Ratings based on 711 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

location convenient to museumquartier, shopping

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Customer service, location
Location: It is right close to the Museum Quarter and has excellent restaurants and shopping.
I had a wonderful stay that. The staff was so helpful and pleasant and went out of their way to accommodate us. I arrived at 6:30a and they were able to accommodate my early check in so I did not have to wander the streets for hours. They did not have a room for my friend to check in early but texted us within an hour to say a room was made available to her. That is service! They also made excellent restaurant suggestions and made us feel at home. Will definitely go back to Das Tyrol next time I am in Vienna.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

Small Quaint Vienna hotel in Great Location

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Nice, helpful desk clerks and all spoke English. Great location, quiet and great breakfast included in room cost.
Cons: Air conditioning.
Location: The subway stop is two blocks away. The subway is great and easy to use. Lots of shopping on Mariahilfer but not real close to any attractions.
We selected the Das Tyrol Hotel based on its location and reviews. This was our first trip to Vienna and we don't know anyone who had been there. We arrived near midnight. You have to go up three stairs to enter. A little difficult when you're tired with heavy suitcases. The desk clerk was very nice and explained where we were, how to get around (he explained that we should buy a two day subway ticket so that we could use it as much as we wanted the 2 days we were there.) and a few items about the hotel in general. There is a restaurant but it is only open for hotel guests for breakfast. It is a full breakfast and was very good. The hotel is located about two blocks on Mariahilfer from a subway stop. From there you can go to all the attractions in the city. Area is very safe. The room was small and quiet. The bed, bathroom, TV, coffee maker, and other amenities were first class. No bidet if you're looking for that European experience. No balcony and limited view but we could see Mariahilfer. This is a vehicular/pedestrian street with a lot of activity during the day. It is a very attractive area, not much traffic, nice landscaping and mostly upscale shops. Most people in Vienna walk and ride the subway. If you do drive parking looked like it could be challenging. Only issue was the Air Conditioner. It was not hot in the room, but it could have been cooler. Outside temperature was pretty warm so we wished the room was cooler. Otherwise great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington, DC

Great hotel with friendly and helpful staff

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Great location and delicious breakfast. Very quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Beautiful little boutique hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Quiet, good location, clean, great bathroom, great breakfast, friendly staff.
Cons: They can't really make the rooms larger, so there's not much I'd suggest.
Location: The hotel is located on a busy retail street, very close to the museums and palaces, a mile or so from various other tourist attractions, cafes, etc.
Hotel Das Tyrol is a small boutique hotel well-located near the museum quarter and close to shopping, cafes, and even a few small grocery stores which is convenient. The rooms are very small but extremely well laid-out and appointed. Das Tyrol has one of the best hotel bathrooms I've ever used. The beds are a little on the soft side, but everything seems new and very nicely kept. There's a tiny fridge and coffee maker in the room, and the hotel breakfast is incredible - eggs made to order, numerous meats and cheeses, fruit, breads made in-house. Overall HIGHLY recommended. What a lovely hotel, with extremely friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Nice boutique hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Nice hotel. Room wasn't huge, but the space was all we needed. Hotel is close to everything (walking distance) and right on a major shopping street (Mariahilfer). The guys at the front desk made us dinner suggestions and reservations at 2 close by restaurants that were really good. Breakfast was great. They will even make you an omelet to order. Nespresso machine in the room. Air conditioning worked great (it was 92 in Vienna).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Good location, pleasant stay

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We really liked the location of this hotel. It was close to museums, the Opera House and other main attractions, but was in a bit quieter location than other hotels. We enjoyed being a few minutes away from a great bakery for morning croissants. Rooms were comfortably sized. The front desk staff was helpful. Even in an August heat wave, the rooms were cool.. The old-fashioned elevator in the middle of a circular staircase was fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Lovely Boutique Hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Charming hotel. Great windows. Yummy bedding. Nice bathroom. Everything we needed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Superb boutique hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Everything! Helpful, cheerful, staff, a comprehensive breakfast, great location for museums and the central area, ... we intend to go again.
Cons: We would have liked rather firmer pillows.
Location: *Extremely* convenient for many of the museums, and a short walk into the central area of the city.
A lovely modern hotel, full of interesting, quirky, and colourful, art-works in the rooms, the corridors, and the breakfast room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath, England

Wonderful small hotel in Museumsquarter

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Lovely hotel right near all the main sights, near the tram and U lines. In the Museumsquarter, also near the Spanish horses, St Stephens Church, City Hall, Opera House, naschmarkt (lots restaurants, Market stalls). places like Belvedere Palace (Klimts The Kiss is there), Schonbrunn Palace and zoo etc all close by cos of the Uber trains (like underground in UK). Staff were welcoming, so helpful and friendly. Everything you needed was in your room, if it wasn't the staff would sort it for you. Free sauna and steam room included in price too. Air conditioned rooms thank goodness! Old fashioned looking little lift so ok for older people. Only thing for me was that breakfast wasn't included in an expensive price per night, €20 if I wanted it, which I think is a lot (found full breakfast €6-9 elsewhere). Would have preferred that included not the sauna. Would definitely stay there again. 10/10
5 out of 5
by Kevin L

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is perfectly located in Vienna, steps from the central museum and cultural areas. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, sending us to outstanding nearby restaurants and helping in every way possible. Great Experience!