hawks Cay many times, it never fails!! I'm am somewhat frustrated by the separation between the hotel and these villas, this leaves the guest unable to enjoy a lot of the amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017
Thank you, we appreciate your feedback.