Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Out dated but ok

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: More staff
Location: Hike, golf, boating
I have been here many times over the past years both for business and pleasure. While the staff is friendly, the management has a serious issue with staffing their bar and restaurant regarding service . One bar tender on duty and one waiter doesn't cut it. It makes no difference if there is a conference , wedding or just a crowd......they never have enough wait staff. Credit card billing errors not fun either when you get a call from the front desk to tell your credit card was declined, give them a new one,only to find out someone else had apparently used my room number. All in all the property is still beautiful , the food is good. Just need some management attention and cutting corners to save money
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Apartment/condo (Paseo) desperately need upgrade

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Staff was fantastic, public areas were mostly nice.
Cons: Room in Paseo was awful. I thought I was in a 70's era motel.
Location: Marble Falls, Fredricksburg, Llano were fun to visit, but expect big crowds during spring break.
The Paseo apartment/condo may not have been updated since Mary Taylor Moore was in first run. The room was orange. Bathroom was poorly appointed with a ton of wasted space, like the chance to make the counter top 12 inched wider (it was only 24 inches wide, but there was 12 inches between the walls that had no counter space, just a drop to the floor. Kitchen had the space for a 30-36 inch tall fridge, but had the typical dorm-room size fridge. TV was not HD and you need a seeing eye dog to find ice and vending. That said, the common areas were wonderful. Bar and restaurant in the tower appear to be recently updated, pool areas looked great. We played the Whitewater putting course and it was fun, though as you go around the tennis areas, don't expect to play tennis here. Lots of wildlife including tropical birds around the Whitewater area. One bar and one restaurant. During Spring Break that was a problem. Outside the 'Marketplace' in the lobby, no other food options. Restaurant meal was fine, service good. Room service pizza was inedible. $50 for 2 pies and we all choked down 1 piece and threw them out. I played Applerock with one of my sons. Course was spectacular, but no clubhouse. Resident told me that when the course-side building housing pro shop and restaurants burned down, property owner used the insurance to pay down debt, not rebuild. It shows. I'll go back for golf, but it will be a few years to see if they upgrade.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
The property was not prepared for the spring break crowds. I checked in on Saturday night and there was a two hour delay in having my room ready. This is purely poor management as they knew the number of guests to expect and should have scheduled more staff to turn over rooms. Talking to other guests I was told it was much worse on the Friday night with 3-4 hour delays. (Some guests still waiting for their rooms past 7pm. Because I missed my dinner reservation in town, the front desk did cover our dinner in the casual restaurant that night. In the middle of the night there was loud talking on balcony next door. I knocked on window and they went inside. Grounds are beautiful. Room is nice but cramped and nothing truly special.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful but don't go until they fix it!

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
This resort is GORGEOUS and the 2 bedroom was spacious enough for 5 of us to sleep and for 7 to hangout in comfortably. Other than the room being great, the resort being beautiful, and Jocelyn and Susan being great at their jobs (server at Lantana and a bartender), the rest of the experience was atrocious!!!!! When we checked in they cancelled one of our rooms completely and told us they were booked, cancelled our tee time twice, tried to make us pay again for our room at the resort and said to "work it out with hotels.com", wouldn't serve us lunch at 1145 (thanks Yvette for several poor service issues) even though we had been up since 530 and had paid for the breakfast brunch ($19) already that day, the market NEVER had food ready so you had to go to the 1 restaurant they said was available, you would wait 20 mins for a table when restaurant was 1/3 full, EVERY meal we ordered came out with at least 2 items wrong, had "over easy" eggs come out crunchy twice, broken toilet, etc. I could continue to go on, but I won't. They said they had new management and if this is how it is run, we will not be returning. There were so many other families that were complaining about all of the issues they were having as well. It's a shame because it had potential to be our family reunion site every year.
4 out of 5
by Roger

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Checking in was controlled chaos. Checking out sam

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Very unorganized. Difficult getting events coordinated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sweeny, TX

Not as great as it seems...

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The amenities are nice.
Cons: Pictures for apartments and descriptions more clear. More bartenders to cover busy times. The bees were TERRIBLE!
Location: There are lots of little shops and cafes in Marble Falls. Nice little scenic drive to town.
We came during Spring Break - booked in advance. My 6 year old enjoyed it mostly. The "apartment" pictures and description advertised stoves, microwaves and balconies and we wanted to take advantage of the stove and microwave so we didn't have to buy food from hotel every day. Our first apartment that we were checked in to did not have a stove, balcony or view and was at the very back of resort. I went back to change rooms, because we were not happy about our location or accommodations and was told they are at 95% (Spring Break) and can only relocate us to another apartment that was a little closer. Not to mention, the receptionist was very annoyed and said stove and view were for 2+ beds. There was a balcony for the new apartment... to the parking lot. Food: we ate the buffet the first night - $19 per person and very mediocre food, they also add the tip in for you - you don't get a choice. The next night we figured we'd do the pizza from Lantana instead of buffet; It would be quicker, cheaper and we can just eat in our room. That was a mistake! We ordered the 16" Pepperoni and a 10" burnt pepperoni was delivered to our room over an hour later - I paid $28 for a burnt pizza that wasn't the size we asked for. We ended up driving into town to get Thai from Simply Pho house because we were all still hungry. Beware - NO ONE delivers around there, not even on apps like WAITR and DOORDASH. Also, the BEES around pools and tiki bar were absolutely terrible. A few people got stung!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good time

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Marina was the best, spa was ok but a little expensive, wish all pools were heated but only one was so it was super crowded. Food was ok but wish there was more service by the pool. Rooms have been updated and renovated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average Family Trip

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
Had a fun time. Hotel has lots of activities and was clean. Hotel needs some updates as it is older. Only one main pool for hotel and it was crowded. The refrigerator in the room was very small and no microwave in the room. The room only had a single cup coffee/tea maker and it wasn't clean. For a higher priced hotel I expected more. Less expensive hotels have these room amenities and this hotel did not. Also expected more pools to accommodate the guests for a resort. We ate at local restaurants and visited local area sites like the caverns.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Humble, TX

Child Friendly

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Orbitz
The positive about the Horseshoe Bay Resort is that it is kid friendly. However, the rooms are old, housekeeping didn't do very well about keeping the rooms appropriately equipped. We didn't have any tissues, only 2 towels, and our phones didn't work. They advertise their double bed rooms as queens, when they are full size. So the beds are small and the mattresses are not comfortable. When seeing a 4 diamond hotel, I expect top quality, like at Hyatt's. When booking through Orbitz, please understand you will have to book a seperate resort fee upon check in. My biggest complaint is this resort is not ADA or stroller friendly. They have numerous locations with stairs, but no ramps to access the location (spa, turtle beach, etc). I'm truly surprised they have not been cited.