Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonto:n, Alberta

Nice location, friendly staff.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Shower was terrible, no hot water and little pressure. WiFi needs to get better
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Roach motel

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Take your bug spray and mozzies net.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2017 by reservations, Hotel Management
Tropical islands are not bug free so seeing bugs is expected. Next time you decide to travel to an island, please walk with repellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location. Poor service.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: One of the most beautiful tropical locations we've ever experienced in all our travels to BVIs, St. John or Barbados.
Cons: Restaurant service. Wait time for breakfast was unbearable every day except one, so We ate at other lunch/dinner restaurants every night.
Most beautiful location but service was poor. Few staff seemed happy so right away we felt as if we were inconveniencing them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by reservations, Hotel Management
I think you may have the wrong property as we are a hotel in St Lucia.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The negative reviews you've already read are true

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: The grounds are beautiful. The restaurant has the best view of the sea of any of the waterside restaurants, and the restaurant staff were helpful.
Cons: We wouldn't have been disappointed if the hotel had not made promises that it did not intend to deliver: full breakfast, wifi in room, comfy bed.
Location: Food and transportation are very expensive in this area. Distillery tour is great. Julietta's Restaurant is the BEST; Masala Bay is a close second.
We paid a premium for FULL breakfast included. Our first morning we were told at the restaurant our room includes continental breakfast. We were told to go the reception to ask why the change. The receptionist knew the Expedia reservation showed we paid for full breakfast and they offer full breakfast, but we would only get continental breakfast and a refund for what we paid was not an option. I would have to wait two more days to talk with a manager. She said other parties were in the same situation. We were outraged and ready to leave. After returning to the US we finally received a PARTIAL refund of the difference paid. The bed had a hard 5.5" mattress, no box springs. In the hotel’s response to a previous review, they said they would provide more padding; they would not. The A/C in these rooms only works when you are in the room and makes a large dripping puddle of water in the middle of the room.The rooms are on the edge of a rainforest, so at night you will hear extremely loud tropical crickets. That and the sound of dripping water can make it difficult to sleep. The bathroom light fixture had a peculiar attachment worth noting - see photo. Most of the rooms do not have wifi since they are not directly on top of the reception area. They are not using wifi extenders to reach the rooms. The beach might accommodate 60 people and is shared by guests of all the hotels. The swimming area is even smaller; no waves because it's in a bay. The bay is for boat traffic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by reservations, Hotel Management
First of all, I would like to say that we are happy that you liked the property. Secondly since you have written all of this anonymously, there is no way of knowing that this is factual. If you were uncomfortable in your room you could have simply informed us and we would have done our utmost best to make you more comfortable. When visiting a tropical island you expect crickets, bugs etc. Again if it was a bother we would simply move you to another room. We are not in the business of having our guest unhappy and always try our best to assist when situations arise. Waiting until you have left the hotel to say all of this is unfortunate because nothing can be done for you and the opportunity was not given to us to handle the situation. The photo you have attached is just a light fixture. Not worth noting unless you are someone who is into antiques.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Nice hotel close to the beach...but...

Posted Dec 8, 2016
It's a great location with a nice view from the room. The restaurant was nice. Nadia and the food and beverage manager were very friendly. The wifi was terrible, I was only able to connect for half an hour. You all need to remove 'free breakfast' from the page as this is not the case.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you liked the location and that the staff very nice to you. Our apologies for the WiFi but our service provider is currently working on this. We offer rates with breakfast and without. If you did not choose the breakfast rate then you pay for breakfast separately.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Marigot... more like Mari-NO

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Maybe if we weren't constantly dealing with one issue after another, we would have been able to enjoy something on the property.
Cons: The customer service definitely needs to be improved. Also, with so many issues we dealt with in the rooms there should be routine maintenance checks.
Location: I thought the location and needing to take a ferry to and from the resort was inconvenient. I wasn’t aware about that aspect until we arrived.
I have never been so taken back and disappointed in a lack of service with a hotel, which was unfortunately portrayed by the staff at Marigot. As a hospitality major and former employee in the industry, this experience was unacceptable and could have been handled in much more effective ways. Unfortunately the review only allows for 1500 characters, so I will spare them the detailed embarrassment for now. Strike 1: Transportation did not pick us up at the airport, and when they said they would reimburse us after taking a cab they later said it wasn’t ‘their problem’ because they never work with third parties. My taxi receipt through Expedia says otherwise. Strike 2: The AC was broken in our room. They expected us to stay in another room and move our things back to the old room the next day. We booked excursions for the day and I was not about to work around my vacation because of their mishaps. Strike 3: No WiFi in our rooms, which we were told we would have. Strike 4: The new room we got, the toilet didn't work. Strike 5: Because of dealing with all the issues, we got to the restaurant later than we wanted, and the waitress rushed us because the kitchen was closing. Of course they didn't have what we originally ordered. Not a second later, right after we finished they shut off all the lights except for the light right above our table, which we stayed because it was the only area with WiFi. Strike 6: In the morning we noticed our table was still not cleared off. Gross.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by Reservations, Hotel Management
I am very taken aback by this review coming from someone who barely spent one night at the hotel due to your very late (12am) arrival and left the following day. It is stated that a boat is needed to go to and from the resort. Others find the short ride to be quite charming. As a hospitality major you should be more understanding of this industry and its challenges. Point 1: No staff at the hotel would say something is not their problem. As you rightfully indicated we do not work with 3rd parties for airport transfers. Airport transfers are booked directly by our guest. If your receipts says Expedia then they are responsible for your transportation. Point 2: Your AC had an issue and you were quickly moved to another room. If you were asked to move your stuff back to your former room, it is most likely because the room was needed for the following day. Not an issue because your stuff could been easily moved for you without any inconvenience. Point 3: Upon arrival you are told where the WiFi points are and currently our WiFi system for the rooms are being upgraded. Point 4: Whatever issues you had with the room was dealt with by maintenance. This in no way made you arrive at the restaurant later when you got the property late and the restaurant was already packing up. You could have simply gone to the restaurant while maintenance did their job in your room. Point 5: You were accommodated regardless of the time. The part i find most appalling is your last statement. When the restaurant closes for the night, all table cloths are removed from the tables and replenished with new ones. There is no way a plate stays on any table overnight. You are portraying an image of the hotel which is not accurate at all however you still welcome to stay at the hotel again because you did not get to experience the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Location is excellent. Marigot Bay is just beautiful and Doolittles provides a fine place to sit, with a drink and/or meal and watch the water activity. Rooms provide exceptional views of the bay and the staff were wonderful
Cons: Many of the rooms are located quite high up the hillside. We managed fine but the steps did get a bit wearing after a while. You wouldn't necessarily want to "pop" back to your room for anything The short ferry ride to/from the property is a novelty at first but it does restrict your movement and became a little tiresome in the end. Rooms OK but lighting horrendous with just small side lamps, no central overhead light making the room a little dark in the evenings. I also didn't like having a shared balcony and the furniture on said balcony definitely needs updating, mine had been pulled to pieces by the birds for nests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you your review. We take every review into consideration as a way of improving our service to our guest.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel on the beach with a fantastic location

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Well kept room with a big balcony overlooking the beach. The grounds and gardens, are well maintained. The free boat shuttle is charming.
Cons: Breakfast - Breakfast - Breakfast. Service, menu, timings, organisation, everything about breakfast
Location: Great location! Mesmerising view of the bay. Snorkelling trips available from the diving shop on site.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Marigot Bay Hotel. The hotel obviously tries hard to look after its customers. It represents value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2016 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our apologies about breakfast. This is something that we will certainly look into and improve where necessary.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gilligan's Island

Posted May 11, 2016
It was a nice hotel with nice staff and beautiful view the only problem was no WiFi in room and could not use the outlets to charge phone and computer had to wait 3 days to get an outlet extention, also food was pricy, I recommend to get breakfast included with package. Be ready to take a fairy boat to take you to the hotel and back to mainland, free of charge.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2016 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review as we are always happy to receive feedback from our guest. There is wifi in all rooms, you may not always get it because of where your room may be located. However wifi is available in public areas and the reception area. It is stated on our website that we do not provide converters but if your deices are in need of charging, then this can be done in the office or at the bar. The pricing of food is reasonable when you consider cost of goods etc. Overall it looks like you had a good stay here and we hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A beautiful quiet scenic resort

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: the private beach, the peace and quite, the snorkling
Cons: The pictures of the room we booked is nothing compared to what we saw on the website or Expedia, the room was much smaller and different
Location: many restaurants, grocery, shops, bank, some local vendors.
We stayed here for 6 nights with our kids, a beautiful view, surrounded by mountains, beach and most scenic views.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2016 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you your kinds words. We are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation with your family. The hotel has more than one two bedroom villa and there are photos of both on Expedia and our Website. We do hope that you decide to stay with us once more as we would love to have you.