Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: The resort is very aesthetically pleasing; the staff was great!
Cons: A sense of customer service from ownership
Location: I would certainly suggest people visit the nearby public beach and for to Roots Bar!
My wife and were having quite a lovely time during our 2 day stay at Marigot Bay. The staff was very accommodating; the facilities were excellent and the food was great! However there was an incident that did cast a pall over our stay. We were walking on a dock on the hotel property when my wife slipped and badly injured her head falling off of the dock. The area was very poorly lit and there was no railing there. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. What was very disappointing was what happened after her injury. We had to take a taxi to a hospital in Tapion, and the owner of Marigot Bay has assured us that when we were finished at the hospital, there would be a ferry available for us and he provided a number for us a call so security to let us in. Neither occurred! The number provided was false, and we were left stranded outside of the resort for over an hour. Our taxi driver even called the owner directly, but he had little regard at the time and the next day. There was no explanation or apology provided until I personally had to go out of my way to confront him
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It seems like you had a good stay and I do apologize for this infortunate situation however our manager and rooms manager personally went to you and your wife and apologized. They also asked on numerous occasions if there is anything that they can do for you and you said you were ok. Even on check out you said you did not want anything. Also the number which was provided to you was not false because we give the number to all our guest staying out late and they had no issues. Empathy was shown for your situation and we do not appreciate another version being told.
3 out of 5
by Deven

Views are amazing

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is great however the attached restaurant Doolittle's is quite sub par. Capella has great food at the rum cove and grill, and the bayside cafe has great breakfast. Views are amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Marcia, Hotel Management
Thank you for review. I invite you to stay at the hotel again and i can guarantee that you will have a different opinion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice spot.

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Orbitz
Restaurant next to hotel was awesome experience, food was amazing... the service there was really slow because they had a small kitchen but it was worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We do our best to serve everyone in a timely manner but I am glad it was worth the wait.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simple hotel in the most fabulous location

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Beautiful beach location. The hotel room was fine and the veranda perfect! It is not a 5 star shine new hotel it very clean and comfortable. We stayed in a Grand Studio. The restaurant serves a good. Real fast with lots of fruit and we'll prepared breakfast dishes. The Fresh fish at dinner was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for wonderful review. Our goal is that we aim to please and we are happy that you had a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad, west indies

Quiet getaway on the beach

Posted Feb 21, 2017
This resort was really relaxing, not alot of people and was fantastic for me. It's a little far away from the airport aND you have to take a ferry to get to the hotel but it's free. The beach was nice and quiet and the views were fantastic. There was a few restaurants near by just a ferry ride away and the hotel restaurant was nice as well. If you are looking for a getaway from everyone it's perfect !
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by reservations, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Vacation is all about relaxing and we are happy you got to do just that. Hope to see you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Orbitz
This resort has a relaxing atmosphere with a nice beachside restaurant. The rooms were comfortable but could use a little updating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and recommendation.
5 out of 5
by Emily

Great place to stay in Marigot Bay

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
We booked the cheapest room at this resort and it did not disappoint. I'm sure the more expensive rooms would be even better. We had a large balcony with a great view, a small efficiency kitchen that worked for 2, hot hot water, and an AC that could get as cold as you would want. Room itself was small but fine since we only slept in the room. Balcony was where we hung out when at the resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and do hope you decide to stay with us once more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roxboro, NC

Laid back atmosphere away from it all!

Posted Feb 11, 2017
This is an older resort which in my view lends to its appeal. Think shabby chic and a place that Earnest Hemingway would have stayed to perform his writings. The room had brown tile floors with the same on a very large balcony overlooking Marigot Bay. The ceilings are wood tongue and groove and painted white like the walls. There is a large and beautiful four-poster mahogany bed and the mattress was pretty comfortable. Basic tiled bathroom and shower. Basic kitchen amenities but no microwave or stove/oven. There is a hotplate to heat or cook food with. There are no frills but that is the charm. Everything worked well except that one morning there was no water. It was out for the whole facility though and was fixed quickly. The pool is small but located so that it's near the bar/restaurant. Pretty good food. Great drinks and bartenders with 2 different happy hours daily for 2/1 drinks. Nice private beach and snorkel area. Pretty nice public beach area. Free ferry to the harbor/road side for resort or restaurant guests. I have read not so great reviews of this place before but can't really understand why. I think some people have unrealistic expectations as we could find nothing bad about the facilities. Just a really wonderful resort and laid back atmosphere!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest review. We really appreciate when our clients share their experience for what is was an not to degrade the hotel. Really happy that you had a good time and we do hope to see you again some day.
4 out of 5
by Eva

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Heaven on Earth

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Orbitz
From thr moment I stepped on the resort the staff were amazing and friendly!!! The resort is clean, easy to get around, and has the most breathtaking views of the bay, mountain, and ocean. I honestly felt like I was in a peaceful oasis. I highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for rest and relaxation with some island flare and flavor!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by reservations, Hotel Management
We are so very happy that you had a great stay and do hope to see you again so that you can take in the ambiance of the place once more.